Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Transportation

Terminology

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Glossary of Terms
Defines terms related to transportation and air quality. See also Plain English Guide To The Clean Air Act.
Commercial Vehicle Information Systems and Networks Glossary 
Defines terms and acronyms used in current Commercial Vehicle Information Systems and Networks (CVISN) documents and used in activities relevant to development of a national Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) system architecture for commercial vehicle operations (CVO).
Dictionary
This dictionary from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics contains definitions of thousands of terms and acronyms related to transportation. The dictionary is composed of Transportation Expressions and Transportation Acronym Guide, both of which were published in 1996.
Glossary of Air Pollution Terms
Useful for understanding documents that discuss air quality and transportation.
Glossary of Commuter Choice Terms
Defines key terms used in discussing a federal subsidies program designed to stimulate use of vanpooling and the like.
Glossary of Transit Terms
Definitions of terms used in the field of public transit.
International Pedestrian Lexicon
Definitions of terms related to walking. Includes French terms, English terms from the UK and North America, and Spanish terms from Spain and Latin America.
Maritime Glossary
Maritime terms and the language of the sea.
Online Transportation Demand Management (TDM) Encyclopedia
The world’s most comprehensive information resource concerning innovative transportation management strategies. It describes dozens of Transportation Demand Management (TDM) strategies and contains information on TDM planning, evaluation and implementation. It has thousands of hyperlinks that provide instant access to more detailed information, including case studies and reference documents.
The Quintessential Maritime Glossary
Maritime is a word that refers to all things of the sea. This glossary is provided as a service to those interested in all things maritime by the Action Boat and Yacht Donation Service Corporation and provides an opportunity to understand the world of maritime travel, commerce, and typical terminology of sailors throughout the world.
Transportation Glossary
A good, general glossary of terms encountered in the transportation literature, published by the Mineta Transportation Institute.
Transportation Research Thesaurus
The Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT) was initially developed under NCHRP Project 20-32 to provide a tool to improve the indexing and retrieval of transportation information. The thesaurus covers all modes and aspects of transportation. A primary use will be to provide a common and consistent language between producers and users of the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database. The thesaurus is currently also used as an indexing tool for federal, state and university collections. The TRT Web site allows users to access terminology through Alphabetical, Hierarchical, Keyword In Context or Keyword Out of Context displays. The full display shows relationship of terms, including SN (Scope Notes), UF (used for terms), BT (Broader Term), NT (Narrower Term), and RT (Related Term).
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Monday, April 09, 2012. 10:46 AM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook