Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Religion Reference Sources Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Document Actions

Religion

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

General

 

Credo Reference

A great place to start your research.  It combines major reference works from over 70 publishers in one easy to online search, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographies.

 

Dictionary of Theology

Everything from A.D. to Zodiac is covered in this interesting and useful resource.

http://www.carm.org/dictionary.htm

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society

This encyclopedia marks a unique venture in that it attempts to bring together in a single-volume compendium a state-of-the-art summary of the insights gained by the principal social sciences of religion: anthropology, psychology, and sociology.

http://hirr.hartsem.edu/ency/index.html

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

This encyclopedia is a fully indexed data base full of information on philosophers and philosophies. 

http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/

Language Dictionaries and Translators

Provides a list of handy sources for translation and reference. 

http://www.word2word.com/dictionary.html

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The encyclopedia is an excellent source of free quality articles from a variety of institutions.

http://plato.stanford.edu/

American Religion Resources

Divining America: Religion and the National Culture

This excellent site covers religion in America in the 17th, 18th 19th and 20th century. 

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/divam

Biblical Resources

New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge

This encyclopedia provides an extensive list and discussion of just about every conceivable place or name recorded in the both the Hebrew Scriptures and New Testament. 

http://www.ccel.org/s/schaff/encyc/encyc13/htm/TOC.htm

Postmodern Bible Dictionary

This dictionary provides definitions and short articles with pictures of people, places and technical terms from biblical study

http://www.bible.gen.nz/dictionary.htm

Christian Resources

Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online

This resource provides reliable information on Anabaptist-related (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ) topics

http://www.gameo.org/

New Advent

Contains numerous translations of the writings of early church figures, the first edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia, Thomas Aquinas' Summa, and number of official Roman Catholic documents.

http://newadvent.org

World Wide Encyclopedia of Christianity

An encyclopedia that allows users to browse or search by subject, author, book, or scripture.

http://www.ccel.org/php/wwec.php

Classical Resources

Encyclopedia Mythica

Enter the award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.

http://www.pantheon.org/

Perseus Digital Library

A serious tool for the student of classics or religion.  It is comprised of Greek and Latin texts that are fully interactive.  

http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

Jewish Resources

Jewish Encyclopedia

“The only free Jewish encyclopedia on the Internet.”

http://www.jewishencyclopedia.com/index.jsp

 

Related content
This page is maintained by Beth Avery last modified Wednesday, November 30, 2011. 11:36 AM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Beth Avery

Contact Info

Willis Library 155
Univ. of North Texas
Denton, TX 76203
Voice: 940-565-2762
beth.avery@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook