Military Studies
Books
(Microfilms) of Willis Library.
To locate books, you can begin your search by doing keyword or subject searches for topics in
The user can do a keyword, title, author, subject heading or Library of Congress (or Dewey Decimal) call number search from any one of these catalog search pages:
- from the first page of the Library Catalog and using the upper-right hand corner search box, selecting a format from the drop down box and clicking "search" http://www.library.unt.edu/ or http://iii.library.unt.edu/
- some suggestions for alternative subject term searching is using the combination of name of the country (or continent - region). For example, if you are looking for books related to Chinese military issues, you might do a subject search using the following combination of terms -
- "China Military Policy" for titles related to a specific country or "Asia Military Policy" for a regional emphasis. You can talso use the country name -regional term followed by the terms "History, Military"; or a combination of these terms with terms related to a particular aspect of policy or issue. This will also work when doing a keyword search.
- Military-related titles may be also located in the Library collection by way of a keyword or subject search using the same combination of terms or the use of related terms: Military, Military Art And Science, in addition to terms related to a specific aspect of the military, i.e. lasers, weapons, etc.
- An alternative searching technique is to use the Advanced Keyword search Option:
- by clicking on "UNT Library Catalog"link in the upper left-hand side of the library page http://iii.library.unt.edu/
- and then clicking on the "Advanced Keyword" link
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search/X
Using the Advanced Keyword Search function allows the user to simultaniously conduct a combination of title, subject, author or note field searches, in addition to searching by specific collection location (specific library location of material), format (audio or visual), or language of publication, year of publication and name of the publication publisher.
The Collection
The layout of these collections begins on the
http://www.library.unt.edu/assets/images/maps/willis-library/willis4.gif
Here we can locate topics related to General military history, comprising books on general strategy and related to espionage, ancient warfare (western and non-western), Jane’s ship guides. .Also located on this floor are the University of North Texas Archives and the Rare Book and Texana collections which contain primary sources of regional specific histories, ephemera (posters, pamphlets, documents), original manuscripts and correspondence, related to the American and Texan wars of Independence.
From there we go to the
http://www.library.unt.edu/assets/images/maps/willis-library/willis3.gif
Here is the Government Documents and the Political Science collection which contains a variety of different materials for the study of wars, past and present.
These collections consist of
- World War 1 and World War 2 posters,
- Official histories – material published by military history centers: military professional bulletins, proceedings papers, published collections from military-related symposia;
- Military doctrinal and technical manuals; material related to budget, strategy, tactics and matters related to military technology;
- T O & E (tables of organization and equipment) - “yearbooks” that highlight new technology available each year;
- The Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals - a print citation index of articles printed in the military and defense-related literature;
- Professional military journals and monographs published by the United States Government relating to military history;
- Also available in microfiche is a unique government resource called the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) which translates articles from international military-policy, etc journals.
- Adjacent to the Government collection on the 3rd floor lies the Political Science part of the collection that deals with works related to revolution, insurgency and general issues of wars between states and other political actors.
-
Second Floor
http://www.library.unt.edu/assets/images/maps/willis-library/willis2.gif
Here we find the part of the collection that deals with war and society, relating to conflict both within society or between societies. Located on the Second Floor are those collections related to
- ,
- Terrorism; a distinct, yet related topic of military history. Material related to the issues on homeland security, international terrorism, the nature of terrorism, and specific terrorist groups may be found here.
-
First Floor
http://www.library.unt.edu/assets/images/maps/willis-library/willis1.gif
Here we find the reference print format collection (and Humanities and Social Sciences Reference)
- Encyclopedic / bibliographic works on major wars, anthropology and sociology.
- The current periodical collections carry a number of journals related to general military history, government military publications and scholarly journals related to military history, political science and security issues, war and sociology, terrorism and history.
Electronic Resources
- Not be disregarded are the journals, books that resides in cyberspace, as electronic books and journal subscriptions from a variety of vendors. A mixture of government publications and scholarly works, these works more often than not do not duplicate resources available in the physical stacks and cannot be ignored as additions to understanding such a diverse topic as Military History. These are available as full text articles or as sources of citations through the
- EbscoHost’s World History and Military & Government Collections and the Scientific and Technical Information Network via the Public STINET database. This in addition to researching military history topics within
- EbscoHost or Academic Search Premire for material from sources not at UNT, but which may be obtained byway of Inter-Library loan form other libraries. Research paths byway of specific electronic subscription journals (which are held by UNT) within any particular academic discipline also offer paths to information access . The topic being so wide in scope, the range of sources could be limitless.
Last, but not least on our Military tour of Willis Library is the Microforms Department and Bound Periodical collections in the
Lower Level
Here are copies of newspapers and offcial governments records, from a variety of eras - from the Revolutionary War through the present.