Articles
Statistics
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts via CSA
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a database that contains citations to materials from public affairs magazines, major news magazines, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis. Areas covered include foreign politics as well as U.S. politics. Coverage is 1975 to present.
American FactFinder
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970 (Census)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Census)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
County City Data Book (Census)
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book (Census)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/smadb/
Kids Count Data Book (Annie E. Casey Foundation)
http://www.aecf.org/MajorInitiatives/KIDSCOUNT.aspx
Condition of Education (Education)
http://nces.ed.gov/programs/coe/
Digest of Education Statistics (Education)
http://nces.ed.gov/programs/digest/
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (Justice)
http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/
Crime in the United States (Justice)
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm
Health, United States (Health)
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm
Lexis Nexis Statistical
UNT Electronic Resources (LexisNexis Statistical)Contains thousands of national and international statistical documents and data.
How to Find Articles

So you have a research topic but you don't know where to start? Check out the following links to get familiar with searching for articles. Once you are familiar with the general search options available, check out the Electronic Resources Page to find a specific database. I've listed some recommended databases that are accessible here or by clicking on the pages under the Articles tab called Major Databases and Major Journal Titles.
Don't forget to use the UNT Libraries' iSearch (at the right) to find articles from multiple databases at the same time.
If you find that article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Everything is not available electronically. With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog. Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy. If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.
Searching for Articles
Where's My Database?
Major Databases
If you are looking for articles, one of the first databases you should check is CQ Press. This gateway provides access to the CQ Researcher, a source for basic information on a variety of topics, and the CQ Weekly, which provides up-to-date information on the U.S. Congress and its activities, and CQ Voting and Elections. All three are good databases to use.
Keesing Record of World Events, a favorite among faculty, is a monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic, and economic affairs from all regions of the world.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts via CSA, contains citations to materials from public affairs magazines, major news magazines, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis. Includes foreign politics as well as U.S. politics.
Lexis Nexis Academic includes national and international news, business, and legal research documents, including financial statements, corporate profiles, as well as U.S. state and federal codes and statutes.
Providing full text access to news, business, and legal resources, Campus Research also provides access to West's legal citation research service, KeyCite, and the Texas Annotated Code.
Academic Search Complete, a multidisciplinary database, offers a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.
Proquest Political Science Journals includes articles from leading political science journals, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
iPoll contains data from over 70 years of U.S. national public opinion surveys in a variety of topics.
CQ Political Reference Suite integrates numerous CQ Press resources on government and politics into one electronic format, including detailed information on U.S. politics, politicians, elections, and the U.S. government.
Documents of Interest
Public Papers of the Presidents (National Archives and Records)
American Presidency Project
http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/
The World Factbook (President / CIA)
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/
Country Studies
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Foreign Relations
http://www.state.gov/www/about_state/history/frus.html
Historical volumes available from the University of Wisconsin
http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/FRUS/
USDA National Nutrient Database
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/search/
Serial Set
UNT Electronic Resources (Lexis Nexis Congressional)
CIA Maps
PREX 3.10/4: (Map Reserve-3rd floor Government Documents Service Desk)
Email Alerting Service
EbscoHost
EbscoHost offers an email alerting service. This means that EbscoHost will send you an e-mail when new content in the resource matches your saved search, table of contents or citation criteria. You will need to register with EbscoHost to take advantage of this service.
Registration: To sign up for My EbscoHost, enter any of the EbscoHost research databases. At the top left of the Basic Search or Advanced Search page, select the Sign In to My EbscoHost link. Next select the link, I'm a New User, to register.
Journal Alerts: Receive alerts when new issues of the journals of your choice are posted in EbscoHost. You must be logged into My EbscoHost to save your journal alerts. Select the green Publications tab at the top of the database screen. Browse for a journal title and select the title link. On the journal screen, select the Journal Alert link at the top right of the Publications panel. Fill out the Journal Alert form with your preferences.
Search Alerts: Receive alerts on a daily, weekly, biweekly or monthly basis when new content matches your saved searches. You must be logged into My EbscoHost to establish search alerts. Enter Advanced Search and submit your search terms. Now select the Search History/Alerts tab from the panels at the bottom of the database screen. Choose the Saved Searches/Alerts link from the top of the Search History/Alerts panel. On the Saved Search/Alert form, enter your specifications from the search alert, which will be saved in My Folder.