Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Religion Websites Religious Facts and Statistics
Document Actions

Religion

Religious Facts and Statistics

American Religious Identification Survey 2001

Provides a myriad of facts and figures.  The site was created by the Graduate Center of the City University of New York.

http://www.gc.cuny.edu/faculty/research_briefs/aris.pdf

U.S. Religious Landscape Survey

Based on interviews with more than 35,000 American adults, this extensive survey by the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life details the religious makeup, religious beliefs and practices as well as social and political attitudes of the American public.

http://religions.pewforum.org/

Frequently Requested Catholic Church Statistics

Provides information such as the number of churches, diocese, schools, adherents and much more.

http://cara.georgetown.edu/bulletin/index.htm

U.S. Congregational Life Survey

The largest and most representative profile of worshipers and their congregations ever developed in the United States.

http://www.uscongregations.org/

Christianity Chronology

Provides a general timeline of the Christian movement from past to present.

http://www.thenagain.info/WebChron/Christianity/Christianity.html

Adherents.com

Provides statistical information on over 4,200 religions, denominations, churches, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, and movements. Data are derived from census data, polls, surveys and organizational reports.

http://www.adherents.com/

Association of Religion Data Archives

This site explores congregational membership in every county, state, and urban area in the United States. Based on the Religious Congregations and Membership Study collected by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies this is the most complete census available on religious congregations and their members.

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/ARDA

Hartford Institute for Religion Research

Devoted to sociological research in the area of religion.  The site provides information about various Institute research projects on issues such as women and religion, congregations, religion and the family, etc. Links to articles by leading scholars in the sociology of religion are also included, as well as bibliographies, syllabi, and other scholarly resources.

http://hirr.hartsem.edu/index.html

The Pluralism Project

Harvard University began a pioneering study of America's changing religious landscape. Through an expanding network of affiliates, we document the contours of our multi-religious society, explore new forms of interfaith engagement, and study the impact of religious diversity in civic life. In 2000, we expanded our study of pluralism to other multi-religious societies.

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/pluralism

World Fact Book: Countries of the World

Includes a link that provides access to information on the religious composition of countries around the world.

http://www.photius.com/religion/

 

 

This page is maintained by Beth Avery last modified Friday, June 03, 2011. 03:32 PM
Contributors: Carl Adkins
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Beth Avery

Contact Info

Willis Library 155
Univ. of North Texas
Denton, TX 76203
Voice: 940-565-2762
beth.avery@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook