Military Studies
US Government (and non-government) Internet Resources
Internet resources comprise both resources from Government -
- Government Civilian Library and Research Centers,
- Military Research Centers and
- Government-affiliated and independent Civilian Policy Research Centers
US Government and Indepenent websites cover a vast and varied number of websites covering military history, government policy and analysis of current events. It would be difficult to list them all. Only those that are representative shall be listed. Many may be considered portals to military history or policy-related reseach institutions and their full-text and suggested links.
Government Civilian Library and Research Centers
-
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/visit/
Military History and Military Science
"Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained. A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology through the cooperation of several organizations and collectors of CRS Reports, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports."
- Center for the Study of Intelligence - Central Intelligence Agency
-
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
"The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today."
Military Research Centers
Special Military Libraries Divisions links to Defense Libraries
- Another point of access, is the Air War College Gateway to the Internet by way of the Air University Library at Maxwell-Gunter Air Force base , Montgomery Alabama
military history and related info
with several points of access and information, including the
and the
- Air War College Military Quick-Portal
- The Air Force Historical Research Agency
- MERLN (the Military Education Research Library Network (hosted by the National Defense University). "This a comprehensive website devoted to international military education outreach. It represents a consortium of military education research libraries that work together to provide access to a variety of unique electronic resources for the use of researchers and scholars."
- Defense Libraries (by way of the Department of Defense website)
- The Joint Electronic Library (hosted by the J7 Joint Experimentation, Transformation, and Concepts Division of the Joint Chiefs of Staff)
- Of other significant value is the Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) website, located at the Command and General Staff College (CGSC) at Fort Leavenworth, KS.
as well as archived full-text historical field manuals, CGSC student papers, and other resources
While some of the resources are restricted to use by CGSC staff and students, many of the fulltext resources are available for use.
- Other equally important websites are the U.S. Army Center for Military History
- Shirvenham Archive - Barrington Digital library (affiliated with the Defence academy of the United Kingdom at Cranfield University College of management Technology
- Other research libraries include the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Post Graduate School (NPS) in Monterey California
also offering access to a variety of resources (including NPS student papers)
- Also, the Marine Corps University Library (located at the Marine Corps Base at Quantico, Virginia) provides a number of access points from its website to other government research libraries and archives
including links to "Research Tools - Practical tools, tutorials & guides for research & organization" and other helpful reserach information.
Government-affiliated and independent Civilian Policy Research Centers
These represent only a few of the many such institutions present on the World Wide Web.
Government-affiliated institutions
These represent policy research institutions associated with government agencies and policy research.
-
The Strategic Studies Institute (SSI) - The United States War College
"The Strategic Studies Institute of the U.S. Army War College publishes national security and strategic research and analysis which serves to influence policy debate and bridge the gap between Military and Academia."
"The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) provides strategic insights and policy solutions to decisionmakers in government, international institutions, the private sector, and civil society. A bipartisan, nonprofit organization headquartered in Washington, DC, CSIS conducts research and analysis and develops policy initiatives that look into the future and anticipate change."
hhttp://www.csis.org/about/ttp://
"A non-profit institution that addresses the challenges facing the public and private sectors around the world."
Independent Policy Institutions
These are institutions / websites of an individual or group (and not affiliated with government support) effort to add to the policy debate or contribute to media coverage of policy issues.
"the National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FIOA)."
"SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public. SIPRI is named as one of the world's leading think tanks in Foreign Policy magazine's "Think Tank Index"."The Human Security Gateway is a research and information database regrouping electronic and bibliographic resources on human security."
Weapon Systems - U.S. and International
http://www.fas.org/man/dod-101/sys/"The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) was founded in 1945 by scientists who had worked on the Manhattan Project to develop the first atomic bombs. These scientists recognized that science had become central to many key public policy questions. They believed that scientists had a unique responsibility to both warn the public and policy leaders of potential dangers from scientific and technical advances and to show how good policy could increase the benefits of new scientific knowledge."
http://www.fas.org/about/index.html
http://www.globalsecurity.org/org/overview/history.htm
"GlobalSecurity.org is the leading source of background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security. Launched in 2000, GlobalSecurity.org is the most comprehensive and authoritative online destination for those in need of both reliable background information and breaking news. GlobalSecurity.org, is well-respected, trusted and often-referenced in the media, both domestically and internationally."
"Small Wars Journal facilitates the exchange of information among practitioners, thought leaders, and students of Small Wars, in order to advance knowledge and capabilities in the field. We hope this, in turn, advances the practice and effectiveness of those forces prosecuting Small Wars in the interest of self-determination, freedom, and prosperity for the population in the area of operations."