Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Photography Articles
Document Actions

Articles

Databases for Photography Journal Articles

Photography Databases for Journal Articles

Use the following databases to search for journal articles on photography and photographers.  Many contemporary photographers do not have books published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals. If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).

*How to Search the Databases to Find Journal Articles

Once inside the database, search the photographer's name in the order of last name, first name. Ex.: Goldin, Nan

*If you don't find the full-text of the journal article at the top level in your results; be sure to click the the Find Full-Text link in the journal article record to find more sources for the full-text of the article you need.

Art & Architecture Complete 1984-present

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) 1973-present

ARTBibliographies Modern 1984-present

Design and Applied Arts Index
This is a great database for entries on photographers and designers.

Grove Art On-line
This database does not have journal articles, but extensive art encyclopedia entries.  It is a great place to get a quick bio on a photographer or a summary of a photographic movement, or photographic technique.

Photography Journals

Contemporary Photography Journals for Professional Photographers

*Located in the Eagle Commons Library.  The most current issues are on the first floor. Older volumes are in the lower level of the Eagle Commons Library.

The journals are alphabetized by the name of the journal on both floors.

Bomb

1998 -*located in Willis Library

Aperture

1971-

Foto Magazine

1982-

Graphics Photo

1988-

American Cinematographer

1973 -

Blind Spot Photography

1997-

History of Photography

1977-

Popular Photography

1940-1951; 1955-

Texas Professional Photographer

1972-

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Rebecca

Contact Info

Research & Instructional Services,
Willis Library, RM155, University of North Texas

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook