Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Transportation

Air/Space

Associations

Airports Council International (ACI)
Fosters cooperation among member airports and between airports and other partners in world aviation, including governmental, airline, and aircraft manufacturing organizations.  Primary source for stats and resources on airport passenger traffic.
Flight Safety Foundation
This  independent, impartial and nonprofit international membership organization was formed in 1947 to pursue the continuous improvement of global aviation safety. The Foundation meets this objective through research, auditing, education, advocacy and publishing. 
International Civil Aviation Association
The major international organization concerned with coordination of civil aviation and establishing international standards.
International Federation of Air Traffic Controllers' Associations
IFATCA is the non-political and non-industrial world professional organization representing approximately 50,000 air traffic controllers 125 countries. Among its goals are the promotion of safety, regularity in international air navigation, and the protection and safeguarding of the interests of the air traffic control profession.
International Organization of Women Pilots
Known as The Ninety-Nines. Founded in 1929 by 99 licensed women pilots for the mutual support and advancement of aviation. The present-day mission is unchanged.
National Air Traffic Controllers Association
A federal sector labor union, NATCA represents over 20,000 air traffic controllers, engineers, and other safety related professionals. The Web site provides current legislative information related to air traffic control.

Industry Information

Airport and Aviation Safety after 9/11
Information and links to Web sites related to the issue of traveling safely in the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks. Includes information on weather concerns, aircraft concerns, natural hazards, human factors, terrorism, and airport design.
Aviation Related Links
A directory of web resources maintained at the Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.
Jetliner Database
A database of commercial airline jets. Search this database by registration number, airline/operator, or manufacturer.
PlaneBusiness
Offers analysis and discussion of the aviation industry, including financial and market information.

Government Resources

Aviation Accident Database & Synopses
The NTSB aviation accident database contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters.
Aviation Consumer Protection Division
At this U.S. Department of Transportation site, the federal government will log and investigate consumer complaints about matters pertaining to air travel.
Aviation Weather Center
Current NOAA weather forecasts, advisories and additional information about flight conditions related to weather and natural phenomena.
Commercial Airports in Texas
List of commercial airports in major Texas cities to help travelers plan their arrivals and departures. See also map of Texas Commercial Airports.
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
The FAA oversees the safety of civil aviation, including the issuance and enforcement of regulations and standards related to the manufacture, operation, certification and maintenance of aircraft. The agency is responsible for the rating and certification of airmen and for certification of airports serving air carriers. It also regulates a program to protect the security of civil aviation, and enforces regulations under the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act for shipments by air. The FAA, which operates a network of airport towers, air route traffic control centers, and flight service stations, develops air traffic rules, allocates the use of airspace, and provides for the security control of air traffic to meet national defense requirements.
Flight Delay Information - Air Traffic Control System Command Center
Click on any one of 40 major airports, including Dallas-Fort Worth International, to receive information in real time information about flight delays.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
NASA has important responsibilities in aerospace technology, space exploration, and in the development of earth and space science.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Monday, April 09, 2012. 11:05 AM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook