Texas Business Resources
North Central Texas Council of Governments
Provides extensive demographic information including population, housing, land use, cost of living, economic development, wage and income data, major employers, transportation issues, unemployment rate.
Analyze Dallas
Analyze Dallas is a project of the Foundation for Community Empowerment. As an extension of the Dallas Indicators effort, Analyze Dallas will give you detailed data about our city at a geographic level that allows you to make informed decisions.
Dallas Indicators
The Dallas Indicators is a comprehensive database of key community measures. This is an effort led by The Dallas Foundation and the Foundation for Community Empowerment, in collaboration with The Boston Consulting Group, Belo Corp. and the Dallas Citizens Council. Read easy-to-follow summaries of data related to the Greater Dallas Area.
Oncor, Economic Development Group: Community Profiles
Oncor, Economic Development Group: Community Profiles Site provides current facts on many Texas cities in Oncor's electricity and natural gas service area. Coverage includes population, transportation, taxation, wage data, and major area employers. Documents at this site are in PDF format and require use of the Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Texas Secretary of State
The Office of the Secretary of State provides a repository for official and business and commercial records required to be filed with the Office. The Secretary publishes government rules and regulations and commissions notaries public. The Secretary also serves as Chief Election Officer for Texas, assisting county election officials and ensuring the uniform ... via URL
TRAIL (State of Texas)
TRAIL searches and locates information collected in an archive of more than 180 Texas state agency web servers. Sample searches: looking for retail sales tax information; starting a new business. via URL
Bureau of Labor Statistics "State at a Glance" page for Texas
Provides data about labor force, wage and salary employment, and mass layoffs. via URL
Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce
It is the largest business leadership organization in the region. The Chamber effectively focuses upon economic prosperity and quality of life issues important to the entire area. We are the leading business development and economic development organization for the region. The role of the chamber has become increasingly important as we try to improve the ... via URL
Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce
From the city of Fort Worth to the borders of Tarrant County and across North Texas, the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce is a key leader in the development and maintenance of our community’s economic health. Chamber members receive direct benefits of visibility, business relationships, skill development, advocacy and leadership through their investment of ... via URL
Texas Newspaper Collection via Newsbank
Provides full text access to the Abilene Reporter-News, Amarillo Globe-News, Austin American-Statesman, Beaumont Enterprise, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, Dallas Morning News (including Arlington Morning News), El Paso Times, Fort Worth Star Telegram, Graham Leader, Houston Chronicle, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Midland Reporter-Telegram, Plainview Daily ...
Texas Legal Resources on the Internet
Contents: Texas Administrative Code, Texas Constitution, Texas Legislature Online, Texas Statutes
Texas Courts and Case Decisions
Sources of opinions decided by state and local courts in Texas, and links to court Web sites.
Texas Legal Forms, Templates, and Model Documents
Where to obtain Texas legal forms and legal templates.
Texas Legal Topics and Practice Areas
Texas legal resources for specific subject areas.
Texas State Securities Board
The State Securities Board is responsible for regulating the securities industry in Texas. We register securities offered or sold in Texas and oversee the firms and individuals selling securities or providing investment advice to Texans. Through our Investor Education initiative, we help our fellow Texans become informed investors.
Texas Department of Insurance (TDI)
Texas law requires most insurers and insurance-related businesses to be licensed before selling their products or services. The Texas Department of Insurance licenses insurance companies, agents, third-party administrators, health maintenance organizations (HMOs), premium finance companies, continuing care retirement communities, insurance adjusters, and ...
Finance Commission of Texas
The Finance Commission is responsible for overseeing and coordinating the Texas Department of Banking, the Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending, and the Office of the Consumer Credit Commissioner and serves as the primary point of accountability for ensuring that state depository and lending institutions function as a system, considering the broad ...
Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
Regulating State Chartered Savings Banks with combined assets of over $9 billion. Regulating over 24,000 Mortgage Brokers and Loan Officers throughout Texas. Regulating over 400 Mortgage Banking Companies.
Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
The Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner regulates the credit industry and educates consumers and creditors. Agency efforts help produce a fair, lawful, and healthy credit environment for social and economic prosperity in Texas.
Texas Real Estate Commission
Forms, Laws, Contracts, News, Licenses (Apply/Renew), Education and Exams, Inspector Information, Complaints, Consumer Information
State of Texas State Classification Office (HR)
The State Classification Office (SCO) is a unique team that is responsible for maintaining the State’s Compensation and Classification System and providing information on employee compensation issues to the Legislature.
State of Texas State Classification Office / EEOC Categories
The Equal Employment Opportunities Act requires state and local governments file to file an EEO-4 report on an annual basis. Within the EEO reporting requirements employees must be counted by sex and race/ethnic category for each of the eight occupational categories: officials and administrators, professionals, technicians, administrative support (including ...
Book of Lists (Dallas Business Journal)
Published annually, it provides essential information on the largest businesses, buyers, and the largest employers in Dallas. It provides a look at the local economy and includes key contact information and facts for top businesses, industries, professions, governmental units and nonprofit organizations.
The Book of Lists (Fort Worth Business Press)
Published annually, it provides lists and rankings of the top businesses in Tarrant County by industry. In addition to the largest businesses, it includes the largest employers and the largest non-profits.
Reference USA
Reference USA Business Database provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses. The information is compiled from the following public sources: more than 5,600 Yellow Page and Business White page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks, other financial information provided by the SEC, Chamber of Commerce information, and other ...
Governor’s office Economic Development
Contents: Relocating to Texas from another state? Contact Domestic Expansion and Recruitment. Examining finance incentive programs? Contact the Texas Economic Development Bank and learn more about the Texas Enterprise Fund. Interested in exporting? Contact International Trade. Starting a small business? Contact the Small Business Advocate. Need data on ... via URL
Texas Business Portal
Contents include: Online Business Application Process, Guide to Starting a Business in Texas, WorkInTexas.com, Occupation Licensing System, and Texas Work Explorer.
Texas Business Portal / Business research & statistics
Contents: links related to business research and statistics, including employment & labor information, demographics, industry stats & profiles, economic and environmental information, geographic/regional profiles, government data, and trade & export sites. via URL
Texas Online
Provides information about business and consumer services, taxes and taxing authorities, licenses, permits, and registration, and regional and community resources.
Texas Workforce Commission
The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) is the state government agency charged with overseeing and providing workforce development services to employers and job seekers of Texas. For employers, TWC offers recruiting, retention, training and retraining, and outplacement services as well as valuable information on labor law and labor market statistics. For job ...
Center for Economic Development and Research (University of North Texas)
The Center for Economic Development and Research at the University of North Texas was established in 1989 to conduct economic analysis and public policy research and also to provide forecasting and strategic planning services to businesses, governments and non-profit agencies with an interest in economic development.
North Texas Commission
The purpose of the North Texas Commission is to enhance and promote the economic vitality and quality of life of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex by: (1) providing leadership; (2) acting as the catalyst for regional cooperation; and, (3) identifying regional problems and issues and helping create solutions for these problems and issues. Internet
Texas State Data Center and Office of the State Demographer
The Texas State Data Center and Office of the State Demographer, in cooperation with a network of affiliates , functions as a focal point for the distribution of Census information for Texas. The Center also disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other information from the federal government, state government, and other ... Internet
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Contents: Texas Taxes, Texas Finances, Procurement, Texas Mileage Guide, Local Sales Tax Rates, Customs Brokers Certification, Franchise Tax Account Status, Vendor Payment Search, Tax Forms, Local Government Assistance, Agency Directory. Internet
Tax Agencies
Federal and state government agencies that collect taxes or deal with tax-related issues.
Office of the Attorney General - State of Texas
Responsibilities of the Office of the Attorney General include enforcement of health, safety and consumer regulations; educational outreach programs, and protection of the rights of the elderly and disabled. The Attorney General is also charged with the collection of court-ordered child support and the administration of the Crime Victims' Compensation Fund. Internet
Real Estate Center (Texas A&M University)
The Center is the nation's largest publicly funded organization devoted to real estate research. The Center's staff conducts research on financial, socioeconomic, public policy, trade, legal, land use and local market analysis issues related to real estate. Most of our $2 million in annual funding comes from real estate license fees paid by more than ...
Consumer Protection Links (from Texas Online - Living in Texas)
Contents: Lemon Laws, Call Before You Dig, Consumer Protection Links to the Texas Attorney General's Office, Consumer Complaints, Insurance Company Complaints, Utility Complaints, Deceptive Trade Practices Info, Consumer Credit Commissioner, Credit Reports. Internet
Consumer Complaints - Office of the Attorney General, State of Texas
Includes the Consumer Protection & Public Health Hotline, Online Complaint Form, Consumer Protection Information, Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act, Consumer Alerts, Disaster Scams, Major Lawsuits & Settlements, About ID Theft, Senior Alerts, Charities & Non-Profits, Regional Offices, Links to Consumer-related Sites. Internet
Texas Labor Market Information (TRACER - Texas Workforce Commission)
Contains Latest Economic Indicators: Texas Labor Force Statistics, Texas Nonfarm Industry Employment, Texas Workforce Salary Survey, Texas Average Hourly Wage, Unemployment Insurance Claims, Consumer Price Index (USA) for Texas cities. Internet
Labor Market and Career Information (TRACER - Texas Workforce Commission)
Data types: Unemployment Rates & Labor Force Statistics; Current Employment Statistics (CES); Wages by Profession Quarterly Census of Employment & Wages (QCEW); Future Job Growth by Industry (Projections) Future Job Growth by Occupation (Projections); Staffing Patterns Consumer Price Index (CPI); Population; Income; Building Permits; Revenue Sales. Internet
Labor Market and Career Information "Frequently Requested Data" (TRACER - Texas Workforce Commission)
This is a collection of "Frequently Requested Data" items assorted by program category in a downloadable format. Statistics for Texas for the following: Unemployment Rates and Labor Force (LAUS) for State, MSA, WDA (Workforce Development Area), County, and City; Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages (QCEW) for County; Employment, Wages and Firms by Size ... Internet
Texas Real Estate Commission - Forms, Laws, and Contracts Main Page
Includes the License Act, the TREC Rules and all promulgated forms (including Real Estate, Property Inspection Report, Inspector License and Change, Easement/R.O.W., Timeshare Regulations, and Residential Service Company). Contents: Rules and Codes, Contract Forms and Addenda, License Application Forms, Change Forms, Moral Character Determination Forms, ...
Commerce Connection / Texas Chambers of Commerce (Lone Star Internet)
Contains links to around 200 Texas city Chambers of Commerce web sites. The sites are in alphabetical order by city. Internet
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)
Contents: Rules; Policy and Legislation; Permits, Licenses, and Registrations; Compliance, Enforcement, and Cleanups; Drinking Water and Water Availability; Reporting; Environmental Quality; Assistance; Pollution Prevention and Recycling; Contracts, Funding, and Fees. Internet