Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Up one level
Document Actions

U. S. Government -- Business Resources

Business.gov

Contents: Finding Information on Popular Business Topics; Finding Small Business Grants and Loans; Comply with Employment and Labor Laws; Start a Home-Based Business; Get Info for Restaurants and Food Businesses; Buy Government Surplus Property for Your Business. Business topics include advertising and marketing, emergency and disaster planning, ... Internet

Federal Business resources

Contains links to: Ace-Net (Angel Capital Network), Basic Guide to Exporting, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance, Census Bureau, Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce Ecomonic Forecasts, Export Advisor, Federal Business Tax Information, Federal Government Portal, OSHA Onsite-Consultation, Small Business ... via URL

Small Business Administration

Includes small business planner, services, tools, and local resources. Since its beginning, the U.S. Small Business Administration has delivered about 20 million loans, loan guarantees, contracts, counseling sessions and other forms of assistance to small businesses. Internet

County Business Patterns

County Business Patterns provides annual economic profiles of business and industry by county, state, and the United States. Includes statistics, by industry, on employment, payroll, and number of establishments, arranged by SIC and NAICS code.

Survey of Current Business

Survey of Current Business includes full text articles and statistical data about current business at regional, national, and international levels. Includes the full-text of all Survey of Current Business issues since 1994.

IRS Small Business and Self-Employed One-Stop Resource

Included: small business/self-employed topics, A-Z index for business, compliance and enforcement topics, forms and publications, deductions, recordkeeping, accounting methods, employer ID numbers, online education, where to file. Internet

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Provides information about the Federal Reserve System's purposes and functions, Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC), statistical data from Federal Reserve releases, and a summary of Federal Reserve regulations. Internet

Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions, from the Federal Reserve Board. The Federal Reserve publishes the Beige Book eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, ...

Economic Census from the U.S. Census Bureau's Factfinder

The economic censuses are comprehensive canvasses of industrial and business activities. They are conducted every 5 years, in years ending in 2 and 7. 

County and City Data Book (University of Virginia Library)

This U.S. Bureau of the Census publication gives the most frequently requested census information for U.S., states, counties, cities of 25,000 or more, and places of 2500 or more.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) 

FRED provides Federal Reserve Board statistical releases, the Beige  Book, working papers, historical data file series (monthly monetary data, interest rates, reserves, CPI, exchange rates).

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook provides the employment outlook for more than 250 occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings.

The principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Many labor topics are covered including: statistical data, the economy at a glance, keyword searching of BLS web pages surveys and programs, BLS publications, regional information, and research papers.

BLS "Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey"

Get Detailed JOLTS Statistics: Most Requested Statistics--Select from lists of the most popular Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey Statistics (JOLTS). Create Customized Tables (one screen) --this application requires a Java-enabled browser. Choose the data you want from BLS databases on a simple, one-screen form. Create Customized Tables (multiple ... Internet

BLS Job Openings and Labor Turnover

Tables: job openings levels by industry and region; hiring levels and rates by industry and region; total separation levels and rates by industry and region; quit levels and rates by industry and region; layoff and discharge levels by industry and region; other separation levels by industry and region. Internet

BLS / Employment and Earnings / Occupational Profiles

The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates for over 800 occupations. These are estimates of the number of people employed in certain occupations, and estimates of the wages paid to them. Self-employed persons are not included in the estimates. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for ... Internet

BLS "Current Employment Statistics"

Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys about 160,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 400,000 individual worksites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls. Internet

BLS Statistics by Geography

Includes state and local employment, geographic profile, consumer price index for geographic regions and metropolitan statistical areas, wages by area and occupation. Internet

BLS "Economy at a Glance" pages

Contents: U.S. Economy at a Glance; Regions, States, and Areas at a Glance; Industries at a Glance. Internet

Economic Census via the U. S. Census Bureau

Hint: scroll to the Full Report. When the pdf document comes up, type in your industry. When the results come up, scroll down until you find the report. Internet

OSHA Small Business

OSHA offers many resources designed specifically for smaller employers. The agency wants to encourage all businesses to establish safety and health programs and find and fix hazards to prevent workplace injuries and illnesses. Internet

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of statistics (mostly U.S., but includes some international) on a broad range of topics, including demographics, economics, science and technology, geography, environment, and more.

The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner. The BEA provides basic information on such key issues as economic growth and regional development.

Economic Indicators

From the U.S. government, provides statistical data including Gross Domestic Product, consumer and producer price indexes, retail and wholesale trade, industrial production, building permits and housing starts, new construction and foreign trade.

StatUSA / Internet (National Trade Data Bank)

StatUSA is a full-text database of domestic and international economic and trade information. State of the Nation includes domestic information such as economic indicators, employment statistics, industry statistics, fiscal & monetary policy, price & productivity statistics, and Survey of Current Business. StatUSA also provides an extensive collection of ...

SEC EDGAR Database

SEC EDGAR provides searchable US Securities and Exchange filings for public companies.

American Statistics Index (ASI)

Paper copy available in Government Documents Abstracts & Indexes. Indexes a wide range of U.S. economic and demographic statistics available in publications issued by U.S. federal government agencies.  ASI has two parts, the INDEX volume and the ABSTRACT volume.

United States Statistics by Topic

Major sources of United States statistics on specific topics. Includes Web sites of agencies that collect data on those topics.

Regional Economic Accounts

Formerly REIS (Regional Economic Information System), this site includes estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for metropolitan areas and counties; personal income by major source; labor and proprietors' earnings by industry; employment; transfer payments by major program; and farm income and expenses.

Advance Monthly Sales for Retail and Food Services (U.S. Census Bureau)

In addition to Retail and Food Services, there are links to other Census Bureau surveys: Monthly Retail Trade Survey; Annual Retail Trade Survey; Manufacturing and Trade Inventories and Sales; Retail Wholesale Trade.

Current Employment Statistics, Employee Benefits Survey, Employer Costs for Employee Compensation, National Compensation Survey, Occupational Employment Statistics, Wages by Area and Compensation.

The Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for 10 years in the future. COntents: Career Outlook Information; News Releases; Publications and Other Documentation; Detailed Employment Projections Statistics.

Contents: census quickfacts; fedstats; analyst resource center; employment dynamics; on-the-map; asset mapping roadmap; state labor market information. Workforce Innovation in Regional Economic Development is a groundbreaking approach to workforce and economic development. Through the WIRED model, regions integrate economic and workforce development ...

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Wednesday, April 15, 2009. 11:12 AM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection