Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Sociology Reference Sources Encyclopedias
Document Actions

Sociology

Encyclopedias

Quick Links on this page: 1.  Electronic Encyclopedias 2. Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are reference resources can be general or subject specific. Listed are some encyclopedias that may assist with the topic of this subject guide.

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other materials that provide background or introductory research but *usually* do not circulate (i.e. are not available for check out).

Selected Encyclopedias for Sociology

Electronic Encyclopedias

E-books are accessible online through vendor subscriptions.  Use UNT login for access (Tips and Tricks)

 

1 of 2 (Permalink)

TITLE        Sociology basics [electronic resource] / consulting editor, Carl L. Bankston III.
CALL #       (online via Ebooks on Ebscohost)
2 of 2 (Permalink)
TITLE        Encyclopedia of sociology [electronic resource] / Edgar F. Borgatta, 
CALL #       (online via Ebooks on Ebscohost)

Print Encyclopedias

Print encyclopedias are considered reference sources, and thus *usually* cannot be checked out.

1 of 5 (Permalink)
TITLE        The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology / edited by George Ritzer.
CALL #       HM425 .B53 2007 (WILLIS LIBRARY-1Fl GEN REFERENCE)
 2 of 5 (Permalink)
TITLE        Encyclopedia of social theory / editor George Ritzer.
CALL #       HM425 .E47 2005 (WILLIS LIBRARY-2nd FLOOR)
 
3 of 5 (Permalink)
TITLE        Encyclopedia of sociology / Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief...
CALL #       HM425 .E5 2000 (WILLIS LIBRARY-1Fl GEN REFERENCE)
 4 of 5 (Permalink)
TITLE        International encyclopedia of sociology / editor, Frank N. Magill...
CALL #       HM17 .I53 1995 (WILLIS LIBRARY-2nd FLOOR) and (UNT DALLAS CAMPUS)
5 of 5 (Permalink)
TITLE        World of sociology / Joseph M. Palmisano, editor.
CALL #       HM585 .W67 2001 (WILLIS LIBRARY-2nd FLOOR)

Browsing the collection

To browse, You can do a  UNT Catalog Subject Search for: Sociology Encyclopedias

:)

This page is maintained by Lilly Ramin last modified Thursday, July 28, 2011. 12:16 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook