Websites
Government Documents, Digital Projects and Oral History at UNT Libraries
These links represent internal efforts by individual UNT Library Departments to provide access to electronic resources from the
- Government Documents collection,
- The Digital Projects Lab,
- and The Willis Library Oral History program
Government Documents
-
Government and Politics
http://www.library.unt.edu/govinfo/browse-topics/government-and-politics/
-
USA.gov - Military History
http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/History_Military.shtml
-
United States Government Agencies
http://www.library.unt.edu/govinfo/browse-topics/united-states-government-agencies/
International and Foreign Government Agencies
http://www.library.unt.edu/govinfo/browse-topics/international-and-foreign-government-agencies
- Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala., Air University
http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/aulimp/ or http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b3404826~S12
Earlier print editions exist in the Willis Library Third Floor Governents Abstract and Indexes collection as well as in microfilm format (in the Government Documents collection).
http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1000839~S12
UNT Libraries Digital Collections
- "The Portal to Texas History is provided by the UNT Libraries' Digital Projects Department"
http://texashistory.unt.edu/about/
Explore by Subject
http://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/subjects/
Military and War
http://texashistory.unt.edu/browse/subject/Military_and_War/
The Portal to Texas History's "Young Scholar's Page - Where Texas Students Find History"
http://texashistory.unt.edu/young/
"The Portal to Texas History offers students and lifelong learners a digital gateway to the rich collections held in Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, and private collections. The Portal team at the University of North Texas provides strong leadership by supporting collaborative efforts with its partners, while pursuing the goals of accessibility, best practices, and preservation of historical material."
- The World War Poster Collection contains digitzed posters from both World War 1 and World War 2
http://digital.library.unt.edu/browse/department/rarebooks/wwpc/
The Oral History Program
http://www.library.unt.edu/ohp/index.htm
"The strengths of the collection include (but are not limited to) World War II history, with a collection of over 1,000 interviews with WWII veterans; Texas political history; Texas business history; history of the New Deal in Texas; and North Texas civil rights history."
non-UNT Oral History resources
Military History and related info at the Air War College Gateway to the Internet
Oral History(ing) Oral History and Interviewing
http://www.au.af.mil/au/awc/awcgate/awc-hist.htm#oralUS Government (and non-government) Internet Resources
Internet resources comprise both resources from Government -
- Government Civilian Library and Research Centers,
- Military Research Centers and
- Government-affiliated and independent Civilian Policy Research Centers
US Government and Indepenent websites cover a vast and varied number of websites covering military history, government policy and analysis of current events. It would be difficult to list them all. Only those that are representative shall be listed. Many may be considered portals to military history or policy-related reseach institutions and their full-text and suggested links.
Government Civilian Library and Research Centers
-
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/visit/
Military History and Military Science
"Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained. A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology through the cooperation of several organizations and collectors of CRS Reports, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports."
- Center for the Study of Intelligence - Central Intelligence Agency
-
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
"The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today."
Military Research Centers
Special Military Libraries Divisions links to Defense Libraries
- Another point of access, is the Air War College Gateway to the Internet by way of the Air University Library at Maxwell-Gunter Air Force base , Montgomery Alabama
military history and related info
with several points of access and information, including the
and the
- Air War College Military Quick-Portal
- The Air Force Historical Research Agency
- MERLN (the Military Education Research Library Network (hosted by the National Defense University). "This a comprehensive website devoted to international military education outreach. It represents a consortium of military education research libraries that work together to provide access to a variety of unique electronic resources for the use of researchers and scholars."
- Defense Libraries (by way of the Department of Defense website)
- The Joint Electronic Library (hosted by the J7 Joint Experimentation, Transformation, and Concepts Division of the Joint Chiefs of Staff)
- Of other significant value is the Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) website, located at the Command and General Staff College (CGSC) at Fort Leavenworth, KS.
as well as archived full-text historical field manuals, CGSC student papers, and other resources
While some of the resources are restricted to use by CGSC staff and students, many of the fulltext resources are available for use.
- Other equally important websites are the U.S. Army Center for Military History
- Shirvenham Archive - Barrington Digital library (affiliated with the Defence academy of the United Kingdom at Cranfield University College of management Technology
- Other research libraries include the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Post Graduate School (NPS) in Monterey California
also offering access to a variety of resources (including NPS student papers)
- Also, the Marine Corps University Library (located at the Marine Corps Base at Quantico, Virginia) provides a number of access points from its website to other government research libraries and archives
including links to "Research Tools - Practical tools, tutorials & guides for research & organization" and other helpful reserach information.
Government-affiliated and independent Civilian Policy Research Centers
These represent only a few of the many such institutions present on the World Wide Web.
Government-affiliated institutions
These represent policy research institutions associated with government agencies and policy research.
-
The Strategic Studies Institute (SSI) - The United States War College
"The Strategic Studies Institute of the U.S. Army War College publishes national security and strategic research and analysis which serves to influence policy debate and bridge the gap between Military and Academia."
"The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) provides strategic insights and policy solutions to decisionmakers in government, international institutions, the private sector, and civil society. A bipartisan, nonprofit organization headquartered in Washington, DC, CSIS conducts research and analysis and develops policy initiatives that look into the future and anticipate change."
hhttp://www.csis.org/about/ttp://
"A non-profit institution that addresses the challenges facing the public and private sectors around the world."
Independent Policy Institutions
These are institutions / websites of an individual or group (and not affiliated with government support) effort to add to the policy debate or contribute to media coverage of policy issues.
"the National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FIOA)."
"SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public. SIPRI is named as one of the world's leading think tanks in Foreign Policy magazine's "Think Tank Index"."The Human Security Gateway is a research and information database regrouping electronic and bibliographic resources on human security."
Weapon Systems - U.S. and International
http://www.fas.org/man/dod-101/sys/"The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) was founded in 1945 by scientists who had worked on the Manhattan Project to develop the first atomic bombs. These scientists recognized that science had become central to many key public policy questions. They believed that scientists had a unique responsibility to both warn the public and policy leaders of potential dangers from scientific and technical advances and to show how good policy could increase the benefits of new scientific knowledge."
http://www.fas.org/about/index.html
http://www.globalsecurity.org/org/overview/history.htm
"GlobalSecurity.org is the leading source of background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security. Launched in 2000, GlobalSecurity.org is the most comprehensive and authoritative online destination for those in need of both reliable background information and breaking news. GlobalSecurity.org, is well-respected, trusted and often-referenced in the media, both domestically and internationally."
"Small Wars Journal facilitates the exchange of information among practitioners, thought leaders, and students of Small Wars, in order to advance knowledge and capabilities in the field. We hope this, in turn, advances the practice and effectiveness of those forces prosecuting Small Wars in the interest of self-determination, freedom, and prosperity for the population in the area of operations."
List Serves, RSS Feeds, Blogs and Academic (and Military) History-related Societies
MilitaryHistory-related listeserves, RSS Feeds, Blogs, Social Media and professional societies seek to link the scholar to other researchers, the media and research institutions who share an interest in a common topic.
- Social Media Guides
- List Serves,
-
Academic (and Military) History Societies-related sites represent only a few of the many of such websites available
Social Media Guides
U.S. Army Social Media Handbook (Office of the Chief of Public Affairs - January 2011)
New Media and the Air Force (Air Force Public Affairs Agency Emrging Technology Division)
"pamphlet from the Air Force Public Affairs Agency, Emerging Technology Division - "should be used as an instructional guide. It is not to be construed as official guidance, endorsement of products or sites listed, nor is it policy."
List Serves
"a member of H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine"
"H-War is a moderated electronic discussion group and bulletin board for scholars, librarians, and teachers in the field of military history and is part of the H-Net family of LISTSERV discussion lists."
http://www.h-net.org/~war/about.html
"a member of H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine. H-Minerva is the H-Net discussion network devoted to the study of women and war and women in the military, worldwide and in all historical areas. We are affiliated with the Minerva Center, a non-profit educational foundation."
"H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Our edited lists and web sites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public."
RSS Feeds
-
RSS Feeds for Military and Government Researchers (hosted by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School)
Blogs and Social Media
Blogs
These Blog and Independantly-affilitated websites represent only a few military-history-related listings that can serve as an interesting source of alternative source of news and information on current events and policy. Most military history blogs represent individual efforts at blogging and are far too numerous to list.
Government Military History Blogs
-
Military History-related Blogs Tips for locating realted blogs suggest: "With Google Blog Search you can search blogs by keywords"
"A directory listing of military blogs, war blogs, military spouse blogs, military family blogs, military history blogs, military tech blogs and other blogs from the military blogosphere.provides hints on searching for blogs on the Internet."
"Blog Them Out of the Stone Age - Toward a Broader vision oof Military History"
Social Media
- The U.S. Navy and Social Media (by way of the Navy Visual News Service (NVNS) page)
- U.S. Air Force Live - The Official Blog of the United States Air Force
- U.S. Marine Corps Facebook
Academic (and Military) History-related societies
These society listings represent only a few military-history-related societies that have either an academic or government connection
- The Correlates of War Project "The original and continuing goal of the project has been the systematic accumulation of scientific knowledge about war. ..the project began its work by assembling a more accurate data set on the incidence and extent of inter-state and extra-systemic war in the post-Napoleonic period.
- Scholarly Societies Project (hosted by the University of Waterloo Electronic Library)
"facilitating access to information about scholarly societies across the world since 1994" linking to scholarily societies across time and space.
- The Society for Military History - "The intellectual home for military historians worldwide"
"Established in 1933 as the American Military History Foundation, renamed in 1939 the American Military Institute, and renamed again in 1990 the Society for Military History, the Society is devoted to stimulating and advancing the study of military history. Its membership (today more than 2300) has included many of the nation's most prominent scholars, soldiers, and citizens interested in military history."
"De Re Militari is an international scholarly association established to foster and develop interest in the study of military affairs and warfare in the Middle Ages and the Early Modern Period. Our society publishes the Journal of Medieval Military History and organizes academic conferences focusing on medieval warfare."
-
The Society of Ancient Military Historians (hosted by the History Department of Western Illinois University)
"The Society of Ancient Military Historians is an organization dedicated to the promotion of the study of warfare in the Ancient World. Members sponsor and contribute to the publication of our newsletter, Res Militares. Our leadership works with and within the American Philological Association to arrange contact between our members and within the larger academic community."
"The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment."
"The Organization of American Historians is the largest learned society devoted to the study of American history. Since its founding in 1907 as the Mississippi Valley Historical Association, the OAH has promoted the study and teaching of the American past through its many activities."
"AASLH began in 1904, under the wing of the American Historical Association. Then called the Conference of State and Local Historical Societies, AASLH broke out on its own in December of 1940 to become the American Association for State and Local History.."
International Libraries and Research Centers
International Libraries and Research Centers websites include multi-national, national and academic institutions and collections providing links to history and military history topics.
- Multi-national Organizations and Eectronic Collections
- Europe
- United Kingdom
- Africa
- Asia - Pacific - Oceania
- Russia and
- Latin America
Multi-national Organizations and electronic collections
-
The United Nations
Resources and Services
-
United Nations Documents
The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Library
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library
- History
- Military History
http://vlib.iue.it/history/mil/Europe
-
The European Library
"What is The European Library?"
"Organization- The European Library is a free service that offers access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 35 Languages. Resources can be both digital and bibliographical (books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.). Quality and reliability are guaranteed by the 48 collaborating national libraries of Europe. The European Library is a non-commercial organisation."
http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/organisation/about_us/aboutus_en.html
European Library Directories and Major Libraries
United Kingdom
http://www.bl.uk/reshelp/index.html
- Organizations and Resources for British Military History Research (at the British Library)
- The Imperial War Museum
Collections Search http://www.iwmcollections.org.uk/
All Records Search http://www.iwmcollections.org.uk/qryMain.php
- Copac National, Academic, & Specialist Library Catalogue (UK)
"Copac is formed by merging the online library catalogues of major UK research libraries"
List of participating libraries
Africa
-
Africa - South of the Sahara (hosted by Stanford University)
African History on the Internet - Military History
Asia - Pacific/Oceania
- Links to Asian Library Consortia - National and University libraries (Ardvark Asian Resources for librarians")
Russia
Latin America
- Latin American Network Information Center (hosted by the University of Texas at Austin)