Small Business
Texas small business resources
- Analyze Dallas
Data for most categories can be viewed at a city level or broken down by 325 census tracts, 43 zip codes, 14 City Council Districts, 9 DISD School Board Trustee Districts, and the Northern and Southern Sectors of Dallas. Data is available in eight categories across multiple years: Civic Health, Economy, Environment, Housing, Crime, Education, Health, Transportation. - Book of Lists [Dallas Business Journal]
Published annually, it provides essential information on the largest businesses, buyers, and the largest employers in Dallas.
HF5065.T4 B612 Book location: Willis Library, 3rd floor Government Documents / Business Reference; also located at the UNT Dallas Campus Library. - Book of Lists [Fort Worth Business Press]
Published annually, it provides lists and rankings of the top businesses in Tarrant County by industry.
HF5065.T4 B8 Book location: Willis Library, 3rd floor Government Documents / Business Reference, Willis Library; also located at the UNT Dallas Campus Library. - Bureau of Labor Statistics "Economy at a Glance" page for Texas
Provides data about labor force, wages and salary employment, and mass layoffs. - Business & Professional Services [State of Texas]
Includes Small Business Development Center, Do Business with the State of Texas, Start a Business, Maintain a Business, Relocate a Business, Licenses, Permits, & Registrations, FAQ. - Business Portal [UNT Libraries' Government Information Connection]
These links provide helpful resources for starting a small business. Some of the electronic resources are subscribed to by the UNT Libraries. If you are a UNT student or faculty member you can access these resources off campus by using your EUID and password. If you are not a UNT student or faculty member you can access these resources using a guest login on any computer inside the UNT Libraries. - Business Start-Up Information [Texas Secretary of State]
Extensive list of links under the following headers: Start-up guides, small business resources, employer issues, permits and licenses, patents, trademarks, copyrights, securities issues, state and federal taxation. - Census Demographics & Business Statistics [UNT Libraries' Subject Guide]
- Center for Economic Development and Research [University of North Texas]
Provides forecasting and strategic planning services to businesses, governments and non-profit agencies. The Center has amassed a sizeable economic, social and demographic data base for the state of Texas and prepares a semi-annual economic forecast for the state and its five largest metropolitan areas. - Commerce Connection [Texas Chambers of Commerce: Lone Star Internet] Contains links to around 200 Texas city Chambers web sites. The sites are in alphabetic order by city.
- Dallas Indicators
The Dallas Indicators is a comprehensive database of key community measures. Provides summaries of data related to the Greater Dallas Area. Search by keyword or look for data sources. Download the original data in an Excel spreadsheet format. Currently over 110 zip code level maps are available in both a .jpeg and .pdf format. - North Central Texas Council of Governments
NCTCOG provides extensive demographic information including population, housing, land use, cost of living, economic development, wage and income data, major employers, transportation issues, unemployment rate. - North Texas Real Estate Information Systems - Statistics
Data include: NTREIS Statistics (compiled by The Texas A&M Real Estate Center), North Central Texas Census, Real Estate Center, NAR Housing Reports, NAR/NTREIS Economic and Market Intelligence Reports, Comprehensive Data. - Real Estate Center at Texas A&M University
Data includes: building permits, household employment & unemployment, home sales in Texas, housing affordability in Texas, population, Southwest rural land. - Texas Ahead [Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts]
Provides a massive amount of economic data. Topics include local government, economic developers, business, economic outlook, demographics, housing, data for Texas economic regions, infrastructure & transportation, small business feature topics. -
Texas Labor Market Information [TRACER - Texas Workforce Commission] Contains Latest Economic Indicators: Texas Labor Force Statistics, Texas Nonfarm Industry Employment, Texas Workforce Salary Survey, Texas Average Hourly Wage, Unemployment Insurance Claims, Consumer Price Index (USA) for Texas cities.
-
Texas State Data Center and Office of the State Demographer
The Data Center provides population estimates and projections for Texas, and furnishes other population data from the federal government and Texas state government.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!