Speech and Hearing
Electronic Resources
Electronic Resources
Electronic Resources that are most relevant to the discipline of Speech and Hearing Sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, coverage dating back to 1975. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of stud.
Communication Sciences and Disorders Information Services
ComDisDome is a unique refereed resource for the field of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology. Search from journal articles, books and selected Web resources. Obtain detailed profiles of educational and research institutions and contact information for others working on your research interests.
Education Research Complete
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals.
ERIC
The database that covers educational issues can be accessed via your favorite interface. ERIC via EBSCOhost, or ERIC via CSA or ERIC (FirstSearch) or the ERIC Web Portal. Also with free public access to the database The Educator's Reference Desk (http://www.eduref.org/).
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source: Consumer Edition (Health Source Consumer Edition) is an authoritative information source on health topics such as nutrition, general health, sports medicine, and child care. Database covers popular health magazines, health newsletters, general health journals, reference books, and pamphlets. You can also search for drug information from the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and other reference information from CRS, Clinical Reference Systems. CRS includes over 7000 essays on eight major health related subjects: adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication. Ebsco database via Texshare.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers nursing and allied health as well as other medical disciplines. It offers full text articles from over 520 scholarly journals and abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals. USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary are also included. An EbscoHost database via TexShare.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection) provides full text coverage of 470 journals in the areas of psychology, psychiatry, mental process, anthropology. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via CSA
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Coverage begins with 1973.
PsycInfo via Ebscohost
PsycInfo, formerly known as PsycLit, provides abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters of books, technical reports, and dissertations representing the international field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, behavior analysis, and social work. Coverage is 1872 to current with regular updates and covers over 1300 journals, representing over 25 languages. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current. Keywords/alternate spellings: behaviour, personality, neuroscience, psychometrics, sociology, social, sports, leisure, psychological, PsychInfo, Psyc Info, Psych, PsychLit, Lit.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage begins with 1963.
Biosys Previews
BIOSIS Previews allows you to find the data you need to prepare research projects, grant proposals, and follow trends in the life sciences. BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts® with supplemental, non-journal coverage. Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.
Clinical Resources
Medical topics can be research using the Medline interface most familiar to you. Medline via EBSCOhost, PubMed (MedLine). Perhaps the most wide ranging results come from the NLM Gateway, covering Medline Plus, ToxLine and all of the databases currently offered through the National Library of Medicine.