Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Religion Websites
Document Actions

Websites

Department of Philosophy and Religion

Department of Philosophy and Religion Studies

http://www.phil.unt.edu/

 

 

UNT's Department of Philosophy and Religion Studies is the leading center for the study in environmental ethics and environmental philosophy in North America. The department website features information on academic programs, research, and faculty.  UNT Philosophy and Religion Studies emphasizes an applied or 'field' approach to philosophic problems. The department is also distinguished by a growing interest in science and technology studies, the relation between nature, society, and decision-making, and the construction of identity.


Professional Organizations

American Academy of Religion

From the website: The American Academy of Religion (AAR) is the largest scholarly association for religious studies.  AAR covers all types of religious movements.  There are sections specific to Judaism as well as sections which examines issues from a variety of religious perspectives.  There is a student rate to join AAR.

Society of Biblical Literature

From the website: the Society of Biblical Literature is the oldest and largest learned society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible from a variety of academic disciplines. As an international organization, the Society offers its members opportunities for mutual support, intellectual growth, and professional development.  There is a student rate to join SBL.

 

Religious Images and Art

UNT Art and Incongraphy Subject Guide

 http://www.library.unt.edu/research-tools/guides/art-iconography


EIKON Image Database for Biblical Studies

EIKON is a faculty-library initiative at Yale Divinity School that provides digital resources for teaching and research in the field of Biblical studies.

http://research.yale.edu:8084/divdl/eikon/index.jsp

AdHoc Image and Text Database on the History of Christianity

AdHoc is a faculty-library initiative at Yale Divinity School that provides digital resources for teaching and research related to the history of Christianity.

http://research.yale.edu:8084/divdl/adhoc/index.jsp

CDRI database or Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative

The CDRI database or Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.  The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries (ATLA).

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/CDRI

Digital Scriptorium 

An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscript.  The database is a joint project of the Bancroft Library (UC Berkeley) and the Rare Book and Manuscript Library of Columbia University.

http://www.scriptorium.columbia.edu/

Religious Art

 Links to Religion in art including links to museum collections, image collections, and manuscripts. 

General

 

UNT Department of History: Religious Studies

http://www.hist.unt.edu/web_resources/religion.htm

 

Internet Theology Resources, St. John's School of Theology

http://www.users.csbsju.edu/~eknuth/itr/


Virtual Religion Index

http://virtualreligion.net/vri/

 

 

 

Online Primary Texts

Online Primary Texts

Religious Studies Web guide

This web resource offers a directory of religious texts from nearly all the religions around the world in full text.

http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/texts.html

Internet Sacred Texts Library

This website contains translations of major texts from all of the major world religions as well as smaller religious movemetns.

http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

This website includes Ante-Nicene Fathers, Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers.

http://www.ccel.org/fathers2/

Early Christian Writings

This website provide free access to writings from the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, church fathers, and more.

http://www.earlychristianwritings.com/

Creeds of Christendom

This website is an overview of the major Creeds and Confessions produced by the Christian Church over the centuries.

http://www.creeds.net/index2.htm

Oxford University Text Archive

The Oxford University Text Archive is an enormous collection of primary texts of all kinds including a significant number of religious discourses covering a wide time period. 

http://ota.ahds.ac.uk/

 Religion and Philosophy Topic Guide    

 The Center for Research Libraries makes available microfilms of original documents from the Church of England,     German Evangelica Church, Lutherism, the Church Missiotnary Society, Council for World Mission, and other missionary socieites.  These resrouces can be obtained through InterLibrary Loan. 

    http://www.crl.edu/collections/topics/religion-and-philosophy

Online Journals and Articles

Directory of Religious Studies

A directory of electronic journals covering a wide scope of religion topics

http://www.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/journals.html

Religion News writers Foundation

Resources, tools, and training for writing about religion.

http://www.religionwriters.com/

Bibliotheca Religiosa IntraText

A full-text online library that publishes religious, philosophical, and literary works, including books, periodicals, complete works, and archives in more than 30 languages.

http://www.intratext.com/BRI/

Religion News Service

Religion News Service is the "AP" for news about religion.  Particularly helpful is the daily news blog.

www.religionnews.com

 

 

Web Gateways

Religious Studies Web Guide

A free internet resource for researchers involved in the academic study of religion.  The resource includes bibliographies, images, indexes, texts and a lot more.

http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/

Virtual Religion Index

A resource that is designed to advance research in matters of religion.  The site covers a wide variety of topics on religious traditions worldwide.

http://virtualreligion.net/vri/

Yale Divinity Library Research Guide for Christianity

Yale’s research guide for Christianity is one of the best and most complete resource guides available.

http://www.library.yale.edu/div/xtiangde.htm

Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources in Theology and Religion

This website is a selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc. The purpose of the Guide is to encourage and facilitate the incorporation of electronic resources into teaching.

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/wabash

Religion-online

This website provides more than 6,000 articles and chapters. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education.

http://www.religion-online.org/

 

 

Ethics and Religion

The Institute for Theology and Peace

A research institution of the Catholic Church established by the Catholic Military Chaplaincy. The emphasis of research and documentation is on the political and social debate on questions of peace from a theological-ethical point of view.

http://www.ithpeace.de/

University of San Diego’s Ethics Updates

A portal aimed at promoting the discussion of difficult moral issues.

http://ethics.sandiego.edu/

Religion and Ethics Newsweekly

PBS’ portal is where some of the major issues are being talked about.

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/religionandethics/

Counterbalance Interactive Library

Offering views on complex issues from science, ethics, philosophy, and religion.  Here you'll find extensive resources on the evolution/creation controversy, biomedical ethical challenges, and much more. Counterbalance is a non-profit educational organization working to promote counterbalanced perspectives on complex issues.

http://www.counterbalance.org/

 

 

Religious Facts and Statistics

American Religious Identification Survey 2001

Provides a myriad of facts and figures.  The site was created by the Graduate Center of the City University of New York.

http://www.gc.cuny.edu/faculty/research_briefs/aris.pdf

U.S. Religious Landscape Survey

Based on interviews with more than 35,000 American adults, this extensive survey by the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life details the religious makeup, religious beliefs and practices as well as social and political attitudes of the American public.

http://religions.pewforum.org/

Frequently Requested Catholic Church Statistics

Provides information such as the number of churches, diocese, schools, adherents and much more.

http://cara.georgetown.edu/bulletin/index.htm

U.S. Congregational Life Survey

The largest and most representative profile of worshipers and their congregations ever developed in the United States.

http://www.uscongregations.org/

Christianity Chronology

Provides a general timeline of the Christian movement from past to present.

http://www.thenagain.info/WebChron/Christianity/Christianity.html

Adherents.com

Provides statistical information on over 4,200 religions, denominations, churches, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, and movements. Data are derived from census data, polls, surveys and organizational reports.

http://www.adherents.com/

Association of Religion Data Archives

This site explores congregational membership in every county, state, and urban area in the United States. Based on the Religious Congregations and Membership Study collected by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies this is the most complete census available on religious congregations and their members.

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/ARDA

Hartford Institute for Religion Research

Devoted to sociological research in the area of religion.  The site provides information about various Institute research projects on issues such as women and religion, congregations, religion and the family, etc. Links to articles by leading scholars in the sociology of religion are also included, as well as bibliographies, syllabi, and other scholarly resources.

http://hirr.hartsem.edu/index.html

The Pluralism Project

Harvard University began a pioneering study of America's changing religious landscape. Through an expanding network of affiliates, we document the contours of our multi-religious society, explore new forms of interfaith engagement, and study the impact of religious diversity in civic life. In 2000, we expanded our study of pluralism to other multi-religious societies.

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/pluralism

World Fact Book: Countries of the World

Includes a link that provides access to information on the religious composition of countries around the world.

http://www.photius.com/religion/

 

 

Classical and Biblical Study Online Resources

New Testament Gateway

An award winning web directory of internet resources on the New Testament. Browse or search annotated links on everything connected with the academic study of the New Testament and Christian Origins

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/ntgateway

Resource Pages for Biblical Studies

Devoted to the social world of early Christianity.  If you’ve ever wanted to know about Qumran, Pseudepigrapha or Apocrypha, this is a good place to start.

http://www.torreys.org/bible/

Bible Research

A site for Bible students who are looking for detailed information on the
history of the canon, texts, and versions of Scripture.  Ancient Greek and Hebrew texts and more online.

http://www.bible-researcher.com/index.html

Gnostic Society Library

An excellent collection of primary and secondary documents relating to the Gnostic tradition.

http://www.gnosis.org/library.html

Perseus Project

An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities and includes hundreds of classical texts and tools for translation. A full translation and interactive parsing function with a dictionary is automatic with many texts!

http://old.perseus.tufts.edu/PerseusInfo.html

Perseus Project (Reference)

The library also provides an abundant selection of Greek, Hebrew and Latin linguistic reference resources and translation tools.

http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cgi-bin/perscoll

Basic biblical research tool

Lexicons, dictionaries and concordances.

http://bible.crosswalk.com/Concordances/

iTanakh - Resources for Academic Study

A guide to languages, texts, historical context and research methodology dealing with the ancient near east.

http://itanakh.org

ETANA

A website that provides a portal to ancient Near Eastern web resources, including archaeological excavation reports, editions of ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain.

http://www.etana.org/

 

 

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook