Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Transportation Research and Education Libraries, Schools, Museums, and Research Centers
Document Actions

Transportation

Libraries, Schools, Museums, and Research Centers

Databases, Libraries, and Archives

Intelligent Transportation Society of America
In cooperation with the U.S. Department of Transportation, serves as an international clearinghouse for information about Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS).  ITS comprises a number of  technologies, including information processing, communications, control, and electronics, joined to save lives, time and money. 
Cyburbia: The Planning Community
Cyburbia, established in 1994, is an urban planning social/community and portal site. Cyburbia includes a busy message board, image gallery, planning-related blog feeds, a wiki, and a directory of related web sites.
Directory of State Highway and Transportation Department Libraries
Contact information for libraries in most of U.S. States.
Encyclopedia of Earth
Formerly known as the National Library for the Environment, the Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference containing information about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed  by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each others' work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
FAA Training Resources and Guides
A collection of resources, including air traffic controller and flight schools, test guides, and curriculum materials.
FedStats
One-stop shopping for statistics produced by United States federal agencies.
Harmer E. Davis Transportation Library
Established in 1948, the Institute of Transportation Studies Library at the University of California houses one of the pre-eminent transportation collections in the U.S., and is the country's oldest university transportation library.
National Transit Database
The Federal Transit Administration's (FTA's) primary national database for statistics on the transit industry, the NTD is the system through which FTA collects uniform data needed by the Secretary of Transportation to administer department programs. The data consist of selected financial and operating data that describe public transportation characteristics.
National Transportation Library
Documents on a wide array of transportation subjects. Documents may be accessed by browsing under general subject headings.
North American Transportation in Figures
Examines transportation and transportation-related passenger, freight, economic, safety, energy, environmental and demographic statistics relating to Canada, Mexico and the United States. The project is a direct result of the North American Transportation Statistics Interchange, a tripartite initiative representing the transportation and statistical agencies of Canada, Mexico and the United States. Also available en español.
Transportation Library, Northwestern University Libraries
Hosts the Transportation Division of the Special Libraries Association.
TranStats
One-stop shopping for intermodal transportation data for researchers, decision-makers, as well as the general public interested in transportation issues. Maintained by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database
World's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information. Contains records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
University Transit
Directory of academic transportation programs at United States universities. Most large universities have either large sprawling campuses or two or more geographically separate campuses that require some form of transportation system. Such systems usually may only be used by students, faculty, employees, and visitors with passes, and are not available for use by others. This list includes those universities that have their own transportation system; those not listed generally use the local public transit system.

United States Institutions 

Argonne Transportation Technology R & D Center
A division of Argonnne National Laboratory. Brings together scientists and engineers from many disciplines to find cost-effective solutions to transportation issues. Information about fuel cells, alternative energy vehicles, intelligent transportation systems, vehicle recycling, etc., is available at this site.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Here you will find studies, databases, statistics, and more.  An excellent starting point for researching transportation subjects pertaining to the United States.
Center for Transportation Analysis
Conducts research and development on transportation energy and environmental issues, national transportation planning and policy, military transportation and logistics, and transportation systems engineering.
Center for Transportation Research
A nationally recognized program of university research, education, and public service.
Council of University Transportation Centers
Provides a forum for interaction between more than 50 of the largest such programs, including interaction with industry and government. An alphabetical membership list at this site includes links to member Web sites.
FTA — Research & Technology
Supports deployment of technological innovation to improve personal mobility, minimize fuel consumption and air pollution, increase ridership, and enhance the quality of life of all communities.
IDEA: Innovations Deserving Exploratory Analysis
Program funds innovative new concepts, products, or results that would accelerate the development and deployment of advanced transportation methods, processes, systems, or technology. The IDEA (Innovations Deserving Exploratory Analysis) program is divided into four areas: the National Cooperative Highway Research Program, the Transit program, the High-Speed Rail program, and the Safety program.
Institute of Transportation Studies
Since 1991, the Institute has produced scholarship on applied transportation issues. The publications section contains many full text reports from the Institute's research activities.
Intermodal Transportation Institute
Home to the 60,000-volume historical library of the former Interstate Commerce Commission. A national center for intermodal systems planning and assessment in partnership with Mississippi State University under the 1998 TEA-21 legislation.
National Highway Institute
The National Highway Institute (NHI), a division of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), works to improve the performance of the transportation industry through training. To achieve this mission, NHI provides transportation-related training in several formats including both classroom-based and online learning as well as free Web-based seminars and asynchronous training materials.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
The U.S. Department of Energy's premier laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research, development, and deployment.
National Transit Institute
Created under federal legislation at Rutgers University, NJ, the mission of NTI is to promote, develop, and deliver high quality education and training for persons engaged in federal-aid transit work in order to improve public transit in the United States.
Office of Highway Policy Information 
A repository of highway information and statistics. The Office collects, analyzes and distributes highway related data from federal, state and local sources. Selected documents and periodicals are available here for your review.
Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA)
Areas of work include transportation science and technology, advanced vehicle programs, remote sensing and spatial information applications to transportation, development of hydrogen energy, technology transfer, and university transportation centers.
Southwest Region University Transportation Center
A consortium that comprises The Texas A&M University System (Texas Transportation Institute), The University of Texas at Austin (Center for Transportation Research), and Texas Southern University (Department of Transportation Studies). The Texas Transportation Institute at Texas A&M University serves as the lead institution. The SWUTC is headquartered in College Station on the main Texas A&M campus.
Texas Transportation Institute 
Conducts interdisciplinary and multi-modal research extending into the planning, design, construction, operation, maintenance, enforcement, economic, environmental, and social aspects of transportation.
Transit Cooperative Research Program
Comprises three cooperating organizations: Federal Transit Authority (FTA); the National Academy of Sciences, acting through the Transportation Research Board (TRB); and the Transit Development Corporation, Inc. (TDC), a nonprofit educational and research organization established by the American Public Transit Association (APTA).
Transportation Research Board: Cooperative Research Programs Division
The Cooperative Research Programs Division of the TRB administers a number of major research programs sponsored by other organizations. 
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center
TFHRC has more than 40 laboratories conducting research in the following areas: safety, intelligent transportation systems (ITS), materials technology, pavements, structures, and human factors.
Volpe National Transportation Systems Center
An organization within the U.S. Department of Transportation's Research and Special Programs Administration, dedicated to creating awareness and fostering technical, operational, and managerial innovations in the transportation system.

International and Foreign Institutions 

FHWA Office of International Programs
The Federal Highway Administration's Office of International Programs (OIP) works to improve the technological and institutional base of highway transportation system performance and program delivery in the United States and abroad. Goals include enabling domestic partners to gain easier access to technology, information, and markets beyond U.S. borders; facilitating international partners' access to information and contacts in the U.S. public and private sectors; and providing better access to U.S. technology and practices for developing countries and countries in transition.
International Guide to Highway Transportation Information
A Federal Highway Administration guide to aid the highway transportation professional in identifying principally non-U.S., as well as key U.S. highway transportation information sources and document acquisition services. Topics include highway transportation libraries, information, and research centers; Web sites; document delivery vendors, lenders, and clearinghouses; bibliographic and non-bibliographic databases; and highway transportation associations, organizations, and other professional societies. The information is this report should be of interest to domestic and foreign highway transportation professionals; as well as academicians, applied researchers, and administrative officials in the highway transportation arena; and transportation information library specialists. The guides are also useful for civil engineers or other professionals in highway construction, operations, and materials; as well as highway safety and human factors engineers; psychologists; and social scientists.
International Transport Forum 
The International Transport Forum at the OECD is an intergovernmental organization that acts as a strategic think tank for transport policy and organizes an annual summit of ministers. Their goal is to help shape the transport policy agenda on a global level and ensure that it contributes to economic growth, environmental protection, social inclusion, and the preservation of human life and well-being.
International Transportation
A comprehensive listing from the American Public Transit Association of transportation Web sites around the world, organized by region and area.
Transportation Association of Canada
Forum for government and industry members to discuss transportation issues and concerns. Serves as a center for technical excellence in surface transportation infrastructure.
Transport Canada Library
The homepage of Transport Canada, a Federal agency based in Ottawa. The online catalog contains references to more than 100,000 books and technical reports on transportation and related topics.
Transport Canada: Transportation Development Centre
The Transportation Development Centre (TDC) is Transport Canada's research organization. It manages an R&D program that covers all transportation modes - air, marine, road, and rail - as well as transportation of dangerous goods, accessibility, human factors, and intelligent transportation systems.
WHO/Europe: Transport and Health
WHO/Europe helps countries define and manage mobility policies that benefit health by developing methods and tools to assess the health impact of transport; promotes a sustainable transport for health and the environment through an integrated approach, which prevents and reduces the health effects associated with unsustainable transport patterns; helps its member states fully to consider transport policies’ implications for health, the environment and sustainable development by developing methods and tools for health impact assessment to support the adoption and enforcement of mobility policies beneficial to health; and promotes policies for sustainable transport and healthy transport modes.
World Bank: Transport
The World Bank is involved in lending to developing nations for construction of transportation infrastructures. It also tracks privatization of public sector transportation services.
World Road Association—PIARC
PIARC aspires to be the world leader in the exchange of   knowledge on roads and road transport policy and practices within an integrated sustainable transport context. The road system plays a vital role in the performance of economies, in the social functioning of communities, and in achieving effective land use and regional development. The benefit of PIARC's activity will be reflected in more efficient road administrations, an improved contribution of road transport to the wider economy in an integrated transport system, safer transport, and a more harmonious relationship among road transport, transport users, the environment, and society.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Monday, April 09, 2012. 10:49 AM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook