Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias


Encyclopedias are reference resources can be general or subject specific. Listed are some encyclopedias that may assist with the topic of this subject guide.

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other materials that provide background or introductory research but do not circulate (i.e. are not available for check out).

Subject Headings:

Middle East -- Encyclopedias. 
Africa, North -- Encyclopedias.



ENCYCLOPEDIAS


Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East
/ edited by Reeva S. Simon, Philip Mattar, Richard W. Bulliet

New York : Macmillan Reference USA ; London : Simon & Schuster, c1996.
Call #  DS43 .E53 1996  v.1- 4 (request for location to be changed from remote storage to Willis

Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa / edited by Philip Mattar.

Detroit, Mich.,; Thomson Gale, 2004.
Location: Willis 1FL General Reference  Call #DS43 .E53 2004  v.1-4

The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern world
/Peter N. Stearns, editor in chief.
Location: Willis Library--2nd floor / Call # D205. 094 2008 v.1 and v.2

Dictionaries

Dictionaries can assist with terminology and they  be general or subject specific

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other materials that provide background or introductory research but *usually* do not circulate (i.e. are not usually available for check out).

 

Record 1 of 3 permanent URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2066747
AUTHOR       Hiro, Dilip.
TITLE        Dictionary of the Middle East / Dilip Hiro.
IMPRINT      New York : St. Martin's Press, 1996.
CALL #       DS43 .H57 1996.
Record 2 of 3 permanent URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1637956 
AUTHOR       Ziring, Lawrence, 1928-
TITLE        The Middle East : a political dictionary / Lawrence Ziring.
IMPRINT      Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1992.
CALL #       DS61 .Z58 1992.
Record 3 of 3 permanent URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1463815
AUTHOR       Gresh, Alain.
TITLE        An A to Z of the Middle East / Alain Gresh and Dominique Vidal ; 
               translated by Bob Cumming.
             TITLE: Cent portes du Proche-orient. English.
IMPRINT      London ; Atlantic Highlands, N.J., USA : Zed Books, 1990 
               ([London] : Biddles Ltd.)
CALL #       DS43 .G7413 1990.

 Subject terms to browse or do a Subject Search in the UNT catalog for:
Middle East -- Dictionaries.

Note: Near East -- See Middle East. for many searches

 

 

General dictionary:

TITLE        Oxford dictionary of English.
IMPRINT      Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2005.
CALL #       PE1628 .O8675 2005eb.

Just connect to online resource from the record:http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b3081569

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook