Articles
Electronic Resources
Electronic Resources
Electronic Resources that are most relevant to the discipline of Speech and Hearing Sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, coverage dating back to 1975. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of stud.
Communication Sciences and Disorders Information Services
ComDisDome is a unique refereed resource for the field of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology. Search from journal articles, books and selected Web resources. Obtain detailed profiles of educational and research institutions and contact information for others working on your research interests.
Education Research Complete
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals.
ERIC
The database that covers educational issues can be accessed via your favorite interface. ERIC via EBSCOhost, or ERIC via CSA or ERIC (FirstSearch) or the ERIC Web Portal. Also with free public access to the database The Educator's Reference Desk (http://www.eduref.org/).
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source: Consumer Edition (Health Source Consumer Edition) is an authoritative information source on health topics such as nutrition, general health, sports medicine, and child care. Database covers popular health magazines, health newsletters, general health journals, reference books, and pamphlets. You can also search for drug information from the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and other reference information from CRS, Clinical Reference Systems. CRS includes over 7000 essays on eight major health related subjects: adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication. Ebsco database via Texshare.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers nursing and allied health as well as other medical disciplines. It offers full text articles from over 520 scholarly journals and abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals. USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary are also included. An EbscoHost database via TexShare.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection) provides full text coverage of 470 journals in the areas of psychology, psychiatry, mental process, anthropology. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via CSA
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Coverage begins with 1973.
PsycInfo via Ebscohost
PsycInfo, formerly known as PsycLit, provides abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters of books, technical reports, and dissertations representing the international field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, behavior analysis, and social work. Coverage is 1872 to current with regular updates and covers over 1300 journals, representing over 25 languages. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current. Keywords/alternate spellings: behaviour, personality, neuroscience, psychometrics, sociology, social, sports, leisure, psychological, PsychInfo, Psyc Info, Psych, PsychLit, Lit.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage begins with 1963.
Biosys Previews
BIOSIS Previews allows you to find the data you need to prepare research projects, grant proposals, and follow trends in the life sciences. BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts® with supplemental, non-journal coverage. Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.
Clinical Resources
Medical topics can be research using the Medline interface most familiar to you. Medline via EBSCOhost, PubMed (MedLine). Perhaps the most wide ranging results come from the NLM Gateway, covering Medline Plus, ToxLine and all of the databases currently offered through the National Library of Medicine.
Journals
Journals that are relevant to the various topics in the Speech and Hearing Sciences.
Journal Locations
This page describes where journals are located within the libraries. Journals may be located in a variety of locations:
- Willis Library - current journals and bound volumes located in basement
- Eagle Commons Library (Information Sciences Building) - current journals located on 1st floor, bound journals on 1st floor and basement
- Remote Storage (Libraries Annex) - Journals published before 1980. For retrieval use the Library Materials Delivery Request Library Materials Delivery Request form located on the Library Services page. Five volumes at a time may be requested. These materials are generally available 24 hours later (weekdays only) at the circulation desk of the appropriate library.
- Reserves Desk - Certain journals will at times be located at the Reserves Desk of the Libraries.
- Media Library at Chilton Hall - videos and related media items.
- Online - Full text journals can be accessed directly though the Online Catalog or from the Electronic Resources page. Many of these journal packages have a search engine to help you locate the information needed -- EBSCOhost, Science Direct, Wiley Interscience, Blackwell's Synergy, Electronic Collections Online, PsycArticles or SpringerLink.
Always check the UNT Online Catalog (http://iii.library .unt.edu).for location and availability. All journals bound and current are shelved in alphabetical order. If you have any problems contact the nearest Reference or Service desk for assistance.
Selected Journals for Speech and Hearing Sciences
Journals that cover topics related to Speech and Hearing Sciences.
Use
Library Catalog to determine actual holdings
Abbreviations:
ECL=Eagle Commons Library
AIP=American Institute of Physics-Scitation
ASP=Academic Search Premier
BMC=BioMed Central
BSC=Business Source Complete
CHC=Consumer Health Complete
CJO=Cambridge Journals Online
CMMC=Communication & Mass Media Complete
ECO=Electronic Collection Online
HRCA=Health Reference Center Academic
HSNA=Health Source Nursing Academic
LEA= Lawrence Erlbaum Associates
MF=MasterFile
PBS=Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
PQ=Proquest
PMC=PubMed Central
RS= Remote Storage
SD=Science Direct
SL=SpringerLink
SYN= Synergy
T&F=Taylor & Francis Online
*=Ceased or cancelled
| Acta Oto-Laryngologica |
ECL, RS, ASP, PBS, CHC, HSNA, T&F |
| Acoustical Research Letters Online (ARLO) | http://scitation.aip.org/ARLO/top.jsp |
| AIHA Journal (American Industrial Hygiene) | ECL, (Willis), PQ |
| American Annals of the Deaf | Willis, RS, Project Muse, PQ, CMMC |
| American Journal of Audiology | ECL, ASP, CHC, HSNA |
| American Journal of Speech Language Pathology | ECL, CMMC |
| Annals of Otology, Rhinology & Laryngology | ECL, RS, ASP, CHC, HSNA, PBS |
| Annual Review of Language Acquisition | Willis stacks, CMMC |
| Aphasiology | CMMC |
| Applied Neuropsychology | ECL, LEA, ASP, PBS |
| Applied Psycholinguistics | Willis, Cambridge |
| Archives of Otolaryngology | ECL, RS |
| ASHA | ECL, CMMC |
| ASHA Leader | Willis (1 yr only), CMMC |
| Audiological Medicine | ECL, T&F |
| Audiology: Journal of Auditory Communication | ECL, RS, CMMC |
| Audiology & Neuro-otology | ECL |
| Augmentative and Alternative Communication | ECL, CMMC, T&F |
| BMC Ear Nose and Throat Disorders | PMC, BMC |
| Brain and Cognition |
ECL, SD |
| Brain and Language | ECL, RS, SD |
| Brain Injury | ECL, T&F, ASP, CHC, HSNA, PBS |
| Brain Research | RS, SD |
| British Journal of Audiology* | ECL |
| Child Language Teaching & Therapy | CMMC, PQ |
| Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Journal | ECL, ECO |
| Clinical Aphasiology: Proceedings of the Conference | ECL stacks |
| Clinical Linguistics & Phonetics | ECL, CMMC, T&F |
| Clinical Otolaryngology and Allied Sciences* | ASP, SYN, CHC, HSNA |
| Cognitive Neuropsychology | ECL, ASP, PBS, T&F |
| Communication Disorders Quarterly | ECL, CMMC |
| Communication Education | Willis, CMMC, T&F |
| Communication Quarterly | Willis, CMMC, PQ |
| Communication Research | Willis, ECO, Sage |
| Cortex; A journal devoted to the study of the nervous system and behavior | ECL, RS |
| Current Opinion in Neurology | ECL |
| Developmental Neuropsychology | ECL, LEA, ASP, PBS |
| Discourse Processes | Willis, ECO, ASP, LEA |
| Dysphagia | ECL, SL, HRCA |
| Ear and Hearing | ECL |
| Ear, Nose and Throat Journal | ASP, CHC, HRCA, CHC, HSNA, MF |
| European Archives of Oto-rhino-laryngology | SL |
| European Journal of Disorders of Communication * | ECL |
| Exceptionality | Willis, LEA, ASP, PBS |
| Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities | ECL, ASP, CHC, HSNA, MF, PBS |
| Gesture | CMMC |
| Health Communication | ECL, LEA, CMMC, ECO |
| Hearing Research | ECL, RS, SD |
| Hearing Review | http://www.hearingreview.com/ |
| IEEE International Conference On Acoustics, Speech, And Signal Processing Conference Proceedings (various years) | IEEE Xplore |
| Indian Journal of Otolarnygology and Head and Neck Surgery | http://medind.nic.in/ibd/ibdai.shtml, HWRC, HRCA |
| International Journal of Audiology | ECL, ASP, T&F, CHC, HSNA |
| International Journal of Language and Communication Disorders | ECL, ECO, CMMC |
| International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology | RS, SD |
| Interpreting: International Journal of Research & Practice in Interpreting | CMMC |
| Journal of Applied Communication Research | Willis, CMMC, T&F |
| Journal of Audiological Medicine | ECL, ASP, CHC, HSNA |
| Journal of Child Language | Willis, CJO |
| Journal of Clinical Neuroscience | ECL, SD |
| Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience | ECL, ASP, HRCA, , PBS |
| Journal of Communication Disorders | ECL, RS, SD |
| Journal of Educational and Psychological Consultation | Willis, LEA, ASP, PBS |
| Journal of Fluency Disorders | ECL, RS, SD |
| Journal of Learning Disabilities | Willis, ASP, PQ, CHC, HRCA, MF, PBS |
| Journal of Linguistics | Willis, Cambridge |
| Journal of Medical Speech- Language Pathology | ECL, HRCA |
| Journal of Memory and Language | ECL, SD |
| Journal of Neurolinguistics | SD |
| Journal of Occupational and Environmental Hygiene | ECL, T&F |
| Journal of Occupational Hearing Loss* | ECL |
| Journal of Psycholinguistic Research | Willis, SL, CMMC, PQ |
| Journal of Sociolinguistics | Willis, ECO, SYN, CMMC |
| Journal of Speech, Language and Hearing Research | ECL, PQ, CMMC, HRCA |
| Journal of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology | Willis |
| Journal of the Acoustical Society of America | ECL, RS, AIP |
| Journal of the American Academy of Audiology | ECL, ASP, HSNA |
| Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association | Willis, RS |
| Journal of the Association for Research in Otolaryngology | SL |
| Journal of Voice | Willis Music, SD, HRCA |
| Language Acquisition: A Journal of Developmental Linguistics | Willis, LEA, CMMC, ECO |
| Language and Cognitive Processes (various issues) | ECL Stacks, Willis Stacks, CMMC |
| Language and Speech | Willis,, CMMC, HWRC, HRCA |
| Language Learning | Willis, ECO, CMMC, SYN |
| Language Learning & Development | CMMC |
| Language, Speech and Hearing Services in Schools | Willis, CMMC |
| Language Testing | Willis, CMMC, ECO |
| Learning Disability Quarterly | Willis, ASP, PBS |
| Memory and Cognition | ECL, RS, PQ |
| Neuropsychologia | ECL, RS, SD |
| Noise and Health | ECL |
| ORL: Journal for Oto-Rhino-Laryngology and Its Related Specialties | PQ |
| Otolarnygologic Clinics of North America | ECL |
| Otology & Neurotology | ECL |
| Phonoscope* | ECL |
| Reading and Writing | Willis, SL |
| Scandinavian Audiology | ECL, ECO, ASP, CHC, HSNA, PBS |
| Second Language Research | Willis, ECO, CMMC, PQ |
| Seminars in Hearing | ECL |
| Seminars in Speech and Language | ECL |
| Sign Language & Linguistics | Willis, CMMC |
| Sign Language Studies | CMMC, Project Muse, PQ |
| Speech Communication | ECL, SD |
| Studies in Second Language Acquisition | WillisCJO |
| Tinnitus Today | ECL |
| Topics in Language Disorders | ECL, PQ, CMMC, HRCA |
| Trends in Amplification | ECL |
| Volta Review | Willis, RS, ASP, PQ, CHC, HSNA, PBS |
| Written Language and Literacy | Willis, CMMC |
Journals that are monitored in ComDis Dome
A list of journals that may have articles included in this resource.
Non-PubMed Journals:
- AAC Augmentative and Alternative Communication
- Advances in Speech Hearing and Language Processing
- Advances in Speech-Language Pathology
- Aging Neuropsychology and Cognition
- American Journal of Alzheimer's Disease
- American Journal of Otology
- American Journal on Mental Retardation
- Annals of Dyslexia
- Aphasiology
- Applied Language Learning
- Applied Linguistics
- Applied Psycholinguistics
- Asia Pacific Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing
- Australian Journal of Language and Literacy
- Australian Journal of Learning Disabilities
- Australian Language Matters
- Australian Review of Applied Linguistics
- Bilingualism: Language and Cognition
- British Educational Research Journal
- British Journal of Developmental Disabilities
- British Journal of Developmental Psychology
- British Journal of Educational Psychology
- British Journal of Special Education
- Cognitive Linguistics
- Communication and Cognition
- Computer Assisted Language Learning
- Computer Speech & Language
- Deafness and Education
- European Journal of Special Needs Education
- Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities
- Human Communication Research
- Infants and Young Children
- Infant-Toddler Intervention
- International Journal of Applied Linguistics
- International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism
- International Journal of Bilingualism
- International Journal of Disability, Developtment & Education
- International Journal of Early Years Education
- International Journal of Speech Technology
- International Review of Sign Linguistics
- Interpreting
- Journal of Applied Communication Research
- Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
- Journal of Fluency Disorders
- Journal of Intellectual & Developmental Disability
- Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
- Journal of Medical Speech-Language Pathology
- Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development
- Journal of Neurolinguistics
- Journal of Occupational Hearing Loss
- Journal of Phonetics
- Journal of Research in Reading
- Journal of Special Education
- Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology/Revue d'orthophonie et d'audiologie
- Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association
- Journal of the Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps
- Journal of the International Phonetic Association
- Language
- Language Acquisition
- Language and Communication
- Language Learning
- Language Learning Journal
- Mind & Language
- Otorinolaringologia
- Phonology
- Pragmatics
- Pragmatics & Cognition
- Proceedings of the Annual Boston University Conference on Language Development
- Quarterly Journal of Speech
- Reading Teacher
- Reading Research Quarterly
- Sign Language & Linguistics
- Sign Language Studies
- Speech Communication
- Speech Hearing and Language
- Topics in Language Disorders
- Volta Review
PubMed Journals:
- Acta Oto-Laryngologica
- Acta Oto-Laryngologica. Supplementum
- Acta Oto-Rhino-Laryngologica Belgica
- Advances in Oto-Rhino-Laryngology
- American Annals of the Deaf
- American Journal of Audiology
- American Journal of Gastroenterology
- American Journal of Otolaryngology
- American Journal of Otology
- American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology
- Annals of Otology, Rhinology and Laryngology. Supplement
- Annals of Otology, Rhinology, and Laryngology
- Aphasiology
- Archives of Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery
- ASHA
- ASHA Monographs
- ASHA. Supplement
- Assistive Technology
- Audiology
- Auris, Nasus, Larynx
- Autism
- Brain and Cognition
- Brain and Development
- Brain and Language
- British Journal of Audiology
- British Journal of Disorders of Communication
- Cleft Palate Journal
- Clinical Linguistics and Phonetics
- Clinics in Communication Disorders
- Cortex
- Current Opinion in Otolaryngology & Head and Neck Surgery
- Disability and Rehabilitation
- Down's Syndrome, Research and Practice
- Dyslexia
- Dysphagia
- Ear and Hearing
- Ear, Nose, and Throat Journal
- European Journal of Disorders of Communication
- Folia Phoniatrica et Logopaedica
- Hearing Research
- International Journal of Language and Communication Disorders
- International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology
- Journal of Auditory Research
- Journal of Child Language
- Journal of Clinical Gastroenterology
- Journal of Communication Disorders: JCD
- Journal of Fluency Disorders
- Journal of Gastroenterology
- Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation
- Journal of Laryngology and Otology
- Journal of Medical Speech-Language Pathology
- Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
- Journal of Otolaryngology
- Journal of Psycholinguistic Research
- Journal of Speech and Hearing Disorders
- Journal of Speech and Hearing Research
- Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
- Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
- Journal of the International Neuropsychological Society
- Journal of Voice
- Language and Speech
- Laryngoscope
- Logopedics, Phoniatrics, Vocology
- Memory and Cognition
- Movement Disorders
- Noise and Health
- Otolaryngologic Clinics of North America
- Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery
- Otology and Neurotology
- Perception and Psychophysics
- Perceptual and Motor Skills
- Phonetica
- Scandinavian Audiology
- Scandinavian Audiology. Supplementum
- Seminars in Speech and Language
- South African Journal of Communication Disorders