Articles
Database list
Quick help available via Ask-Us services
Top 5 databases
Academic Search Complete - interdisciplinary database
Note that you can "Choose databases" at any time to pair this selection with other EBSCOhost databases
Resource Type: Research Database with Full Text
Subjects Covered: Multidisciplinary Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
SocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO
Resource Type: Journal Article Database with links to full text
Subjects Covered: Sociology, Interdisciplinary
Contents: Full text for 428 titles dating back to 1908. With thesaurus, plus conference papers and author profiles
Other notes: Database Coverage List from Ebscohost
Resource Type: Journal Article Database with links to full text
Subjects Covered: Sociology, Interdisciplinary
Contents: "combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. This database includes more than 764,000 records, with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present. "
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Resource Type: Research Database, Citation Index, Journal Article Database including full-text
Subjects Covered: Philosophy, Religion, History
Content: This database includes articles on world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Help Links: EBSCOhost Tutorials
Resource Type: Database with some Full Text
Title/Alternate Title: Proquest Online
Subjects Covered: Multidisciplinary
Contents: Provides searching for ABI/INFORM Global, PA Research II, and ProQuest Newpapers.
Dates of Coverage: 1995 - Current
Contacts: Go to Ask-Us for help
Other Notes: If you have problems going beyond the first page of results, click Tools--Internet Options--Delete Files and then click Settings to make sure "Automatically" is checked.
Picking a database at UNT Libraries via Electronic Resources
Step 1: From the library homepage, click on Electronic Resources (URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ )
Step 2: From the A-Z list, click the letter of the electronic database (or index) you wish to search
Step 3. If off campus, enter your EUID and password (see tips and tricks if you need help)
Suggested electronic databases and indexes for articles or citations:
- ABI/INFORM
- Academic Search Complete
- America: History and Life
-
Proquest Digital Dissertations
- EconLit
- eHRAF Collection of Ethnography (eHRAF)
- First Search
- Historical Abstracts
- PAIS International
- Periodical Abstracts
- Readers' Guide Abstracts
- SocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO
- Social Sciences Abstracts
- Sociological Abstracts
- WorldCat
Newspapers and magazines
Newspapers and Magazines
Most of the newspapers and magazines that UNT subscribes to will be available primarily in electronic format. Some will be located in Microforms or stored in the Current Periodical Room, next to Reserves (1st floor map). Whenever available, the free internet version will be listed on this page. Please note that while some of these are free, they may require you to create an account to view the stories.
UNT access requires a current UNT EUID/Password (Tips and Tricks).
-
IPL Newspaper Collection list
The Internet Public Library has links online newspapers from around the world, arranged by country/region.
http://www.ipl.org/div/news/
-
New York Times
http://www.nytimes.com/
UNT coverage of New York Times source based on Journal Title search
New York Times [electronic resource] UNT coverage from 1980 - present UNT catalog permalink: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b3720116~S12 Requires UNT EUID/Password (Tips and Tricks) Requires UNT EUID/Password (Tips and Tricks) New York Times in Print at UNT UNT catalog permalink: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1008111
-
BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)
Site includes news links and BBC radio programs in various languages. Also has a link to World Service.
Need more Newspapers or Magazines?
You can search an electronic Resource at UNT
Access World News
1. Go to the electronic resources page for the letter A at: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/ais.cfm?alpha=A2. Click on Access World News
3. If off-campus, enter your current UNT EUID/Password (Tips and Tricks).
SEARCH:
Pick your region before doing a search (i.e. United States, then Texas to limit to Texas Newspapers)
Catalog Browsing:
Try using these terms to browse the UNT Library Catalog in a Subject Heading Search:
Newspapers United States
Advertising, Newspaper
Electronic Newspapers (which has a link to sources about
this topic)
Use the term Periodicals instead of Magazines for sources about that topic)