Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Art Art: General Sources Art Careers and Employment
Document Actions

Art Careers and Employment

Art Careers: Internet

Alternative Careers for Art Historians, Notre Dame University, by Charles M. Rosenberg

Studio Art

Art Career Network
"Artcareer Network's founders and staff have made their entire careers in the visual  arts and as such are able to provide a complete resource that is insightful and easy  to use." They also have a career consultation number for artists.

The Informed Artist at the Seattle Public Library
A guide for artists interested in promoting their work through gallery shows and competitions primarily in the Northwest region.

Artists Register.Com
Artist's Register's opportunities page, includes national call for entries, job listings and internet career resources.

Arts Resource Network
The Arts Resource Network's Professional Development page offers information on promoting and submitting your work to galleries, including how to write artist statements, resumes and creating a portfolio. Other information includes writing proposals and grants; creating publicity materials and tax; and legal, health, safety and insurance information.

Art Employment Opportunities: Internet

Teaching Positions-Higher Education (for Art Historians and MFA Studio Majors)

College Art Association
Chronicle of Higher Education

HigherEd Jobs Online -You must create a free account to view the jobs.

Teaching Positions-K-12

Teaching Jobs
American Schools Directory
$9.99 subscription cost per month.

Fine Digital and Alternative Media Art

Rhizome.org-job and event listings for fine digital and alternative media artists.  Rhizome.org also offers ArtBase Exhibitions of digital works, and a forum for digital artists.
Siggraph-Siggraph hosts digital art shows every other year. Also view digital art shows from past years and digital portfolios.

Art Image Professionals

ARLIS-Art Research Libraries Society of North America- Jobs for art librarians and other image professionals.  
VRA, Visual Resources Association- job listings for visual resources curators, art librarians, archivists and other visual image professionals.

Auction House Opportunities

Christie's- positions at Christie's auction house.

Digital Arts, Animation, 3-D Modeling and Alternative Media

Rhythm and Hues Studios
Lists of jobs for digital artists, animators and 3-D modelers for the movie business.
Pixar
Lists of jobs for digital artists, animators, 3-D modelers and other positions in the movie business.
LucasArts
Jobs in 3-D modeling and animation.
Mediabistro.com
Jobs for media professionals. 
I.D. Magazine
Job listings for the fields of architecture, design, 3-D modeling, new media, illustration and packaging.

Graphic Design, Illustration and Photography

AIGA
Jobs in graphic design.
Aquent Partners
The creative, web and technical talent agency.  Search for jobs and upload a resume or portfolio if you like.
Art Design and Career Employment*
Northern Michigan University's art career advice guide. Focus on graphic and industrial design positions.
Communication Arts
Communication Arts journal listing of opportunities in web and graphic design and illustration.
FILTER
A staffing agency for product design companies, ad-agencies, design firms, in-house corporate design and marketing groups.

Interior Design and Landscape Architecture

ASID- American Society of Interior Designers
job-e-job.com
Graphic design, interior design, landscape architecture, and engineering.

Museum and Other Non-Profit Sector Opportunities

Museum Careers
A listing of global museum opportunities.
MERC Museum Employment Resource Center
MuseumJobs.com
The National Museum of Women in the Arts
The NMWA also has opportunities for docents and paid and unpaid internships.
Philanthropy Careers
Careers in non-profit sectors.

Fashion and Textile Design Opportunities

Fashion Career Center
Lists of job opportunities in the fashion world.

United States Federal Government Creative Opportunities

USAjobs
The United States Federal Government job listings for creative individuals.

Art Professionals-General

H-Net
Humanities and Social Sciences job listings.
ArtWeek
Classifieds for all art professionals.

Art Career and Professional Development Books

Located in Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library.

American Art Directory N50. A54 2001-2002
Art & Reality: the new standard reference guide and business plan for actively developing your career as an artist N8600 .A19 2001
The Art Business Encyclopedia N8353. D83 1994
Artist's Resource: guide to workshops, conferences, artist's colonies, and academic programs N51.C43 1999
Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market: Where and How to Sell N8600. A761 2003
Art Law: The Guide for Collectors, Investors, Dealers, and Artists KF4288. Z9 L47 1998
Art Marketing Sourcebook for the Fine Artist
N58. A78 1995
The Artist's Resource Handbook N8600.G69 1994
Breaking through the clutter: business solutions for women, artists, and entrepreneurs HD6054.4.U6 L88 1999 (Willis Library, 2nd floor) 
The Business of Art N8600. B875 1998
The Business of Being an Artist N8600.A761 2000
Great Jobs for Art Majors N6505. C33 1997
National Directory of Arts Internships NX398 .N37 2000
Streetwise Guide to Freelance Design and Illustration NC1001.6 .W56 1998 (Willis Library, 3rd floor) 
The Artist's Guide to New Markets: Opportunities to Show and Sell Art Beyond Galleries N8600 .H33 1998
Careers for Self-Starters & Other Entrepreneurial Types HD62.5 .C35 2005 (Willis Library, 2nd floor) 
The Ultimate Small Business Guide: a resource for startups and growing businesses HD2340.8 .U48 2004 (Willis Library, 2nd floor) 
Make Your Small Business Website Work: easy answers to content, navigation, and design TK5105.888 .H42 2004 (Research Park Library)
Working solo: the real guide to freedom & financial success with your own business HD8037.U5 L66 1998 (Willis Library, 2nd floor) 
The Business Side of Creativity: a complete guide to running a small graphic design or communications business NC998.5.A1 F66 2002 (Willis Library, 2nd floor) 
Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business KF1659.A65 S74 2004eb (Willis Library, 3rd floor) 
The Complete Guide to Running and Growing Your Business HD62.7 .S5263 1997 (Willis Library, 2nd floor)

This page is maintained by Rebecca Barham last modified Tuesday, July 22, 2008. 04:04 PM
Info
News and Events

 

Finding Books!

Finding monographic materials (books) owned by the University of North Texas Libraries is accomplished via the Online Library Catalog.

Finding Articles & Papers

Finding articles and papers can be accomplished via a number of electronic resources at the University of North Texas.

Interlibrary Loan

The University of North Texas provides Interlibrary Loan for those materials that our library does not hold.

Remote Access to UNT Electronic Resources

For those users associated with UNT that need to access our electronic resources from outside of the campus network the library maintains a Web page that lists the common plug-ins and other requirements necessary for access.

 

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

Post Office Box 305190
Denton , TX , 76203-5190
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection