Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Psychology Articles Electronic Resources
Document Actions

Psychology

Electronic Resources

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, coverage dating back to 1975. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.

ERIC via FirstSearch

(FirstSearch version) Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals.

ERIC via EBSCOhost

(EBSCOhost version) Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals.

ERIC via CSA

(CSA version) Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals.

Eric Web Portal

Free public access to ERIC

MEDLINE - PubMed

Medline-PubMed, (Medline - Pub Med, Medline - PubMed, Med Line) maintained by the National Library of Medicine, provides abstracts for journal articles covering the broad realm of biomedical literature covered in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and HEALTHSTAR and through publisher-supplied citations. Daily updating of records. Search terms automatically use MESH headings as well as keyword searching. Free database with no restrictions to access.

MEDLINE via EBSCOhost

MEDLINE via EBSCOhost (Med Line) provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses (MeSH) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE and HealthSTAR. A TexShare database.

NLM Gateway

A gateway to medical resources, the NLM Gateway allows you to search several databases at the same time. The databases searchable through the NLM Gateway are MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, Health Services Research Meetings, Space Life Sciences Meetings, and HSRProj. The databases index books, journal articles, conference proceedings, health topics, drug information, and research projects in progress. Some full-text is included.

PsycInfo via Ebscohost

Created and maintained by the American Psychological Association. PsycInfo offers indexing to over 1300 journals in psychological fields extending back to 1872. No full text is available through the database; check the UNT Library Catalog for journals held at UNT. Do a Title or Journal Title search for the journal title. The record will show what copies the Libraries have, and if there is electronic access.

PsycARTICLES via Ebscohost

Full text database covering over 50 journals from the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrege and Huber. Full text coverage from 1987 to present.

Social Services Abstracts

This database contains abstracts and indexes from over 1,300 serials publications. Includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, also citations to book reviews. Topics covered: community and mental health services, crisis intervention, family and social welfare, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, social and health policy, social work services, social work education and practice, support groups, violence, abuse, and neglect. Coverage is from 1979 to present, with monthly updates.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides full text access to over 1800 journals from Elsevier and Academic Press, representing all areas of science, medicine, and technology, as well as inter-disciplinary titles. Coverage is from 1995 to current, but some titles in physics, chemistry, and mathematics begin with volume 1, regardless of the year.

Other potentially useful resources

Other potentially useful databases and journal sources are:
AgeLine,  Biosis Previews,  Business Source CompleteComIndexComAbstractsCriminal Justice Abstracts,  First Search (ECO, Article First, Proceedings First),  Guilford PublicationsHealth and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), 

HaPI is limited to 10 users at a time

Human Resources AbstractsJSTORLEA-OnlineLexis-NexisLink (Springer)Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, 

MMY is limited to 4 users at a time 

NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service),  Project MuseProquestSport Discus, Wiley online Library  and  Web of Science. A resource worth trying for non-current and sometimes slightly obscure journals is http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Wednesday, November 16, 2011. 02:33 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook