Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Music Websites Musical Genre Sites
Document Actions

Music

Musical Genre Sites

Opera Sites

Aria Database

searchable database of aria texts, MIDI files, and information on operas and roles

Classical Singer

a portal intended to be "the singer's source...for career and life," from the publishers of Classical Singer Magazine

Operabase

Opera schedules, houses, festivals, reviews, and more; available in many different languages

OperaGlass

large opera information site with selected composer information, libretti, synopses, and more

Opera Companies on the Web

hotlinks to opera companies all over the world, including those in small cities

 

Dallas Opera

promoting the current season

Fort Worth Opera

promoting the current season

Metropolitan Opera

from New York City, with a variety of information about the company

Santa Fe Opera

with their annual summer season in Santa Fe, New Mexico


Folk Music Sites
 

Digital Tradition Folk Song Database

a keyword-searchable database with lyrics and some MIDI files for thousands of folk songs, mainly from the English-Scots-Irish tradition

Richard Robinson's Tunebook

full-text scores of "Scots tunes, Irish tunes, Scandinavian, English, French, Balkan and more"

Dirty Linen Magazine

celebrating roots, traditional, folk, and world music; gig guide feature shows performance schedules of a large number of folk artists

Sing Out!

non-profit educational organization promoting "traditional and contemporary folk musics" and publishing Sing Out! Magazine

Clarence Ashley

site devoted to the legendary performer, maintained by his grandson Scott "Tom" Moore, with important links and biographical information

Old-Time Music Home Page

wide variety of information for performers and fans of old-time music, with a large collection of significant links

Jazz Sites

A Passion for Jazz

historical and stylistic overviews of jazz

Subject Research Guides: Jazz: Research (Rutgers University Libraries)

both online and print resources for university-level jazz research


Interesting Links

"Major Contributors to WWW Jazz Knowledge" from the important Michael Fitzgerald - Jazz Research site

Jazz Links

"Other Jazz Web Sites of Interest" from Noal Cohen's Jazz History Website 
 

Bluegrass Sites

Bluegrass music

informative article from Wikipedia with important links to further resources

 

Cybergrass

"The Internet Bluegrass Music News Magazine;" an in-depth source of news and information for performers, fans, and students of bluegrass

 

 

World Music Sites

World Music Archives
at Wesleyan University

Music: World Music Research Tips
from Western Michigan University Libraries, with advice about electronic and print resources

This page is maintained by Donna Arnold last modified Thursday, November 05, 2009. 01:34 PM
Info
iSearch

iSearch

Search multiple databases for articles, all from one location


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection