Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Art Contemporary Art and Artists Contemporary Art Databases
Document Actions

Contemporary Art Databases

Databases for Journal Articles on Contemporary Art and Artists

Many contemporary artists do not have books or exhibition catalogs published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals.

*Search the artist's name in the keyword search box in the order of last name, first name. Example: Viola, Bill; Sherman, Cindy; Whiteread, Rachel; Smith, Kiki.

 

*Other keyword search examples: Postmodern and Art, Postmodern and Art and Criticism, Art and "20th Century", "Conceptual Art", "Feminist Theory" and Art, "Computer Art", Reconstruction and Art and Theory.

 

*Search the databases below for journal articles on contemporary art, artists and their work.

*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username and password.  Username=EUID,  password=Eagle Mail password.

 

*If you did not find the full-text of your journal article when searching the art databases, you will need to determine if UNT subscribes to that particular journal in which the article appears, so that you can make a photocopy of the article.  To do this, search the UNT online catalog. Choose "journal title

" search, and type the title of the journal in the search box.  You may also find more electronic full-text when searching the online catalog.

Art Abstracts

1984-present

Bibliography of the History of Art

(BHA) 1973-present

ARTBibliographies Modern

1984-present

Grove Art On-line

 

Search this database for encyclopedic entries on artists, movements, and theory.

Design and Applied Arts Index

 

This is an excellent database for designers and other less, represented contemporary artists.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Search this database to find reference books that have an entry on the artist.

 

 

 

This page is maintained by Rebecca Barham-Johnson last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:03 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection