Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Music Websites
Document Actions

Websites

Musicology Research Sites

Online Resources for Music Scholars

from Harvard University 

Vast set of links from the University of Regensburg, Germany; free web resources and CD-ROM/DVD resources are included


Stanford Music Links
Includes varied topics such as copyright and performing rights organizations

Scholarly Societies Project - Music
from the University of Waterloo Library in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Golden Pages

large set of scholarly links from Royal Holloway, University of London

 






Music Education: Important Organizations

MENC: The National Association for Music Education

website of Music Educators National Conference, with a vast variety of current information for music educators

TMEA

Texas Music Educators Association 

University of North Texas Music Education Webpage

detailed departmental information

TEA: Texas Education Agency

help for schools and for teachers in various fields, including music

TEKS

Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills information, including details about music requirements

Texas Music Educators Conference

Texas MENC affiliate 

Music History: Important Organizations

UNT Division of Music History, Theory, and Ethnomusicology
division website with detailed information about the program
American Musicological Society
website of the professional organization for musicologists, with much useful information
International Musicological Society
international organization for musicologists, with conference information and other information for members
Society for Seventeenth-Century Music
promoting the study and performance of seventeenth-century music
Society for American Music
promoting the appreciation, performance, creation, and study of American music (including all of North America)
Society for Ethnomusicology
supporting ethnomusicology and studying music-making all over the world

Musical Genre Sites

Opera Sites

Classical Singer

a portal intended to be "the singer's source...for career and life," from the publishers of Classical Singer Magazine

Operabase

Opera schedules, houses, festivals, reviews, and more; available in many different languages

OperaGlass

large opera information site with selected composer information, libretti, synopses, and more

Opera Companies on the Web

hotlinks to opera companies all over the world, including those in small cities

 

Dallas Opera

promoting the current season

Fort Worth Opera

promoting the current season

Metropolitan Opera

from New York City, with a variety of information about the company

Santa Fe Opera

with their annual summer season in Santa Fe, New Mexico


Folk Music Sites
 

Digital Tradition Folk Song Database

a keyword-searchable database with lyrics and some MIDI files for thousands of folk songs, mainly from the English-Scots-Irish tradition

Richard Robinson's Tunebook

full-text scores of "Scots tunes, Irish tunes, Scandinavian, English, French, Balkan and more"

Sing Out!

non-profit educational organization promoting "traditional and contemporary folk musics" and publishing Sing Out! Magazine

Clarence Ashley

site devoted to the legendary performer, maintained by his grandson Scott "Tom" Moore, with important links and biographical information

Old-Time Music Home Page

wide variety of information for performers and fans of old-time music, with a large collection of significant links

Jazz Sites

A Passion for Jazz

historical and stylistic overviews of jazz

Subject Research Guides: Jazz: Research (Rutgers University Libraries)

both online and print resources for university-level jazz research


Interesting Links

"Major Contributors to WWW Jazz Knowledge" from the important Michael Fitzgerald - Jazz Research site

Jazz Links

"Other Jazz Web Sites of Interest" from Noal Cohen's Jazz History Website 
 

Bluegrass Sites

Bluegrass music

informative article from Wikipedia with important links to further resources

 

Cybergrass

"The Internet Bluegrass Music News Magazine;" an in-depth source of news and information for performers, fans, and students of bluegrass

 

 

World Music Sites

World Music Archives
at Wesleyan University

Music: World Music Research Tips
from Western Michigan University Libraries, with advice about electronic and print resources


Period- and Instrument-Specific Music History Sites

Medieval Music

NEUMES Project

"Neumed and Ekphonetic Universal Manuscript Encoding Standard; A lossless data representation for digital transcription of Western medieval and Byzantine chant sources" with accompanying examples and explanations of neumes

Instrument History

History of the Guitar

A list of individual sites concerning the different incarnations of the guitar over the course of music history.


Wired Musicology Page

This page is intended to help you do musicological research, with special emphasis on using electronic resources. 
 
 

In many fields, research involves reading articles in scholarly journals or other scholarly collections. WARNING: You CANNOT search for articles in library online catalogs. However, you can use the online catalog to find out whether our library has a certain journal or other source by doing a title search for it. 

Finding the best articles for your research is a complicated process in any field of knowledge.  For serious music research, there is no easy one-step way to achieve it.  Also, please be aware that not all music journals are available electronically. 

The best way to begin your search for articles is to search for ARTICLE CITATIONS in MUSIC-SPECIFIC electronic abstracting and indexing databases.  As far as we know, UNT subscribes to all that are currently available. GOOD NEWS: As of spring 2010, Music Index now links to many full-text resources through its new owner, EBSCOhost.  This greatly increases its significance for musicological research.  FURTHER GOOD NEWS: As of summer 2010, we are receiving RILM and RIPM from EBSCOhost. This means that they also link to many full-text resources. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE ONLINE CATALOG TO ACCESS MOST OF OUR FULL-TEXT RESOURCES VERY EFFICIENTLY.  IF YOU WANT THE BEST ARTICLES, NOT THE ONES THAT ARE EASIEST TO GET, YOU MAY HAVE TO COME TO THE LIBRARY TO LOOK AT PRINT JOURNALS.   

WARNING: the databases listed below are NOT web sites that are free for all on the Internet. They are PRODUCTS for which our university buys subscriptions. You must go in through our website to get the free access to which all UNT people are entitled.  Authorized UNT users are allowed to access all of our subscription databases remotely by providing EUIDs and passwords. 

Use the following music-specific databases to identify articles pertinent to your research.  If full text is not provided, then search the sources of these articles in OUR ONLINE CATALOG to see whether we have them. 

The following list is in order of importance for the field of musicology:  

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature   an international, abstracted bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines from music periodicals and other sources, with hundreds of thousands of entries; coverage: 1969-present, with frequent updates;  links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

RIPM    Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals 1800-1950. Published under the auspices of the International Musicological Society, International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres, UNESCO’s International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

Music Index
indexes hundreds of music periodicals from various countries; coverage: 1973-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

International Index to Music Periodicals
indexes and abstracts ca. 350 recent music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus music articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; also includes 130,000 retrospective citations back to 1874; coverage: 1874-present with quarterly updates

 

MULTI-DISCIPLINARY SOURCES POSSIBLY USEFUL FOR MUSIC RESEARCH:

VERY IMPORTANT:
WorldCat 
A super online catalog of more than 35 million entries describing items owned by libraries around the world, with information on which libraries own the items; includes musical scores and sound recordings; does not include articles; use this resource to initiate inter-library loan requests for books and scores we do not have.  
Note:  This is a FirstSearch database; for anyone familiar with OCLC, this IS the OCLC Online Union Catalog.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)  bibliographic citations for doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide, with emphasis on U.S. schools; abstracts included from 1980 forward; for pre-1980 abstracts, see print version in General Reference

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly collection providing full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications; abstracts and indexing for nearly 4,150 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984. An EBSCOhost database coming to us via TexShare


______________________________________________
SUBSCRIPTION STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES:

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library allows UNT users to stream a wide variety of classical, jazz, new age, and world music. Please be sure to click on the red “Log Out” button on the upper right hand of the screen when you are finished using Naxos.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz include famous Jazz Legends and Historicals, new selected titles of other leading independent labels are added every month. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Classical Music Library

As its title indicates, this service focuses mainly on classical music, but there are a few jazz offerings.

DRAM - Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, one of DRAM's primary focuses is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. Currently DRAM's collection contains nearly 2,300 albums worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 15 independent labels, and we are continually working to add more content. The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records.

American Song
American Song will become the definitive source for American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music. Included are powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy The Chief Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, Ma Rainey, Mahalia Jackson, Alberta Hunter, Tampa Red, William Bunk Johnson, Duke Ellington, Sophie Tucker, Joe Turner, T-Bone Walker, Sarah Vaughn, Cripple Clarence Lofton, Big Joe Williams, Memphis Jug Band, Roosevelt Sykes, Dizzy Gillespie, Chicago River Kings, Muddy Waters, Skip James, Blind Willie McTell, Lonnie Johnson, Alberta Jones, Johnny Shines, Memphis Minnie, Arthur Big Boy Crudup, Little Brother Montgomery, Speckled Red, Edith Wilson, Earl Hines, Eddie Johnson, Bobby Bradford, Roscoe Mitchell, Wadada Leo Smith, and hundreds more.

Opera in Video
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances will cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Smithsonian Global Sound for Librariesᆴ includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. The collection is an outgrowth of the vision and work of Folkways Records founder Moses Asch, who created a veritable encyclopedia of the human experience of sound, releasing more than 2,000 albums between 1948 and 1986, including those by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger, and countless influential others.
_______________________________________________
GROVE:

Grove Music Online
The electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of  Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

____________________________________________________ 

USING FREE SITES ON THE INTERNET FOR SERIOUS MUSIC RESEARCH

There are many ways to find good sites on the Internet.  One is to use human-selected collections of links.  The best ones are expertly prepared and will efficiently take users to pertinent sites with high-quality content, possibly saving them hours of surfer frustration.  Following are some significant examples: 


Online Resources for Music Scholars
from Harvard University
A launchpad for serious music research

Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
from Indiana University; includes Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and several research sites

Historical Research in Europe:  a guide to archives and libraries
from the Center for European Studies at the University of Wisconsin, Madison

MEDIEVAL MUSIC:

Gregorian Chant Home Page
An important site for chant research, with useful interdisciplinary links

CANTUS  A Database for Gregorian Chant
Indices of chants in selected manuscripts and early printed sources of the Divine Office

La Trobe University Library Medieval Music Database
Modern scores and facsimiles of original manuscripts

Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum
"The Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (TML) is an evolving database of the entire corpus of Latin music theory written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance."

Abbaye de Solesmes
From the abbey renowned for spearheading the revival of Gregorian chant in modern times

The British Library - Digital Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts - Tour
Images of illuminated manuscripts from many centuries

British Library Online Gallery, Turning the Pages- 
http://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/onlineex/musicmanu/index.html
including images of medieval manuscripts allowing the visitor to turn the pages and magnify selected sections

RENAISSANCE MUSIC:

RELICS Renaissance Liturgical Imprints: A Census

Hill Museum & Manuscript Library
a vast database of manuscript images, including music, from St. John's University and St. John's Abbey in Collegeville, MN; includes the Renaissance and much more

Three sites from the Society for Creative Anachronism:
SCA Renaissance Dance Homepage

SCA Medieval and Renaissance Music Homepage

SCA Minstrel Homepage

BAROQUE MUSIC:

Arto Wikla's Music Page
An early music site featuring information about early instruments and instrument tablatures, with important links for early music research, especially Baroque

CLASSIC AND ROMANTIC MUSIC:

The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies  from San Jose State University

ETHNOMUSICOLOGY:

The Society for Ethnomusicology

Guide to Programs in Ethnomusicology
from the Society for Ethnomusicology

Ethnomusicology
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music  an important ethnomusicology portal from the University of Washington

British Forum for Ethnomusicology
"a UK society devoted to the study of music and dance from all parts of the world"

Home Page
UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology

Ethnomusicology
the journal; a website providing information about it with sample full-text articles


HUMANITIES COMPUTING:

Voice of the Shuttle
A large humanities computing site with important links in several disciplines, the Music and Dance Page covering classical music topics and the Media Page covering popular music

 

Info

Wired Music Education Page

This page is intended to help you use various types of electronic resources for research in music education.

In many fields, including music education, research involves reading articles in scholarly journals. WARNING: You CANNOT search for articles in library online catalogs. You can use the online catalog to find out whether our library has a certain journal by doing a title search.

Finding the best articles for your research is a complicated process in any field of knowledge. For serious music research, there is no easy one-step way to achieve it. Also, please be aware that not all music journals are available electronically.

The best way to begin your search for articles is to search for ARTICLE CITATIONS in MUSIC-SPECIFIC electronic abstracting and indexing databases.  As far as we know, UNT subscribes to all that are currently available. GOOD NEWS: as of spring 2010, Music Index now links to many full-text resources through its new owner, EBSCOhost.  FURTHER GOOD NEWS: as of summer 2010, we are receiving RILM from EBSCOhost. This means that it also links to many full-text resources. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE ONLINE CATALOG TO ACCESS MOST OF OUR FULL-TEXT RESOURCES VERY EFFICIENTLY.  IF YOU WANT THE BEST ARTICLES, NOT THE ONES THAT ARE EASIEST TO GET, YOU MAY HAVE TO COME TO THE LIBRARY TO LOOK AT PRINT JOURNALS.   

WARNING: the databases listed below are NOT web sites that are free for all on the Internet. They are PRODUCTS for which our university buys subscriptions.  You must access them through the special hotlinks provided in the library catalog and on the library web pages.  Authorized UNT users are allowed to access all of our subscription databases remotely by providing EUIDs and passwords.

Use our music-specific databases to identify articles pertinent to your research.  The following list is in order of importance for music education:

Music Index
indexes hundreds of music periodicals from various countries; coverage: 1973-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

International Index to Music Periodicals
indexes and abstracts ca. 350 recent music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus music articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; also includes 130,000 retrospective citations back to 1874; coverage: 1874-present with quarterly updates

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  an international, abstracted bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines from music periodicals and other sources, with hundreds of thousands of entries; coverage: 1969-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.
_______________________________________________

OTHER IMPORTANT MUSIC RESOURCES

Grove Music Online

The electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

SUBSCRIPTION STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES:

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library allows UNT users to stream a wide variety of classical, jazz, new age, and world music. Please be sure to click on the red “Log Out” button on the upper right hand of the screen when you are finished using Naxos.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz include famous Jazz Legends and Historicals, new selected titles of other leading independent labels are added every month. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Classical Music Library

As its title indicates, this service focuses mainly on classical music, but there are a few jazz offerings.

DRAM - Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, one of DRAM's primary focuses is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. Currently DRAM's collection contains nearly 2,300 albums worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 15 independent labels, and we are continually working to add more content. The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records.

American Song
American Song will become the definitive source for American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music. Included are powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy The Chief Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, Ma Rainey, Mahalia Jackson, Alberta Hunter, Tampa Red, William Bunk Johnson, Duke Ellington, Sophie Tucker, Joe Turner, T-Bone Walker, Sarah Vaughn, Cripple Clarence Lofton, Big Joe Williams, Memphis Jug Band, Roosevelt Sykes, Dizzy Gillespie, Chicago River Kings, Muddy Waters, Skip James, Blind Willie McTell, Lonnie Johnson, Alberta Jones, Johnny Shines, Memphis Minnie, Arthur Big Boy Crudup, Little Brother Montgomery, Speckled Red, Edith Wilson, Earl Hines, Eddie Johnson, Bobby Bradford, Roscoe Mitchell, Wadada Leo Smith, and hundreds more.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Smithsonian Global Sound for Librariesᆴ includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. The collection is an outgrowth of the vision and work of Folkways Records founder Moses Asch, who created a veritable encyclopedia of the human experience of sound, releasing more than 2,000 albums between 1948 and 1986, including those by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger, and countless influential others.

