Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Transportation Modes of Transport Bicycling/Walking
Document Actions

Transportation

Bicycling/Walking

America Walks
Non-profit national coalition of local advocacy groups dedicated to promoting walkable communities. Their mission is to foster the development of community-based pedestrian advocacy groups and to educate the public about the benefits of walking.
Bicycle and Pedestrian Transportation
Bicycle and pedestrian modes of travel are recognized nation-wide as cost-efficient ways to address mobility and air quality concerns. The Bicycle and Pedestrian Transportation Task Force, sponsored by NCTCOG's Department of Transportation, is designed to spearhead regional efforts to insure safety and efficiency in this growing field.
Bikeability Checklist
A checklist to help determine if your neighborhood is "bikeable."
Bike Texas
Bicycle advocacy organization working to promote access, safety, and education for all Texans.
BikeWeb
Offers a bicycle-pedestrian trail information system for the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. This site provides a wealth of information about existing and future bicycle and pedestrian trails in the DFW metropolitan planning area.
Cyclorama
Online magazine that promotes cycling. Bike Culture contains articles on cycling, as well as galleries of interesting images, postcards and cartoons; Cyclorama Products features interesting cycles, parts, and accessories;  Cyclorama Retailers features the best shops around the world; and  Cyclorama blog contains articles by editors and guests on subjects such as international show reports, cycling issues, and interesting stories from the cycling world.
Get Cycling: A Community Interest Company
Get Cycling's aim is simple: to promote cycling, in all its varieties, for leisure, transport, health, happiness and the environment. They work for local authorities, health promotion services, regeneration agencies, businesses, schools, universities, and the leisure industry.
International Human-Powered Vehicle Association
The IHPVA is an association of national associations and organizations dedicated to promoting improvement, innovation, and creativity in the use of human power, especially in the design and development of human-powered vehicles.
League of American Bicyclists
This is the national voice for cyclists, working with Congress, the Department of Transportation, and other agencies to ensure that cycling interests are well represented. In addition, the League provides support and information to state and local bicycle advocacy organizations on a daily basis, strengthening their efforts to increase and improve facilities for cyclists.
Mean Streets 2004
Walking is by far the most dangerous mode of travel per mile. In this report, the Surface Transportation Policy Partnership (STPP) examines the pedestrian safety problem through analysis of federal safety, health, and spending statistics.
National Center for Bicycling and Walking
Resources for bicycle and pedestrian advocacy and policy-making.
Nonmotorized Transportation
Use the NTL Transportation Research Thesaurus to navigate a database of online documents related to bicycling and walking.
Pedestrian and Bicycling Information Center
A clearinghouse for information about health and safety, engineering, advocacy, education, enforcement and access and mobility, funded by the U.S. Dept. of Transportation and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Pedestrian and Bicyclist Safety
Research pertaining to bicycling and pedestrian safety. Includes information about the Bicycle Compatibility Index (BCI) and other planning tools.
Partnership for a Walkable America
National coalition working to improve the conditions for walking in America and to increase the number of Americans who walk regularly. The members are national governmental agencies and non-profit organizations concerned about three main areas: health, safety, and the environment. Sponsors the Walk and Bike to School Web site.
Rails-to-Trails Conservancy
Advocacy group whose original goal was to work toward creating a nationwide network of public trails from former rail lines and connecting corridors. Also engaged with the federally-mandated Recreational Trails Program.
Roadless Area Conservation
This site is devoted to an effort to protect approximately 50 million acres of inventoried roadless lands, concentrated mainly in U.S. National Forests.
Traffic Calming
Article explaining what traffic calming is, with links to several Web sites related to traffic calming.
Traffic Calming Library
Searchable database of reports, articles and other documents related to traffic calming. In some cases the full publication is available online and in others only a source listing or abstract is available. Includes factsheets, discussions, technical reports, and other information.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Thursday, April 12, 2012. 02:17 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook