Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Public Administration Articles Electronic Abstracts and Indexes
Document Actions

Public Administration

Electronic Abstracts and Indexes

Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty.  Use your EUID and Login. Access for guests is on-campus only.

Top electronic databases:

Social Sciences Abstracts via Ebscohost

Social Sciences Abstracts via Ebscohost is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include: addiction studies, anthropology, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontolgy, international relations, law, minority studies, planning, and public administration.) Coverage is February 1983 to present.


PAIS International

The Public Affairs Information Service, or PAIS International, is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, and reports from all over the world. Coverage is 1972 to present.

For archive (including the the full content of the PAIS Bulletin, 1915-1976), see PAIS Archive 


CQ Press

This gateway provides access to the CQ Researcher, a source for basic information on a variety of topics, and the CQ Weekly, which provides up-to-date information on the U.S. Congress and its' activities.

ABI Inform
ABI/INFORM GLOBAL via Proquest offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and
management areas. Search by publication, keyword, topic or use a guided search with boolean operators to find articles of interest. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. Coverage is 1971 to present. NOTE: If you are unable to view results beyond the first page, Click on Tools-Internet Options--Delete Files. Click Settings to be sure "Automatically"" is checked.


More Databases:

Sage public administration abstracts

SAGE Public Administration Abstracts provides cross-indexed abstracts covering recent literature (and related citations) on all aspects of public administration. Entries are drawn from books, articles, pamphlets, government publications, significant speeches, legislative research studies and other fugitive material.

America: History and Life

America: History and Life provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book/media reviews and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the United States and Canada. Writings in over 40 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and ProjectMuse are available from some abstracts. Coverage begins with 1954.

ArticleFirst via FirstSearch

ArticleFirst via FirstSearch (Article First via First Search) indexes articles from over 12,500 journals in science, technology, business, medicine, social science, humanities, and popular culture. Permits delivery of bibliographic information to any e-mail address.

Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts)

Dissertation Abstracts (new name: Digital Dissertations via Proquest) includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. To overcome problems getting beyond 1st page of results, click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click Settings to make sure "Automatically"" is checked. "

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book titles and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. Writings in over 50 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and ProjectMuse are available from some abstracts. Indexes publications from 1954 to the present.

MarciveWeb DOCS

MarciveWeb DOCS (Marcive Web) is a database of library catalog records for U.S. government publications distributed to depository libraries nationwide. Many records in this database contain links allowing patrons to access online versions of government documents, including titles not housed in the UNT Libraries' collection.

Readers Guide Abstracts via Ebscohost

Readers' Guide Abstracts via EbscoHost contains indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications. Subject coverage includes art, business, education, entertainment, fashion, health & medicine, history, politics, religion, sports & fitness, travel and much more. Coverage is 1983 to the present.

Research library (Periodical Abstracts Research II)

Research Library via ProQuest (formerly Periodical Abstracts Research II) provides abstracts, indexing, and full text articles from academic journals and magazines. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. If search results do not show beyond first page, you should click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click on Settings to make sure "Automatically"" is checked. "

Sage urban studies abstracts

Sage Urban Studies Abstracts publishes cross-indexed abstracts of important recent literature (plus related citations) on all aspects of urban studies.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts (formerly known as Sociofile) provides a gateway to both the theoretical and applied areas of sociology. The database contains information from approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage begins with 1963.

Web of Science

Web of Science service provides web access to the following citation indexes from 1995 to the present: Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. These resources enable the user to identify related writings (periodical articles, reviews, etc.) by indicating sources in which a known article by a given author has been cited. The older indexes are available from the Electronic Resources page by their titles. This resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users.

WorldCat via FirstSearch

WorldCat via FirstSearch is the OCLC Online Union Catalog and contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by your library or libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters. Funded through TexShare.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts via CSA

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a database that contains citations to materials from public affairs magazines, major news magazines, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis. Areas covered include foreign politics as well as U.S. politics. Coverage is 1975 to present.

Government Agency Resources

Catalog of U.S. government publications

Finding tool for federal government publications.

GPO Access

United States Government Printing Office portal.

GPO Monthly Catalog via FirstSearch

GPO Monthly Catalog via FirstSearch (GPO Monthly Catalog via First Search) contains over 380,000 bibliographic records describing federal government information products available through the U.S. Federal Depository Library Program.

Monthly catalog of United States government publications

Contains bibliographic records describing federal government information products available through the U.S. Federal Depository Library Program.

Thomas

Legislative information from the Library of Congress.

LexisNexis Academic

Includes News, Business, and Legal Research sections. Business information includes financial statements, accounting, taxation, industries, international business, information systems. Legal Research includes law reviews, case law, codes, and statutes for all U.S. courts and all 50 states. Start here when looking for Supreme Court decisions and Texas Cases.

LexisNexis Congressional

Includes information on bills, laws, regulations, Congressional publications, and more. It includes information on current and previous Members of Congress, including campaign finance information, financial disclosures, voting records, and committee membership. The full text of some Congressional reports, documents, and testimony is also available.

* See also CQ Press listed in Top Electronic Databases

Citrix Based:

SIRS Researcher

SIRS Researcher contains full-text articles from 1,200 newspapers, journals, and government publications dealing with social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues. CD-based using Citrix

Social Sciences Citation Index

Social Sciences Citation Index, 1981-1994, indexes 1400 major social science journals covering a range of over 50 social science disciplines. Allows the user to search cited references in order to find articles that have cited a particular author, publication, or patent. CD-based using Citrix. Consult Web of Science for 1995 to the present.

 

This page is maintained by Julie Leuzinger last modified Friday, January 07, 2011. 04:51 PM
Contributors: Catherine Sassen, Emily Billings
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook