Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Women's Studies Reference Sources Reference Sources
Document Actions

Women's Studies

Reference Sources

Print Resources 

American Women Artists: From Early Indian Times to the Present Arranged in broad chronological areas to show the realationship between the artist and her social and cultural background. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef N6505.R8 1982

Biographical Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America Since 1950  The two volumes present scholarship on women in art "from the Middle Ages to the present day, in countries throughout Europe as well as America and Australia." More than 20 key survey essays preface the main body of the dictionary and contextualize the latest knowledge found in the biographical and bibliographical entries of 600 women artists born before 1945. Willis Library 3rd floor N6757.D86 1989

Contemporary American Women Sculptors An illustrated reference work that is the only source of information on American women sculptors as a group. Virginia Watson-Jones presents the accomplishments of more than 350 contemporary American women sculptors through photographs of their major works and detailed information about their lives and careers. For each artist information is provided on her birthplace and birth year, education, preferred media, major exhibitions, location of work in public collections, awards, selected private collectors, professional interests other than sculpture, teaching position (if applicable), and mailing address. Each entry also includes a statement by the sculptor and her signature. Willis Library 3rd floor NB212.W37 1986

Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women Artists Born before 1900  The first reference book to attempt extensive coverage of women artists on the international level, offering entries on more than 21,000 women painters, sculptors, prinymakers, and illustrators born before the turn of this century. Entries were published regardless of the scarcity of information about the women included, the editor having adopted the philosophy that a little information was better than none at all. Petteys' magnum opus is a staple of all art reference collections, but what it offers in breadth it lacks in depth. Concise entries provide at most a biographical sketch before listing exhibitions and bibliographic citations. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef N43.P47 1985

 

Gumbo Ya Ya: Anthology of Contemporary African-American Women Artists  The work is divided into four sections. The sections are: education, activism, the varieties of feminist art, and the movement since about 1980. Bibliographies are included for each of the chapters and a fold-out timeline is found at the end of the volume. Willis Library 1st floor  GenRef N6538.N5G85 1995

 

North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century Comprehensive source about women artists in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico during the 20th century. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef N6503.N67 1995

Women in World History
A Biographical Encyclopedia Willis Library 1st floor  Comprehensive biographical reference book on over 10,000 important female figures in world history. GenRef HQ1115.W6 1999

 

Online Resources

North American Womens Letters and Diaries  North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The index contains more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Women's Studies E-books via Greenwood Women's Studies E-books via Greenwood is a collection of full text books available online. The Women's Studies includes e-books about women's roles in film, business, government, history, literature, and health.

Electronic Books

North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century Comprehensive source about women artists in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico during the 20th century. http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2515790

 

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Friday, June 03, 2011. 02:53 PM Created by Chad Lucas Alvey 2009

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook