Articles
databases for finding articles
The best way to begin your search for articles is to search for ARTICLE CITATIONS AND FULL-TEXT ARTICLES in MUSIC-SPECIFIC electronic abstracting and indexing databases. As far as we know, UNT subscribes to all that are currently available.
DUE TO OUR RECENT CHANGES IN PROVIDERS, RILM, RIPM, AND MUSIC INDEX NOW LINK TO FULL TEXT OF MANY JOURNAL ARTICLES. ALSO, YOU CAN USE THE ONLINE CATALOG TO SEE WHETHER WE HAVE PARTICULAR JOURNALS ELECTRONICALLY OR IN PRINT. FROM THE CATALOG YOU CAN ACCESS MOST OF OUR FULL-TEXT RESOURCES VERY EFFICIENTLY. IF YOU WANT THE BEST ARTICLES, NOT THE ONES THAT ARE EASIEST TO GET, YOU MAY HAVE TO COME TO THE LIBRARY TO LOOK AT PRINT JOURNALS.
WARNING: these databases are NOT web sites that are free for all on the Internet. They are PRODUCTS for which our university buys subscriptions. You must go in through our website to get the free access to which all UNT people are entitled. Authorized UNT users are allowed to access all of our subscription databases remotely by providing EUIDs and passwords.
Use these music-specific databases to identify articles pertinent to your research:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature via EBSCOhost an international, abstracted bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines from music periodicals and other sources, with hundreds of thousands of entries; coverage: 1969-present, with frequent updates
RILM is a good starting-place for musicology topics. Since it is now available through EBSCOhost, it links to full text of many journals. RILM formerly emphasized historical musicology, but now has a broader focus and includes topics such as music education and jazz.
RIPM via EBSCOhost Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals 1800-1950. Published under the auspices of the International Musicological Society, International Association of Music Libraries, Archives and Documentation Centres, UNESCO’s International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies.
Music Index
indexes hundreds of music periodicals from various countries; coverage:
1973-present, with frequent updates; links to full text of journals
through EBSCOhost.
Music Index is a good starting-place for music education topics and jazz topics and a good source for musicology topics. The increased availability of full text makes it far more useful for all music topics.
International Index to Music Periodicals
indexes and abstracts ca. 350 recent music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus music articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; also includes 130,000 retrospective citations back to 1874; coverage: 1874-present with quarterly updates
Anatomy of a Bibliographic Citation for Music Education
Research often involves accessing resources someone else has cited for you. Beginning researchers are often confused about these so-called bibliographic citations. Here are a few examples to help you interpret them. A citation in a bibliography has a slightly different format from a citation in a footnote. Here are made-up citations in the style used in the latest issue of Music Educators Journal:
JOURNAL ARTICLE:
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
AUTHOR:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
ARTICLE TITLE:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
JOURNAL TITLE:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
VOLUME NUMBER:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
ISSUE NUMBER:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
DATE:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
PAGE NUMBERS:
Ramsey, Darhyl. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
TWO AUTHORS EXAMPLES:
If an article or book has two authors, list the second author with first name first:
Ramsey, Darhyl and Donna Arnold. "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
Ramsey, Darhyl and Donna Arnold. How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton: DJME Press, 2009.
FOOTNOTE FORMAT:
Darhyl Ramsey, "How to Pass MUED 5280," Denton Journal of Music Education 1, no. 1 (2009): 1-99.
Here is the same source in the style of the latest issue of Journal of Research in Music Education:
Ramsey, D. (2009). How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton Journal of Music Education, 1(1), 1-99.
HERE IS A CITATION FOR A BOOK:
Ramsey, Darhyl. How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton: DJME Press, 2009.
AUTHOR:
Ramsey, Darhyl. How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton: DJME Press, 2009.
BOOK TITLE:
Ramsey, Darhyl. How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton: DJME Press, 2009.
CITY OF PUBLICATION:
Ramsey, Darhyl. How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton: DJME Press, 2009.
NAME OF PUBLISHER:
Ramsey, Darhyl. How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton: DJME Press, 2009.
DATE OF PUBLICATION:
Ramsey, Darhyl. How to Pass MUED 5280. Denton: DJME Press, 2009.
PLEASE NOTE:
Titles of main sources such as journals or books are in italics. [In the old days, they were underlined.] Titles of articles are usually in quotes.
Anatomy of a Bibliographic Citation for Musicology
Research often involves accessing resources someone else has cited for you. Beginning researchers are often confused about these so-called bibliographic citations. Here are a few examples to help you interpret them. A citation in a bibliography has a slightly different format from a citation in a footnote. Here are some made-up examples:
BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
AUTHOR:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
ARTICLE TITLE:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
JOURNAL TITLE:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
VOLUME NUMBER:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
ISSUE NUMBER:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
DATE:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
PAGE NUMBERS:
Bush, Deanna D. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
TWO AUTHORS EXAMPLES:
If an article or book has two authors, list the second author with first name first:
Bush, Deanna D. and Donna Arnold. "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
Bush, Deanna D. and Donna Arnold. How to Pass MUMH 5010. Denton: DJRM Press, 2009.
FOOTNOTE FORMAT:
Deanna D. Bush, "How to Pass MUMH 5010," Denton Journal of Musicological Research 1:1 (summer, 2009), 1-99.
HERE IS A CITATION FOR A BOOK:
Bush, Deanna D. How to Pass MUMH 5010. Denton: DJMR Press, 2009.
AUTHOR:
Bush, Deanna D. How to Pass MUMH 5010. Denton: DJMR Press, 2009.
BOOK TITLE:
Bush, Deanna D. How to Pass MUMH 5010. Denton: DJMR Press, 2009.
CITY OF PUBLICATION:
Bush, Deanna D. How to Pass MUMH 5010. Denton: DJMR Press, 2009.
NAME OF PUBLISHER:
Bush, Deanna D. How to Pass MUMH 5010. Denton: DJMR Press, 2009.
DATE OF PUBLICATION:
Bush, Deanna D. How to Pass MUMH 5010. Denton: DJMR Press, 2009.
PLEASE NOTE:
Titles of main sources such as journals or books are in italics. [In the old days, they were underlined.] Titles of articles are usually in quotes.