Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Physics Reference Sources Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Document Actions

Physics

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

The UNT Libraries has a number of excellent dictionaries, handbooks, and encyclopedias. The easiest way to search for these if you don't have a title or author is to use the Keyword search and do a general search such as "physics and dictionary". You can use more specific search terms also, such as "particle physics", "nuclear physics" etc. If you don't get a result, try broadening your search back to "physics".

Most newer items will be in the Eagle Commons Library Reference Collection and have a "LIB USE ONLY" status which means they need to be used in the library. However, there are often older editions of items in the circulating stacks and these can be borrowed. If you find one in the circulating stacks that is still labeled as "library use only", please take it to a Reference Desk to see if the status can be changed.

A few items are presented below to get you started.

A dictionary of physics. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2005. Online.

The facts on file dictionary of physics. New York : Facts On File, c2005. Eagle Commons Reference QC5.F34 2005 LIB USE ONLY

Encyclopedia of physics / edited by Rita G. Lerner and George L. Trigg. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2005. Eagle Commons Reference   QC5.545 2005 v.1, v.2 LIB USE ONLY

Encyclopedia of physics / Joe Rosen. Rosen, Joe, 1937- New York : Facts on File, c2004. Eagle Commons Reference QC5.R596 2004

Langenscheidt Routledge German dictionary of physics = Wörterbuch Physik Englisch. German-English = Sube, Ralf. London ; New York : Routledge, 2001 Eagle Commons Reference QC5.S83 2001 v.1    LIB USE ONLY

Dictionary of physics : in four languages, Russian, English, German, and French / compiled by V.J. [ Rydnik, Vitaliĭ Isaakovich. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1989.  Eagle Commons Reference QC5.R93 1989 LIB USE ONLY

Dictionary of geophysics, astrophysics, and astronomy / edited by Richard A. Matzner. Boca Raton : CRC Press, c2001.   Eagle Commons Reference  QB14.D53 2001 LIB USE ONLY

Q is for quantum : an encyclopedia of particle physics / John Gribbin ; edited by Mary Gribbin ; il Gribbin, John R. New York, NY : Free Press, c1998.  Eagle Commons Reference QC793.2.G747 1998 LIB USE ONLY

McGraw-Hill dictionary of physics / Sybil P. Parker, editor in chief. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1997.  Eagle Commons Reference QC5.M424 1997 LIB USE ONLY

Physically speaking : a dictionary of quotations on physics and astronomy / selected and arranged by Bristol, UK ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub., c1997.  Eagle Commons Reference QC5.P47 1997 LIB USE ONLY

The visual dictionary of physics / written by Jack Challoner. Challoner, Jack. London ; New York : Dorling Kindersley ; Boston : Distributed by Houghton Mifflin Co., 1995. WILLIS LL JUVENILE COLL  J530 C437v

Dictionary of effects and phenomena in physics : descriptions, applications, tables / Joachim Schube  Weinheim (Federal Republic of Germany) ; New York, NY, (USA) : VCH, c1987.  Eagle Commons Reference QC5.S3513 1987 LIB USE ONLY


The Oxford handbook of metaphysics / edited by Michael J. Loux and Dean W. Zimmerman.

Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.  Willis Library 2nd Floor BD111.O94

Handbook of molecular physics and quantum chemistry / editor-in-chief, Stephen Wilson. Chichester : Wiley, c2003. Eagle Commons Reference QD461.H25 2003 v.1, v.2, v.3    LIB USE ONLY         

Handbook of physics / Walter Benenson ... [et al.]. New York : Springer, c2002. Eagle Commons Reference QC61.H33 2002 LIB USE ONLY

The Cambridge handbook of physics formulas / Graham Woan. Woan, Graham, 1963- Cambridge, U.K. ; New York, N.Y. : Cambridge University Press, 2000. Eagle Commons Reference QC61.W67 2000 LIB USE ONLY


Handbook of accelerator physics and engineering [electronic resource] / edited by Alexander Wu Chao,
Singapore ; River Edge, N.J. : World Scientific, 1999. Online

The physics handbook : fundamentals and key equations / Charles P. Poole, Jr. New York : John Wiley, c1998.  Eagle Commons Reference QC61.P65 1998 LIB USE ONLY

Handbook of physical quantities / edited by Igor S. Grigoriev and Evgenii Z. Meilikhov. Boca Raton : CRC Press, c1997.  Eagle Commons Reference  QC61.H36 1997 LIB USE ONLY

Handbook of nuclear properties / edited by Dorin Peonaru and Walter Greiner.

Oxford : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1996. Eagle Commons Library QC783.H36 1996

Encyclopedia of the solar system / editors, Lucy-Ann McFadden, Paul R. Weissman and Torrence V. John Amsterdam ; Boston : Academic, 2007. Eagle Commons Reference  QB501.E53 2007 LIB USE ONLY

Encyclopedia of physics / edited by Rita G. Lerner and George L. Trigg.

Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2005.  Eagle Commons Reference QC5.E545 2005 v.1, v.2 LIB USE ONLY

Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics / editor-in-chief Paul Murdin.

Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub. ; London ; New York : Nature Pub. Group, 2001. Eagle Commons Reference QB14.E534 v.1, v.2, v.3, v4 LIB USE ONLY

 

Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry / edited by John H. Moore and Nicholas D. Sp Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub., c2001. Eagle Commons Reference QD451.E539 2001 v.1, v.2, v.3 LIB USE ONLY

Q is for quantum : an encyclopedia of particle physics / John Gribbin ; edited by Mary Gribbin. New York, NY : Free Press, c1998. Eagle Commons Reference QC793.2 .G747 1998  LIB USE ONLY
This page is maintained by Beth Thomsett-Scott last modified Tuesday, July 26, 2011. 05:54 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook