Art Iconography and Symbolism
Art Iconography and Symbolism
Iconography is the use of visual images, symbols or figures to represent complex ideas, subjects or themes, that are important to different cultures. An understanding of the iconographic images and symbols used in a particular art work helps to reveal the meaning and possible time period of the work.
To begin iconographical research,
search for the images, objects or suspected themes seen in the work of
art in the books listed below. Images or objects are listed
alphabetically in these books. Iconclass is a great source to
reference when beginning iconographical research.
Iconclass, Z697 A8 W3 1973
An icon classification system composed of the following divisions: 1. Religion & Magic, 2. Nature, 3. Man, 4. Society, Civilization and Culture, 5. Abstract Ideas and Concepts, 6. History, 7. Bible, 8. Literature, 9. Classical Mythology and Ancient History.
*Begin by looking up the objects and images in
your art work in the 3 volumes of the Iconclass Indexes. The objects
are alphabetized from A-Z. Then look up the numbers that follow the
entries in the other 7 volumes. Example of an entry: Eagle with book~ symbol of John the Evangelist see 11 H (JOHN).
Now, look up the number 11 H in volume 1 to read more about this
symbolism. After searching Iconclass, you will know which culture's iconography books to reference next.
*Once you have identified the theme or iconography, search for books or journal articles written solely on that theme in the UNT Online Catalog (for books), or the World Catalog (for books not owned by UNT), or in the Art Databases (for journal articles). Search example: "John the Evangelist", John and Evangelist, Tetramorph.
Iconclass Index. Early German Prints, NE651 .L386 1995 (v.1-4)
Iconography of Christian Art, N7830 .S35132 vols. 1-2, (3rd Floor)
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art, N7560 .H34 (General Reserve Desk, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
The Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art, N7740 .C29 1995
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art N7560 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art, N7793 .W65 A66 1996
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art, N7740 .H35 1994
A Handbook of Symbols in Christian Art, N8010 .S54 1976
Angels, A to Z, BL477 .L45 1996
Monastic Iconography in France from the Renaissance to the Revolution, N7949 .E9 1970 (3rd Floor)
Signs & Symbols in Christian Art, N7830 .F37 1955 (3rd Floor)
Christian Iconography; the History of Christian Art in the Middle Ages, N7832 .D4913 1965, vols. 1-2 (3rd Floor)
Fabulous Beasts and Demons, N7745.A5 M6213 1975 (3rd Floor)
Animals in Art and Thought to the End of the Middle Ages, N7660 .K55 1971 (3rd Floor)
Folklore and Symbolism of Flowers, Plants, and Trees, GR780 .L44 1990 (2nd Floor)
Saints and Their Emblems, N8080 .D7 1971 (3rd Floor)
Lives of the Saints, BX4654 .B8 1956 4 vols. (3rd Floor)
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, BR1710 .F34 1992
The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, BX955.2 .K45 1986
Studies in Iconology: Humanistic Themes in the Art of the Renaissance, N6370 .P3 1972 (3rd Floor)
Barockthemen: eine Auswahl von Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17. und 18 (Baroque Themes-17th and 18th centuries), N6415.B3 P5 1974 2 vols. and an atlas. (3rd Floor)
Baroque and Rococo Pictorial Imagery, N7740 .R515 1971 (3rd Floor)
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s, NX650 .M9 R45 1993
Post-Biblical Saints Art Index, N8079.5 .R63 1994
Proverb Iconography: an International Bibliography, Z5956 .P74 M54 1999
Mythology
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols, GR35 .J6 1962
Dictionary of Symbols and Imagery, BL600 .V74 1976
The Dictionary of Classical Mythology, BL715 .G713 1996 (2nd Floor)
Bulfinch's Mythology: the Age of Fable, BL310 .B82 1948 (2nd Floor)
Bulfinch's Mythology: The Age of Fable: The Age of Chivalry: Legends of Charlemagne, BL310 .B76 1934 (2nd Floor)
Bulfinch's Mythology: the Greek and Roman Fables Illustrated, BL721 .B84 1979 (2nd Floor)
African Mythology, BL2462.5 .P37 1986 (2nd Floor)
Celtic Mythology, BL900 .M36 1983 (2nd Floor)
Chinese Mythology, BL1825 .B57 1993 (2nd Floor)
Christian Mythology, BR135 .E9 1970 (2nd Floor)
Egyptian Mythology: a Guide to the Gods, Goddesses, and Traditions of Ancient Egypt, BL2441.3 .P56 2004 (2nd Floor)
European Mythology, GR135 .S56 1987 (2nd Floor)
Indian Mythology, BL2003 .I6 1967 (2nd Floor)
Japanese Mythology, BL2202 .P5 1969 (2nd Floor)
Jewish Legends, BM530 .G58 1987 (2nd Floor)
Near Eastern Mythology, BL1060 .G7 1969 (2nd Floor)
North American Indian Mythology, E98.R3 B96 1968 (2nd Floor)
Roman Mythology, BL802 .P46 1969 (2nd Floor)
South American Mythology, F2230.1.R3 O8 1986 (2nd Floor)
New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology, BL311 .N43 1968 (2nd Floor)
A Dictionary of Chinese Mythology, BL1801 .W35 1977 (2nd Floor)