_____________________________________
MULTI-DISCIPLINARY RESOURCES POSSIBLY USEFUL FOR MUSIC EDUCATION RESEARCH:

VERY IMPORTANT:
WorldCat 
A super online catalog of more than 35 million entries describing items owned by libraries around the world, with information on which libraries own the items; includes musical scores and sound recordings; does not include articles; use this resource to initiate inter-library loan requests for books and scores.  (Most libraries do not let sound recordings go out on inter-library loan.)

VERY IMPORTANT:
ERIC  premier national bibliographic database of education literature, consisting of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals

UNT RECEIVES ERIC FROM SEVERAL DIFFERENT PROVIDERS, BUT THE DATABASE IS THE SAME; TRY ALL OF THE INTERFACES AND SEE WHICH ONE YOU PREFER.  ALSO, IF ONE IS DOWN, OTHERS MAY BE WORKING:

ERIC (FirstSearch interface)

ERIC (EBSCOhost interface)

ERIC (CSA interface)


Academic Search Complete

Scholarly collection providing full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications; abstracts and indexing for nearly 4,150 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984. An EBSCOhost database coming to us via TexShare

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) 
bibliographic citations for doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide, with emphasis on U.S. schools; abstracts included from 1980 forward; for pre-1980 abstracts, see print version in General Reference

______________________________________

Education in Video
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available.

______________________________________
SITES ABOUT MUSIC EDUCATION AND EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION:

Texas Music Educators Association

Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills TEKS   from the Texas Education Agency

TExES/ExCET Home Page
site on the Texas Examination of Educator Standards and the Examination for the Certification of Educators in Texas, including online registration forms, information on preparing for the tests, and more

Association of Texas Small School Bands

http://www.uil.utexas.edu/music/pml.html    UIL Prescribed Music List from the University Interscholastic League based in Austin, Texas; includes band, orchestra, and vocal lists

Music Educators National Conference

American Orff-Schulwerk Association

Organization of American Kodály Educators

MESS:  Music Education Search System
A database for searching articles in music education journals

Music:Education links from Yahoo

Arts: Music: Education links from the Open Directory Project

Music Education from Indiana University's Worldwide Internet Music Resources

CAIRSS for Music
(Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System)
This database is especially helpful for music therapy topics.


 
 
Info

Wired Jazz Page

This page is intended to help you use various types of electronic resources for jazz research. 

In many fields, including jazz, research involves reading articles in scholarly journals. WARNING: You CANNOT search for articles in library online catalogs. You can use the online catalog to find out whether our library has a certain journal by doing a title search.

The best way to begin your search for articles is to search for ARTICLE CITATIONS in MUSIC-SPECIFIC electronic abstracting and indexing databases.  As far as we know, UNT subscribes to all that are currently available. GOOD NEWS: as of spring 2010, Music Index now links to many full-text resources through its new owner, EBSCOhost.  FURTHER GOOD NEWS: as of summer 2010, we are receiving RILM and RIPM from EBSCOhost. This means that they also link to many full-text resources. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE ONLINE CATALOG TO ACCESS MOST OF OUR FULL-TEXT RESOURCES VERY EFFICIENTLY.  IF YOU WANT THE BEST ARTICLES, NOT THE ONES THAT ARE EASIEST TO GET, YOU MAY HAVE TO COME TO THE LIBRARY TO LOOK AT PRINT JOURNALS.   

WARNING: the databases listed below are NOT web sites that are free for all on the Internet. They are PRODUCTS for which our university buys subscriptions.  You must access them through the special hotlinks provided in the library catalog and on the library web pages.  Authorized UNT users are allowed to access all of our subscription databases remotely by providing EUIDs and passwords.

Use these music-specific databases to identify articles pertinent to your research.  The following list is in order of importance for jazz research: 

Music Index
indexes hundreds of music periodicals from various countries; coverage: 1973-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

International Index to Music Periodicals
indexes and abstracts ca. 350 recent music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus music articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; also includes 130,000 retrospective citations back to 1874; coverage: 1874-present with quarterly updates

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  an international, abstracted bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines from music periodicals and other sources, with over 200,000 entries; coverage: 1969-present, with monthly updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

RIPM    Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals 1800-1950. Published under the auspices of the International Musicological Society, International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres, UNESCO’s International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

SUBSCRIPTION STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES:

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library allows UNT users to stream a wide variety of classical, jazz, new age, and world music. Please be sure to click on the red “Log Out” button on the upper right hand of the screen when you are finished using Naxos.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz include famous Jazz Legends and Historicals, new selected titles of other leading independent labels are added every month. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Classical Music Library

As its title indicates, this service focuses mainly on classical music, but there are a few jazz offerings.

DRAM - Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, one of DRAM's primary focuses is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. Currently DRAM's collection contains nearly 2,300 albums worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 15 independent labels, and we are continually working to add more content. The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records.

American Song
American Song will become the definitive source for American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music. Included are powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy The Chief Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, Ma Rainey, Mahalia Jackson, Alberta Hunter, Tampa Red, William Bunk Johnson, Duke Ellington, Sophie Tucker, Joe Turner, T-Bone Walker, Sarah Vaughn, Cripple Clarence Lofton, Big Joe Williams, Memphis Jug Band, Roosevelt Sykes, Dizzy Gillespie, Chicago River Kings, Muddy Waters, Skip James, Blind Willie McTell, Lonnie Johnson, Alberta Jones, Johnny Shines, Memphis Minnie, Arthur Big Boy Crudup, Little Brother Montgomery, Speckled Red, Edith Wilson, Earl Hines, Eddie Johnson, Bobby Bradford, Roscoe Mitchell, Wadada Leo Smith, and hundreds more.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Smithsonian Global Sound for Librariesᆴ includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. The collection is an outgrowth of the vision and work of Folkways Records founder Moses Asch, who created a veritable encyclopedia of the human experience of sound, releasing more than 2,000 albums between 1948 and 1986, including those by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger, and countless influential others.

 

GROVE:
Grove Music Online
The electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz


MULTI-DISCIPLINARY RESOURCES POSSIBLY USEFUL FOR MUSIC RESEARCH:

VERY IMPORTANT:
WorldCat 
A super online catalog of more than 35 million entries describing items owned by libraries around the world, with information on which libraries own the items; includes musical scores and sound recordings; does not include articles; use this resource to initiate inter-library loan requests for books and scores.  (Most libraries do not let sound recordings go out on inter-library loan.)  

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly collection providing full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications; abstracts and indexing for nearly 4,150 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984. An EBSCOhost database coming to us via TexShare

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) 
bibliographic citations for doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide, with emphasis on U.S. schools; abstracts included from 1980 forward; for pre-1980 abstracts, see print version in General Reference


SOME INTERESTING WEBSITES


A blues site from PBS:
The Blues
The website promoting the 7-part PBS series; names many historically-significant blues artists and provides links to blues venues in north Texas

Discography:
Online 78rpm Discographical Project

 

 
 
Info

Ethnomusicology Resources

Subscription databases: sound

Smithsonian Global Sound
including Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and Folkways Records

American Song
American roots music and pre-1960 popular music

Database of Recorded American Music    (DRAM)
music from independent record labels and sound archives; includes some roots music and folk music

Recorded music:  records and CDs

Folkways Records  seminal series of recordings begun in 1948 by Moses Asch- enter keyword Folkways in online catalog with material set to MUSIC RECS/CDS; we have many of the earliest LPs; the recordings are included in Smithsonian Global Sound

Unesco Collection [Unesco stands for United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization]  use "Other Call Number" search in online catalog with call numbers LPZ 19931 and LPZ 19016 to browse LP holdings; just do a keyword search for Unesco Collection to see LP and CD holdings

Explorer Series  from record label Nonesuch-  do a music-specific search for keywords "Explorer Series" in online catalog to browse holdings; began around 1965 with LPs, continues with CD reissues and new CDs 


Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook