Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Music Reference Sources
Document Actions

Reference Sources

Significant electronic and print dictionaries and encyclopedias

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

Music Reference Shelf under call number ML100 .N48 2001; also on reserve at the Music Service Desk

The New Grove, second edition, includes entries on persons and subjects.  While predominantly a classical music resource, it now includes jazz, popular, and world music.  Also available electronically as Grove Music Online:
Grove Music Online
The electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians incorporates the New Grove Dictionary of  Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
 
comprehensive music encyclopedia in German
 
Music Reference Shelf under call number ML100 .M92 1994  
The second edition is divided into two sections, the Sachteil (terms) and Personenteil (people).  The 1994 date does not reflect that the volumes were issued piecemeal, so some volumes date from much later than others. 
 
 
authoritative dictionary of musical terms available electronically through Credo Reference and:
 
Music Reference Shelf under call number ML 100 .H37 2003; also on reserve at the Music Service Desk
 
Please note: the original edition, which came out in 1944, was called the Harvard Dictionary of Music.  It was updated several times.  The new edition of 1986 was renamed the New Harvard Dictionary of Music.  The latest edition which came out in 2003, however, is once again called the Harvard Dictionary of Music.

The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music


Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia


New Penguin Dictionary of Music


Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Musics of the World:  Locations


Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Musics of the World:  Media, Industry and Society


Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Musics of the World:  Performance and Production

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook