Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Philosophy Articles Philosophy Databases and Indexes
Document Actions

Philosophy

Philosophy Databases and Indexes

Top 5 databases

Top 5 databases and Other databases to find articles listed or in full text

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Religion & Philosophy Collection. Includes almost 300 full-text journals Dates of Coverage: 1975 - current Help Links: EBSCOhost TutorialsThis database includes articles on world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy
* Try pairing with Academic Search Complete

TIP:  Pair with other EBSCOhost databases via "Choose Databases" link above search box

Philosopher's Index via CSA

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. The full-text of journals is provided for each title beginning with Volume 1. Recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and the publishers. Some titles may be from 2 to 5 years behind current publishing. Journals may be browsed or searched.

Article First via First Search

ArticleFirst via FirstSearch (Article First via First Search) indexes articles from over 12,500 journals in science, technology, business, medicine, social science, humanities, and popular culture. Permits delivery of bibliographic information to any e-mail address.

Sage Journals Online

The SAGE Journals Online database indexes over 220 journals from ten different Full-Text Collections. The SAGE Full-Text Collections include Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. The UNT Libraries provides full-text access to approximately 165 of the available journals in the Full-Text Collections. Articles and journals not available online can be requested through Interlibrary Loan or purchased from SAGE.

 

Other Databases

ProceedingsFirst via FirstSearch

ProceedingsFirst via FirstSearch (Proceedings First via First Search ) cites over 19,000 articles published in printed reports of congresses, conferences, etc. received by the British Library; international in scope.

Current Studies in Phenomenology and Hermeneutics

Philosophy journal published by the Foundation for Applied Phenomenology and Life-World Studies, and the UNT Department of Philosophy and Religion Studies. http://www.unt.edu/csph/oldindex.html

PhilSci-Archive

PhilSci-Archive is an electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.

Periodical Indexes (in Print)

Most print indexes are in remote storage. Please fill out Library Delivery Request form to have it delivered within 24 hours.

     This links to a list of electronic databases that are related to Philosophy. You many search these databases to find print and/or online articles. 

    http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ais.cfm?spec=142

    This page is maintained by Beth Avery last modified Wednesday, February 08, 2012. 11:02 AM
    Info

    The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

    Looking for journal articles? 

    Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

    Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

     

    Beth Avery

    Contact Info

    Willis Library 155
    Univ. of North Texas
    Denton, TX 76203
    Voice: 940-565-2762
    beth.avery@unt.edu

    Email me!

    Other pages by me

    My subjects


    UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

    Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

    1155 Union Circle #305190
    Denton , TX 76203-5017
    (940) 565-2413

    Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

    Credits
    Government Information Connection
    The UNT Libraries are on Facebook