Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Religion Reference Sources
Document Actions

Reference Sources

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Reference books are valuable for gaining an understanding of a subject. Reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and atlases are helpful for gaining an overview of a subject. 

Many reference guides also give suggestions for important works within a subject areas, or places to find additional information. One such guide is the Credo Reference.   You may do a search on that page for information in reference books available online.  The Gale Virtual Reference Library is another good place to start gathering information. 

 

General Religion Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Millennialism and Millennial Movements

Encyclopedia has articles on various religious end-times movements.

Remote Storage, BT891.E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Religion

16 volumes. General reference work on various religions.

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BL 31.E46 1995

Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature

Two volumes.  Discusses various religious understandings of nature.

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BL31.E53 2005.

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society

This encyclopedia contains articles on past and present world religious leaders and scholars. This volume is an essential reference for anthropology, psychology, politics, or sociology of religion.

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BL 60.E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion

Contains articles on important women and the contribution of women within various religious traditions

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BL458. E53 1999.

Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

Contains articles on world religions.

UNT Online Resource

World Religions

This volume contains the essential articles from the Encyclopedia of Religion. It is a handy desk reference, and the articles reflect the global and multidisciplinary nature of the full Encyclopedia of Religion. Includes a full index and bibliographies.

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BL 31.W67 1998

American Religion Reference

Contemporary American Religion

Two volumes.  Articles on movements and figures in contemporary America

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BL2525.C65 2000

Encyclopedia of African American Religions

Articles on various aspects of religion among African Americans

Remote Storage, BR563.N4 E53 1993

Encyclopedia of American Religion and Politics

Has articles on the influence of religion on American politics.

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BL2525.D58 2003

Encyclopedia of American Religions

Articles on religion in America and religious movements that began in America

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BL2525.M449 2009 and Gale Virtual Reference

Encyclopedia of American Religious History

Two volumes.  Has articles of the history of religion in America.

Willis Library, first floor reference, BL2525.Q44 2001.

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions

Articles on Native American religious traditions

Willis Library, first floor reference, E98.R3 H72 2000

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism

Articles on the religious ceremonies of Native Americans

Willis Library, first floor reference, E98.M4 L98 1998

Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics.

Articles discussing the effects of religion on American politics

Remote Storage, BL2525.E52 1999

Encyclopedia of Religion in the South

Articles discussing religious movements and figures in the American South

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BR535.E52 1984

Encyclopedic Handbook of Cults in America

Articles on cult movements in America

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BL2525.M45 1986

New Historical Atlas of Religion in America

An atlas showing changes and places of American religious movements

Willis Library, first floor reference, G1201.E4 2001

Buddhist Reference Sources

Buddhist Scriptures: A Bibliography

A bibliography containing information on translations of important Buddhist writings and historical information

Willis Library, 4th floor, Z7862.C66 1982

Encyclopedia of Buddhism

Reference work on Buddhism.

Willis Library, Second Floor, BQ128 .E62 2004

Guide to Buddhist Philosophy

Reference work on Buddhist philosophy

Remote Storage, Z7128.B93 I53 1985

Popular Dictionary of Buddhism

Dictionary reference on Buddhism

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BQ130.H85 1997

Sacred Books of the East

Various volumes that contain sacred writing of various Eastern religions

Various locations and call numbers

Christian Reference Sources

Anchor Bible Dictionary

Six volumes.  Dictionary on various topics within the Bible

Willis Library, first floor reference, BS440.A54 1992

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity

Two volumes.  Articles on Early Christian figures and movements

Remote Storage, BR162.2 E53 1997

Encyclopedia of the Early Church

Discusses various church figures and movements within the early church

Remote Storage, BR66.5.D5813 1992

Macmilllan Bible Atlas

Atlas of the Biblical world

Willis Library, 2nd floor, G2230.A2 1993

New Catholic Encyclopedia

19 volumes. A comprehensive reference work on Catholic doctrine, liturgy, history, and art.

Willis Library, Second Floor, BX 841 .N44 1967 (also available freely online)

New Interpreters Dictionary of the Bible

Five volumes.  Multi-volume Bible dictionary.

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BS440.N445 2006

The Oxford Companion to the Bible

Contains articles regarding the formation, transmission, circulation, sociohistorical situation, interpretation, theology, uses, and influence of the Bible. Focuses on the influence of the Bible on various areas of society, rather than means of understanding it.

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BS440 .M434 1993 (also available online)

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church

A dictionary of the Christian church's doctrines, practices, and most influential historical figures.

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BR95 .O8 1997

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation

Four volumes.  Articles on the figures and philosophy of the Reformation

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BR302.8.O93 1996

Hinduism Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Hinduism

Contains articles about Hinduism

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BL1105.J562007

Encyclopedia of Hinduism

Concise encyclopedia about Hinduism

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BL1105.E53 2008

The Hindu World: An Encyclopedic Survey of Hinduism

Two volumes.  Encyclopedia on Hinduism

Willis Library, 2nd floor: BL1105.W34 1968

Sacred Books of the East

Various volumes that contain sacred writing of various Eastern religions

Various locations and call numbers

Islam Specific Resources

Al-Qur'an: A Contemporary Translation

Translation of the Qu'ran

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BP109.A398 2001

The Encyclopedia of Islam

Three volumes.  Encyclopedia about Islam

Willis Library, 2nd floor, DS37.E523 2007

 
 

Encyclopedia of Islam

Concise encyclopedia regarding Islam

DS35.53.C36 2009

Islamic Desk Reference

Condensed version of the three volume Encyclopedia of Islam

UNT Online Resources

Judaism Reference Sources

Cambridge History of Judaism

Four volume history of Judaism

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BM155.2.C35 1984

Contemporary Jewish Religious Thought

Articles on concepts, movements, and beliefs in Modern Judaism

Willis Library, 2nd floor, BM50.C64 1987

 
 

Encyclopaedia Judaica

Encyclopedia of Jewish culture, scholarship, history, and religion. 22 volumes.

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, DS 102.8 .E496 2007

The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion

This dictionary contains articles and biographies related to the Jewish religion and interfaith relations.

Willis Library, First Floor Reference, BM50 .O94 1997 (also available online)




 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

General

 

Credo Reference

A great place to start your research.  It combines major reference works from over 70 publishers in one easy to online search, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographies.

 

Dictionary of Theology

Everything from A.D. to Zodiac is covered in this interesting and useful resource.

http://www.carm.org/dictionary.htm

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society

This encyclopedia marks a unique venture in that it attempts to bring together in a single-volume compendium a state-of-the-art summary of the insights gained by the principal social sciences of religion: anthropology, psychology, and sociology.

http://hirr.hartsem.edu/ency/index.html

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

This encyclopedia is a fully indexed data base full of information on philosophers and philosophies. 

http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/

Language Dictionaries and Translators

Provides a list of handy sources for translation and reference. 

http://www.word2word.com/dictionary.html

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The encyclopedia is an excellent source of free quality articles from a variety of institutions.

http://plato.stanford.edu/

American Religion Resources

Divining America: Religion and the National Culture

This excellent site covers religion in America in the 17th, 18th 19th and 20th century. 

http://purl.oclc.org/ATSRW/divam

Biblical Resources

New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge

This encyclopedia provides an extensive list and discussion of just about every conceivable place or name recorded in the both the Hebrew Scriptures and New Testament. 

http://www.ccel.org/s/schaff/encyc/encyc13/htm/TOC.htm

Postmodern Bible Dictionary

This dictionary provides definitions and short articles with pictures of people, places and technical terms from biblical study

http://www.bible.gen.nz/dictionary.htm

Christian Resources

Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online

This resource provides reliable information on Anabaptist-related (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ) topics

http://www.gameo.org/

New Advent

Contains numerous translations of the writings of early church figures, the first edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia, Thomas Aquinas' Summa, and number of official Roman Catholic documents.

http://newadvent.org

World Wide Encyclopedia of Christianity

An encyclopedia that allows users to browse or search by subject, author, book, or scripture.

http://www.ccel.org/php/wwec.php

Classical Resources

Encyclopedia Mythica

Enter the award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.

http://www.pantheon.org/

Perseus Digital Library

A serious tool for the student of classics or religion.  It is comprised of Greek and Latin texts that are fully interactive.  

http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

Jewish Resources

Jewish Encyclopedia

“The only free Jewish encyclopedia on the Internet.”

http://www.jewishencyclopedia.com/index.jsp

 

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook