Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Religion Articles
Document Actions

Articles

How to Find Articles

Keyboard Help

So you have a research topic but you don't know where to start?  Check out the following links to get familiar with searching for articles.  Once you are familiar with the general search options available, check out the Electronic Resources Page to find a specific database. I've listed some recommended databases that are accessible here or by clicking on the pages under the Articles tab called Major Databases and Major Journal Titles.

Don't forget to use the UNT Libraries' iSearch (at the right) to find articles from multiple databases at the same time.

If you find that article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Everything is not available electronically.  With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog.  Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy.  If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.

Searching for Articles

Where's My Database?

Major Journal Titles

 

Religious Studies CoverReligious Studies

Religious Studies is an international journal devoted to the problems of the philosophy of religion as they arise out of classical and contemporary discussions and from varied religious traditions. More than 25 articles are published each year, and the journal also contains an extensive book review section.

Available in print and electronically

 

 

Method and Theory ReligionMethod & Theory in the Study of Religion

Method & Theory in the Study of Religion publishes articles, notes, book reviews and letters which explicitly address the problems of methodology and theory in the academic study of religion.   

Available electronically

 

 

 

Journal of the AARJournal of the American Academy of Religion

The Journal of the American Academy of Religion is the journal of America's oldest scholarly organization dedicated to the study of religion.  This journal covers all of the major world religions and well as new religious movements.  Excellent book reviews.

 

 

 

 

For additional journals available through UNT Libraries, try a journal title search in the online catalog

 

 

 

Major Databases

Don't Know where to Begin?


Click here for the full screen version.

To find articles simply and easily, consider starting your search with Academic Search Complete.  Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, coverage dating back to 1975.  Click the video tutorial to the right or see here for additional information on basic searching.  Additional tutorials, including how to search databases effectively and tips and tricks for accessing databases off campus are also available.  You can also download an Academic Search tutorial to your iPod!

 

The ATLA Religion Database is the premier database for religion related articles.  This database contains articles on all aspects of religion and religious experience.  Note the Scripture index which provides a quick way of searching the Jewish and Christian scriptures.

The Religion and Philosophy Collection, also available through Ebscohost, includes articles on world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.  Helpful links: Basic and Advanced Searching,

For those studying religion or philosophy, the Philosopher's Index is an informative resource with well-written abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews in all areas of philosophy. it is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines such as education, history, law, religion and science.

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook