Military Studies
Reference Documents and Resources
- Reference help may be obtained by contacting the Humanities and Social Sciences Reference office or Library Liaisons by discipline and you can always Ask Us.
- Reference resources include non-circulating and circulating materials from the First Floor Reference Collections (and the Third Floor Government Documents Abstracts and Indexes and Reference Collecions) as well from the general collection.
- Government Documents
- General Collection - encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries and guides
- Military Records resources at UNT and elsewhere
Government Documents
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala., Air University Library http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1000839~S12 or
http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/aulimp/
Earlier print editions exist in the Willis Library Third Floor Governent Documents Abstract and Indexes collection as well as in microfilm format (in the Government Documents collection). http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1000839~S12
General Reference Collection
Encyclopedias and Bibbliographies are located in in print in the First Floor Reference Collection as well as electronically by way of the online catalog.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias dealing with the topic of Military History may be located by doing either a subject or keyword search for "encyclopedias military" in the library catalog.
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/d Subject search
http://iii.library.unt.edu/ Keyword search
Dictionaries
Dictionaries dealing with the topic of Military History may be located by doing either a subject or keyword search for "dictionaries military" in the library catalog.
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/d Subject search
http://iii.library.unt.edu/ Keyword search
Bibliographies / Guides
Bibliographies dealing with the topic of Military History may be located by doing a keyword search for "bibliography military" - "guides military" in the library catalog.
One online source that is (availble from the Netlibraary through the Library catalog) is Daniel K. Blewett's "American military history [electronic resource] : a guide to reference and information sources". Ebooks on Ebscohost
Military Records resources at UNT and elsewhere
- Resources at UNT and the National Archives and Records Administration
Additional searching hints
An Advanced Keyword Search allows the user to search simultaniously for material by scrolling down and selecting from the series of drop down boxes either collection, location (specific location of material), format (audio or visual), language - year - publisher (of publication).
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/X
Bibliographies, encyclopedias, and guides may be found by doing a keyword search incorporating the terms "bibliography military", "encyclopedia military" or "guides military"
Also helpful is the electronic document, The ABCs of Military Resources: Live from SLA (Special Libraries Association) providing tips to researching military topics, and the handout, the
- "ABCs of Military Resources: Best Recommendations for Unclassified Resources to Answer Questions about the Military" from the Special Librarians 2009 conference in Washington. DC. put together by Lily McGovern (National Defense University Library) and Greta E. Marlatt (Naval Postgraduate School Library) at the website hosted by the
- Special Libraries Association Military Library Division's Blog , "Bringing together those interested in the betterment of military library and information center service." (which also links to the
- Quick Guide to Military Information providing links to "Major Directories and Search Pages Academic Sites Demographics and Statistics Facilities, Installations" and other related material).