Reference Sources
Reference Documents and Resources
- Reference help may be obtained by contacting the Humanities and Social Sciences Reference office or Library Liaisons by discipline and you can always Ask Us.
- Reference resources include non-circulating and circulating materials from the First Floor Reference Collections (and the Third Floor Government Documents Abstracts and Indexes and Reference Collecions) as well from the general collection.
- Government Documents
- General Collection - encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries and guides
- Military Records resources at UNT and elsewhere
Government Documents
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Maxwell Air Force Base, Ala., Air University Library http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1000839~S12 or
http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/aulimp/
Earlier print editions exist in the Willis Library Third Floor Governent Documents Abstract and Indexes collection as well as in microfilm format (in the Government Documents collection). http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1000839~S12
General Reference Collection
Encyclopedias and Bibbliographies are located in in print in the First Floor Reference Collection as well as electronically by way of the online catalog.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias dealing with the topic of Military History may be located by doing either a subject or keyword search for "encyclopedias military" in the library catalog.
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/d Subject search
http://iii.library.unt.edu/ Keyword search
Dictionaries
Dictionaries dealing with the topic of Military History may be located by doing either a subject or keyword search for "dictionaries military" in the library catalog.
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/d Subject search
http://iii.library.unt.edu/ Keyword search
Bibliographies / Guides
Bibliographies dealing with the topic of Military History may be located by doing a keyword search for "bibliography military" - "guides military" in the library catalog.
One online source that is (availble from the Netlibraary through the Library catalog) is Daniel K. Blewett's "American military history [electronic resource] : a guide to reference and information sources". Ebooks on Ebscohost
Military Records resources at UNT and elsewhere
- Resources at UNT and the National Archives and Records Administration
Additional searching hints
An Advanced Keyword Search allows the user to search simultaniously for material by scrolling down and selecting from the series of drop down boxes either collection, location (specific location of material), format (audio or visual), language - year - publisher (of publication).
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/X
Bibliographies, encyclopedias, and guides may be found by doing a keyword search incorporating the terms "bibliography military", "encyclopedia military" or "guides military"
Also helpful is the electronic document, The ABCs of Military Resources: Live from SLA (Special Libraries Association) providing tips to researching military topics, and the handout, the
- "ABCs of Military Resources: Best Recommendations for Unclassified Resources to Answer Questions about the Military" from the Special Librarians 2009 conference in Washington. DC. put together by Lily McGovern (National Defense University Library) and Greta E. Marlatt (Naval Postgraduate School Library) at the website hosted by the
- Special Libraries Association Military Library Division's Blog , "Bringing together those interested in the betterment of military library and information center service." (which also links to the
- Quick Guide to Military Information providing links to "Major Directories and Search Pages Academic Sites Demographics and Statistics Facilities, Installations" and other related material).
Guides and Style Manuals
Guides and Style Manuals
These are resources that come from a variety of military academic institutions and reflect an additional (and complimentary) source to civilian academic styles guides and manuals.
These sources consist of:
-
Links to various "How to"guides
-
Dictionaries
-
Reading and Research
-
Museum and Archival Regulations
-
Writing
-
Style manuals
Links to various "How to"guides
- "Tools for Historians" via the Air War College Gateway to Military History
Military History and Related Info
(also via the Air War College Gateway to Military History)
Dictionaries
- Joint Publication 1-02, "Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms. As amended through 17 October 2008." (by way of The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) website)
Reading and Research
Reading Guides
The United States Marine Corps Professional Reading Program offers a number of documents related to book discussion including:
Reading Lists
-
Professional Military Reading Lists (Combined Arms Reserach Library)
-
Chief of Staff Air Force Professional Reading Program (U.S. Air Force)
-
Continuing Miltary Professionalism (Air War College Gateway to the Internet)
-
Marine Corps Professional Reading List (Library of the Marine Corps Univeristy)
Research Guides
The U.S. Army Center for Military History provides a number of such guides under the heading "How to" and handbooks; comprising writing staff rides, Annual Command Histories, oral histories, organizational histories, and "Commander's Guide to Operational Records and Data Collection".- "U.S. Army Guide to Oral History" by Stephen J. Lofgren (available in either html or pdf format)
The Command and General Staff College (through the website of the Combined Arms Research Library) provides two research guides currently used by the Army for training of Army historians
- "The Guide to the Study and Use of Military History" by John E. Jessup and Robert W. Coakley
- the Combat Studies Institute "Report No. 12: Evaluating Historical Materials" by Dr. Larry D. Roberts, which is available in both html
and pdf formats http://www-cgsc.army.mil/carl/download/csipubs/roberts.pdf
Museum and Archival Regulations
"Army Regulations" related to museum collection standards, "procedures, responsibilities" related to writing Military History and regulations related to the changes in unit classification and status:
http://www.history.army.mil/html/bookshelves/collect/cmh-ars.html
Writing
- The Federation of American Scientists provide on their website a link to the the United States Army field manual,
- The United States Air Force offers the publication:
offers suggestions for effective oral and written communication.
- The U.S. Army Combined Arms Center (also at the Command and General Staff College) offers
- The History and Museums Division Marine Corps Historical Center offers the
- The United States Air Force Academy offers the
- Dr. Edwin Moise (from Clemson University) offers his essay on term paper writing:
"Writing a Term Paper in Military History"
"These guidelines are intended for students research papers for me in History 390, History 436/636, History 499 at Clemson University. Students in other institutions might also find some of my advice useful.".
Style manuals
- "Center for Military History Style Guide” (U.S. Army Center of Military History)
-
Communications Style Guide - Fourth Edition - Marine Corps University - Academic Year 2011
Microforms
Microforms at the UNT Willis Library
The Microforms Department is located on the Lower Level of Willis Library.
List of Subjects -
http://www.library.unt.edu/microforms/microforms-collection/list-of-subjects/list-of-subjects
History
http://www.library.unt.edu/microforms/microforms-collection/list-of-subjects/history
A number of microform collections stand out related to Military History:
Confederate Imprints, 1861-1865
Conference on the Discontinuance of Nuclear Weapons Tests
The Other Side: or, Notes for the History of the War between Mexico and the United States
http://www.library.unt.edu/microforms/microforms-collection/list-of-subjects/history/the-other-side/
Pamphlets on the Spanish Civil War
Papers of the Headquarters of the British Army in America
http://www.library.unt.edu/microforms/microforms-collection/list-of-subjects/history/headquarters/
Atlases and Maps Collections
Atlases and Map collections
These collections represent links to a variety of different collections available on the World Wide Web
- Library of Congress -
American Memory
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html
Geography & Map Division
http://www.loc.gov/rr/geogmap/gmpage.html
-
CIA Factbook - Regional Maps
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/docs/refmaps.html
CIA Maps & Publications
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/cia-maps-publications/index.html
-
Map Resources (National Defense University)
"A guide to map resources on the internet. Prepared by the NDU Library staff in support of the courses, conferences, and research requirements of the National Defense University."
http://www.ndu.edu/library/Map/map.cfm
- Maps (hosted by the Bosun Library at the Naval Postgraduate School)
http://www.nps.edu/library/Research/SubjectGuides/Resources%20by%20Type/Maps/Maps.html#DigitalData
- United Nations Cartographic Division
http://www.un.org/Depts/Cartographic/english/htmain.htm
- BUBL LINK (Bulletin Board for Libraries) Catalogue of Internet Resources hosted by the Centre for Digital Library Research, Strathclyde University, Glasgow, Scotland.
Maps, atlases, charts, plans
http://bubl.ac.uk/LINK/types/maps.htm
-
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (the University of Texas at Austin)
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/map_sites/outline_sites.html
-
World Wide Web Virtual Library HISTORY: MAPS (hosted by the European University Institute)
http://vlib.iue.it/history/materials/maps.html
- Google Maps