Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Music Articles databases for finding articles
Document Actions

Music

databases for finding articles

The best way to begin your search for articles is to search for ARTICLE CITATIONS AND FULL-TEXT ARTICLES in MUSIC-SPECIFIC electronic abstracting and indexing databases.  As far as we know, UNT subscribes to all that are currently available.
DUE TO OUR RECENT CHANGES IN PROVIDERS, RILM, RIPM, AND MUSIC INDEX NOW LINK TO FULL TEXT OF MANY JOURNAL ARTICLES.  ALSO, YOU CAN USE THE ONLINE CATALOG TO SEE WHETHER WE HAVE PARTICULAR JOURNALS ELECTRONICALLY OR IN PRINT.  FROM THE CATALOG YOU CAN ACCESS MOST OF OUR FULL-TEXT RESOURCES VERY EFFICIENTLY.  IF YOU WANT THE BEST ARTICLES, NOT THE ONES THAT ARE EASIEST TO GET, YOU MAY HAVE TO COME TO THE LIBRARY TO LOOK AT PRINT JOURNALS.   

WARNING: these databases are NOT web sites that are free for all on the Internet. They are PRODUCTS for which our university buys subscriptions.  You must go in through our website to get the free access to which all UNT people are entitled.  Authorized UNT users are allowed to access all of our subscription databases remotely by providing EUIDs and passwords. 

Use these music-specific databases to identify articles pertinent to your research:   

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature via EBSCOhost   an international, abstracted bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines from music periodicals and other sources, with hundreds of thousands of entries; coverage: 1969-present, with frequent updates

RILM is a good starting-place for musicology topics.  Since it is now available through EBSCOhost, it links to full text of many journals.  RILM formerly emphasized historical musicology, but now has a broader focus and includes topics such as music education and jazz.

RIPM  via EBSCOhost  Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals 1800-1950. Published under the auspices of the International Musicological Society, International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres, UNESCO’s International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies.

Music Index
indexes hundreds of music periodicals from various countries; coverage: 1973-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals through EBSCOhost.

Music Index is a good starting-place for music education topics and jazz topics and a good source for musicology topics.  The increased availability of full text makes it far more useful for all music topics.

International Index to Music Periodicals
indexes and abstracts ca. 350 recent music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus music articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; also includes 130,000 retrospective citations back to 1874; coverage: 1874-present with quarterly updates

This page is maintained by Donna Arnold last modified Thursday, August 26, 2010. 10:48 AM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook