Sociology
Databases and abstracts list
Included in this page = 1: Electronic Databases 2: Print Abstracts
List of top sociology databases and abstracts.
Off campus access to electronic databases will prompt you to login with your EUID and Eaglemail password as these are databases UNT subscribes to. Many will enable you to limit to "Full text" articles in our collection. (Tips and Tricks)
Electronic Databases
Below are electronic databases which include some full text articles and electronic abstracts which will help you locate articles- SocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO - Sociologically focused database from EBSCOContents: Full text for 428 titles dating back to 1908. With thesaurus, plus conference papers and author profiles
Database coverage - Academic Search Complete - Good starting place, an interdisciplinary database.
- Ageline via Ebscohost - Great database from EBSCO on gerontology/aging topics.
- PsycInfo via Ebscohost Like PsycARTICLES via Ebscohost, a good database for psychological research
NOTE: To search multiple EBSCO databases together click"Choose databases" above search box
- Sage Journals Online not the most user-friendly database, but good content. Try Matchmaker feature.
The SAGE Journals Online database indexes over 220 journals from ten different Full-Text Collections. The SAGE Full-Text Collections include Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. The UNT Libraries provides full-text access to approximately 165 of the available journals in the Full-Text Collections. Articles and journals not available online can be requested through Interlibrary Loan or purchased from SAGE.
The Sage Journals Online Help page also has tips.
More databases:
Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries...
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography also known as the Human Relations Area Files or HRAF database is an important resource for anthropological research. The eHRAF provides information on a broad range of cultures. The cultures covered are of two general types: (1) North American ethnic minorities, and (2) what have been called traditional, small-scale, primitive, nonliterate, native, non-Western, indigenous, Fourth World, or non-industrialized cultures. (Keywords: Anthropology, Ethnography, Ethnographies, full-text, full text.)
PAIS International via FirstSearch
The Public Affairs Information Service, or PAIS International, is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, and reports from all over the world. Coverage is 1972 to present.
Print Abstracts
Abstracts are summaries of articles that assist you in finding full text articles by providing citation information. They can be helpful for in-depth research. Below is a list of Print Abstracts relating to Sociology at UNT libraries.
- Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Sociology 1895-1974
- Human Resources Abstracts (formerly Poverty and Human Resources Abstracts 1966-1974) 1975-present
- Index to Social Sciences and Humanities Proceedings 1986-present
- Sage Race Relations Abstracts 1975-present
- Sage Urban Studies Abstracts 1973-present
- Social Sciences Index (formerly Social Sciences and Humanities Index 1965-1974) 1974-1993
- Sociological Abstracts 1953-1962