Economic Data Sources
Monthly Labor Review
This periodical covers employment, unemployment, hours, earnings, consumer and producer price indexes, collective bargaining, productivity, work stoppages, prices, cost of living, and summaries of special reports by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Current paper copies are on the shelves in the Current Periodicals/Reserves section. Older, bound copies are on shelves in Willis Library Lower Level. For online edition (available to UNT students and faculty), click the indicated URL.
Federal Reserve Bulletin
This periodical is the most complete source for finding current U.S. banking and monetary statistics. It covers federal finance, interest rates on money and capital markets, stock market indexes, new security issues, mortgage markets, flow of funds, consumer installment credit, and interest and exchange rates. It also provides some basic U.S. business ...
Treasury Bulletin
The Treasury Bulletin, issued quarterly by the Financial Management Service, contains a mix of narrative, tables, and charts on Treasury issues, Federal financial operations, international statistics, and special reports such as Liabilities and other Financial Commitments of the U.S. Government. Available online to the UNT community.
Standard and Poor's Trends and Projections
This is issued as part of Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys, and it focuses on the U. S. short-term economic outlook. It contains charts and forecasts of key economic indicators. Also focuses on major industries. Data elements include: capacity utilization, housing starts, interest rates. HC 106.6.S75 on Reserve in Current Periodicals/Reserves
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (available through Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage)
Go to Standard and Poor's Net Advantage to access the Industry Surveys. Click the INDUSTRIES tab. For each industry, the Surveys provide an industry analysis and a comparative company analyses. Over 55 U.S. industries and 154 sub-industries are covered. In addition, the Global Industry Surveys cover Europe, Asia, and Latin America.
Survey of Current Business
Survey of Current Business includes full text articles and statistical data about current business at regional, national, and international levels. Includes the full-text of all Survey of Current Business issues since 1994.
Economic indicators handbook
A handbook of U.S. economic indicators
Business Statistics of the United States
Provides recent and historical data tables on the U.S. economy. This source contains 2,000 economic time series mainly from the U.S. Government. It covers roughly 30 years of annual data and 10 years of quarterly data. HC101.A13122 [location: Willis Library General Reference shelves; also located at the UNT Dallas Library]
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) manual
This U.S.-designated 6 digit code replaces the older SIC code. It is the result of a joint effort by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to classify industries so that statistics produced in the three countries will be comparable. Eventually the SIC codes will no longer be used, but right now the directories of companies and industries that you are using have ...
SIC - Standard Industrial Classification Manual
The Standard Industrial Classification Manual provides a listing of SIC codes with explanations. It also provides an alphabetical list of industries next to their SIC codes. [It is located behind the General Reference desk, 1st Floor, Willis Library, at the Government Documents Service desk, 3rd Floor, Willis Library, and at the Dallas Campus Library].
Standard & Poor's statistical service: security price index record
-Standard and Poor's price indexes include weekly figures on over 100 industries for a 10-year period and monthly averages prior to that. The service provides daily indexes for industries, railroads, and public utilities. Also provided are the composite 500 stocks (from 1930 to date); daily NYSE sales (from 1922); weekly bond indexes by rating; long-term ...
U. S. Industry and Trade Outlook
This source replaced the U. S. Industrial Outlook. It is organized alphabetically by industry. It provides trends, forecasts, tables, industry data, and product data, mostly for large industries.
Economic Dictionaries and Encyclopedias in the UNT Libraries--a selected list
Included are business cycles, real estate, managerial economics, economic history, money and finance.
American Statistics Index (ASI)
Paper copy available in Government Documents Abstracts & Indexes. Indexes a wide range of U.S. economic and demographic statistics available in publications issued by U.S. federal government agencies. ASI has two parts, the INDEX volume and the ABSTRACT volume. Government Documents has the printed index and much of the microfiche collection to go with it. Other documents listed in the index may be found in the Government documents collection or in the Library's general collection.
Economic Indicators
From the U.S. government, provides statistical data including Gross Domestic Product, consumer and producer price indexes, retail and wholesale trade, industrial production, building permits and housing starts, new construction and foreign trade. Y4.EC7:EC7/ [location: Government Documents Reference]
Economic report of the President transmitted to the Congress (Document edition)
This annual report discusses the condition of the U.S. economy, and includes the Annual Report of the Council of Economic Advisors which presents significant economic data. Y 1.1/7: [location: Government Documents Reference]
Statistical Resources
Major sources of national, state, local, foreign, and international statistical data in the University of North Texas Libraries and on the Internet. Includes links to major statistical agencies at all levels of government and to major statistical indexes.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of statistics (mostly U.S., but includes some international) on a broad range of topics, including demographics, economics, science and technology, geography, environment, and more.
Statistical Reference Index
The SRI microfiche collection contains thousands of statistical publications from U.S. and state government agencies, trade and professional associations, independent research organizations, academic institutions, and industry magazines. It is particularly useful for market reseach, industry analyses, statistics for policy decisions, etc. Paper copy ... Z7554.U5 S79 [location: Government Documents Abstracts & Indexes Willis 3FL]
County and City Data Book (University of Virginia Library)
This U.S. Bureau of the Census publication gives the most frequently requested census information for U.S., states, counties, cities of 25,000 or more, and places of 2500 or more. Location: via URL
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns provides annual economic profiles of business and industry by county, state, and the United States. Includes statistics, by industry, on employment, payroll, and number of establishments, arranged by SIC and NAICS code.
Economic Census from the U.S. Census Bureau's Factfinder
The economic censuses are comprehensive canvasses of industrial and business activities. They are conducted every 5 years, in years ending in 2 and 7. Location: via URL
EconLit via Ebscohost
A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University ...
LexisNexis Statistical
LexisNexis Statistical includes state, U.S. government, and international statistics on a variety of subjects.
NBER Working Papers
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers: Nearly 500 are published each year, and many appear in scholarly journals. NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Topics: Economics, ...
Regional Economic Accounts
Formerly REIS (Regional Economic Information System), this site includes estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for metropolitan areas and counties; personal income by major source; labor and proprietors' earnings by industry; employment; transfer payments by major program; and farm income and expenses.
StatUSA / Internet (National Trade Data Bank)
StatUSA is a full-text database of domestic and international economic and trade information. State of the Nation includes domestic information such as economic indicators, employment statistics, industry statistics, fiscal & monetary policy, price & productivity statistics, and Survey of Current Business. StatUSA also provides an extensive collection of ...
Economagic.com Economic Time Series Page
This site is especially useful to those who are constantly gathering employment, unemployment, and labor force data from the BLS site. Economagic.com has a software program that quickly collects and organizes the data from BLS and several other sites. Location: via URL
Employment and Earnings (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The BLS publication furnishes statistics on employment and unemployment, prices and living conditions, compensation and working conditions, and employment projections. Location: available electronically
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED provides Federal Reserve Board statistical releases, the Beige Book, working papers, historical data file series (monthly monetary data, interest rates, reserves, CPI, exchange rates). Location: via URL
U. S. Department of the Treasury Home Page
The Treasury site furnishes the results of T-Bill, Note, and Bond auction results, Savings Bond information, and links to other government agencies. View the latest information on the current strength of the U.S. Economy, as well as the policies to sustain economic growth. View the latest Financial Markets press releases and access information about the ...
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by the Congress that maintains the stability and public confidence in the nation’s financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions, and managing receiverships. The FDIC is a leader in developing and implementing sound public policies, ...
Federal Trade Commission home page
The FTC is the only federal agency with both consumer protection and competition jurisdiction in broad sectors of the economy. The FTC pursues vigorous and effective law enforcement; advances consumers’ interests by sharing its expertise with federal and state legislatures and U.S. and international government agencies; develops policy and research tools ...
ABI Inform
ABI/INFORM GLOBAL via Proquest offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and management areas. Search by publication, keyword, topic or use a guided search with boolean operators to find articles of interest. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. Coverage is 1971 to present. NOTE: If you are unable ...
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete via Ebscohost provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.
Futures and Options Resources on the Web (Office for Futures and Options Research, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Contains a large number of web sites in the following areas: U. S. and world stock & options exchanges; commodity prices and outlook; research in commodities; government resources (including Federal Reserve Bank websites); other futures, options, and related sites. Location: via URL
Office for Futures and Options Research, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Contents: Working Papers, OFOR Publications, Web Resources, Simulations (HedgeSim; TradeSim). Location: via URL
Mortgage Bankers Association
The Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA) is the national association representing the real estate finance industry, an industry that employs more than 500,000 people in virtually every community in the country.
The Web 100
For the "largest 100 companies on the Web," this site provides the U. S. Web 100 subdivided by industry. View the companies that vie for the Web 100 by over 50 industry categories, cataloging more than 400 of the Fortune 500 U.S. corporations with Web sites. Location: via URL
Reuters.com
This site provides financial ratios of industries in addition to market news and company and industry figures. To find industry ratios, enter the stock symbol of a public company. You will then go to a summary page about that company. If you then select (on the left side) "Comparison," you will get comparisons of some of the company's financial performance ... Location: via URL
Zip Code Business Patterns
Zip Code Business Patterns contains Zip code level business data for each industry/SIC code.
United States Statistics by Topic
Major sources of United States statistics on specific topics. Includes Web sites of agencies that collect data on those topics.
United States Statistics: General Compilations
The most popular general sources of statistics on the United States. Includes paper and online sources.
State Government Agencies
Directories of state government agencies, organizations, and information.
Texas Statistics
Statistical agencies and sources of statistics related to Texas.
Texas Government Agencies
Directories of Texas state government agencies and the most popular Web sites for Texas government information.
Economic Statistics Briefing Room
Provides easy access to current Federal economic indicators and links to information produced by a number of Federal agencies
Economics Dictionaries in the UNT Libraries
Publishers include: Wiley, Oxford University Press, and Routledge.
Economics Encyclopedias in the UNT Libraries
Publishers include Facts on File, Knowledge Exchange, Routledge.
Economics
This subject guide provides electronic and print resources in the field of Economics.
World Bank home page
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the common sense. We are made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA).
International Monetary Fund
The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty
International Energy Agency
The International Energy Agency (IEA) acts as energy policy advisor to 26 member countries in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens. Founded during the oil crisis of 1973-74, the IEA’s initial role was to co-ordinate measures in times of oil supply emergencies. via URL
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NCSA, an office of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), an agency in the United States Department of Transportation is responsible for providing a wide range of analytical and statistical support to NHTSA and the highway safety community at large, in the general areas of: human, vehicle, environmental, and roadway characteristics, as ... via URL
U. S. Department of Commerce home page
The United States Department of Commerce is the Cabinet department of the United States government concerned with promoting economic growth. Among its tasks are gathering economic and demographic data for business and government decision-making, issuing patents and trademarks, and helping to set industrial standards. It is administered by the United States ...
Texas Workforce Commission
The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) is the state government agency charged with overseeing and providing workforce development services to employers and job seekers of Texas. For employers, TWC offers recruiting, retention, training and retraining, and outplacement services as well as valuable information on labor law and labor market statistics. For job ...
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics "State at a Glance" page for Texas
Provides data about labor force, wage and salary employment, and mass layoffs.
BLS Statistics by Geography
Includes state and local employment, geographic profile, consumer price index for geographic regions and metropolitan statistical areas, wages by area and occupation.
BLS "Economy at a Glance" pages
Contents: U.S. Economy at a Glance; Regions, States, and Areas at a Glance; Industries at a Glance.
BLS "Current Employment Statistics"
Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys about 160,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 400,000 individual worksites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls.