Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Philosophy Reference Sources General Sources
Document Actions

Philosophy

General Sources

Credo Reference

Credo is a great place to start your research.  It combines major reference works from over 70 publishers in one easy to online search, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographies.

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • A Dictionary of Continental Philosophy
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
  • Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth Century Philosophers
  • Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
  • Dictionary of Philosophy
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 vol)

Directory of American Philosophers

Overview of philosophical activity in the U.S. and Canada. Published every two years. Contains contacts, websites, and other information for individuals and departments. Companion volume to the International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers.Willis Library, First Floor Reference, B935 .D5 (current year; earlier editions are on Willis Second Floor)

URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1130594

Only Available to UNT students, staff and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers

A directory of philosophy and major international figures within the discipline. Companion volume to the Directory of American Philosophers.Willis Library, First Floor Reference, B 35 .I55 (current year; earlier editions are on Willis Second Floor)

URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1005863

Only Available to UNT students, staff and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only

 

A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names

This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy.

http://www.philosophypages.com/dy/index.htm

 

This page is maintained by Beth Avery last modified Wednesday, November 30, 2011. 11:29 AM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Beth Avery

Contact Info

Willis Library 155
Univ. of North Texas
Denton, TX 76203
Voice: 940-565-2762
beth.avery@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook