Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Music Websites Wired Music Education Page
Document Actions

Music

Wired Music Education Page

This page is intended to help you use various types of electronic resources for research in music education.

In many fields, including music education, research involves reading articles in scholarly journals. WARNING: You CANNOT search for articles in library online catalogs. You can use the online catalog to find out whether our library has a certain journal by doing a title search.

Finding the best articles for your research is a complicated process in any field of knowledge. For serious music research, there is no easy one-step way to achieve it. Also, please be aware that not all music journals are available electronically.

The best way to begin your search for articles is to search for ARTICLE CITATIONS in MUSIC-SPECIFIC electronic abstracting and indexing databases.  As far as we know, UNT subscribes to all that are currently available. GOOD NEWS: as of spring 2010, Music Index now links to many full-text resources through its new owner, EBSCOhost.  FURTHER GOOD NEWS: as of summer 2010, we are receiving RILM from EBSCOhost. This means that it also links to many full-text resources. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE ONLINE CATALOG TO ACCESS MOST OF OUR FULL-TEXT RESOURCES VERY EFFICIENTLY.  IF YOU WANT THE BEST ARTICLES, NOT THE ONES THAT ARE EASIEST TO GET, YOU MAY HAVE TO COME TO THE LIBRARY TO LOOK AT PRINT JOURNALS.   

WARNING: the databases listed below are NOT web sites that are free for all on the Internet. They are PRODUCTS for which our university buys subscriptions.  You must access them through the special hotlinks provided in the library catalog and on the library web pages.  Authorized UNT users are allowed to access all of our subscription databases remotely by providing EUIDs and passwords.

Use our music-specific databases to identify articles pertinent to your research.  The following list is in order of importance for music education:

Music Index
indexes hundreds of music periodicals from various countries; coverage: 1973-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

International Index to Music Periodicals
indexes and abstracts ca. 350 recent music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus music articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; also includes 130,000 retrospective citations back to 1874; coverage: 1874-present with quarterly updates

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  an international, abstracted bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines from music periodicals and other sources, with hundreds of thousands of entries; coverage: 1969-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.
_______________________________________________

OTHER IMPORTANT MUSIC RESOURCES

Grove Music Online

The electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

SUBSCRIPTION STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES:

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library allows UNT users to stream a wide variety of classical, jazz, new age, and world music. Please be sure to click on the red “Log Out” button on the upper right hand of the screen when you are finished using Naxos.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz include famous Jazz Legends and Historicals, new selected titles of other leading independent labels are added every month. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Classical Music Library

As its title indicates, this service focuses mainly on classical music, but there are a few jazz offerings.

DRAM - Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, one of DRAM's primary focuses is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. Currently DRAM's collection contains nearly 2,300 albums worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 15 independent labels, and we are continually working to add more content. The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records.

American Song
American Song will become the definitive source for American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music. Included are powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy The Chief Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, Ma Rainey, Mahalia Jackson, Alberta Hunter, Tampa Red, William Bunk Johnson, Duke Ellington, Sophie Tucker, Joe Turner, T-Bone Walker, Sarah Vaughn, Cripple Clarence Lofton, Big Joe Williams, Memphis Jug Band, Roosevelt Sykes, Dizzy Gillespie, Chicago River Kings, Muddy Waters, Skip James, Blind Willie McTell, Lonnie Johnson, Alberta Jones, Johnny Shines, Memphis Minnie, Arthur Big Boy Crudup, Little Brother Montgomery, Speckled Red, Edith Wilson, Earl Hines, Eddie Johnson, Bobby Bradford, Roscoe Mitchell, Wadada Leo Smith, and hundreds more.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Smithsonian Global Sound for Librariesᆴ includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. The collection is an outgrowth of the vision and work of Folkways Records founder Moses Asch, who created a veritable encyclopedia of the human experience of sound, releasing more than 2,000 albums between 1948 and 1986, including those by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger, and countless influential others.

_____________________________________
MULTI-DISCIPLINARY RESOURCES POSSIBLY USEFUL FOR MUSIC EDUCATION RESEARCH:

VERY IMPORTANT:
WorldCat 
A super online catalog of more than 35 million entries describing items owned by libraries around the world, with information on which libraries own the items; includes musical scores and sound recordings; does not include articles; use this resource to initiate inter-library loan requests for books and scores.  (Most libraries do not let sound recordings go out on inter-library loan.)

VERY IMPORTANT:
ERIC  premier national bibliographic database of education literature, consisting of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals

UNT RECEIVES ERIC FROM SEVERAL DIFFERENT PROVIDERS, BUT THE DATABASE IS THE SAME; TRY ALL OF THE INTERFACES AND SEE WHICH ONE YOU PREFER.  ALSO, IF ONE IS DOWN, OTHERS MAY BE WORKING:

ERIC (FirstSearch interface)

ERIC (EBSCOhost interface)

ERIC (CSA interface)


Academic Search Complete

Scholarly collection providing full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications; abstracts and indexing for nearly 4,150 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984. An EBSCOhost database coming to us via TexShare

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) 
bibliographic citations for doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide, with emphasis on U.S. schools; abstracts included from 1980 forward; for pre-1980 abstracts, see print version in General Reference

______________________________________

Education in Video
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available.

______________________________________
SITES ABOUT MUSIC EDUCATION AND EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION:

Texas Music Educators Association

Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills TEKS   from the Texas Education Agency

TExES/ExCET Home Page
site on the Texas Examination of Educator Standards and the Examination for the Certification of Educators in Texas, including online registration forms, information on preparing for the tests, and more

Association of Texas Small School Bands

http://www.uil.utexas.edu/music/pml.html    UIL Prescribed Music List from the University Interscholastic League based in Austin, Texas; includes band, orchestra, and vocal lists

Music Educators National Conference

American Orff-Schulwerk Association

Organization of American Kodály Educators

MESS:  Music Education Search System
A database for searching articles in music education journals

Music:Education links from Yahoo

Arts: Music: Education links from the Open Directory Project

Music Education from Indiana University's Worldwide Internet Music Resources

CAIRSS for Music
(Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System)
This database is especially helpful for music therapy topics.


 
 
Info
This page is maintained by Donna Arnold last modified Thursday, September 01, 2011. 11:45 AM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook