Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Mathematics Websites
Document Actions

Websites

Student Resources

 

UNT Math Tutor Lab

Located in Room 440 in the General Academic Building (on east side of building across from the elevator). The Math Tutor Lab serves students enrolled in UNT Math classes at the 1000-2000 level (except 2510-2520), including UNT students enrolled in NCTM 0331, 0351, and 371. If you are enrolled in one of these classes, you are eligible to utilize Math Lab services.

UNT Math Club

The prime function of the UNT Math Club is to generate a more perfect union between the students, faculty, and staff in the Department of Mathematics at the University of North Texas.

Online Tutoring

The Learning Center provides UNT students with FREE, live, interactive tutoring through SMARTHINKING.com. This service connects students to qualified e-structors (online tutors) anytime, from any Internet connection.

Course resources

EQ World: The World of Mathematical Equations

Contains an extensive amount of information on equations from algebra to calculus and beyond. Also contains methods, auxiliary sections, forums and software information.

URL: http://eqworld.ipmnet.ru/en/solutions/fpde/fpdetoc3.htm

On-line Mathematics Dictionary

Covers mathematical terminology

URL: http://www.mathpropress.com/glossary/glossary.html

Math.com

Provides information and resources for students, parents, and teachers. Resources include modular courses, online tutoring, and assessments.

URL: http://www.math.com/tables/index.html

Wolfram MathWorld

Extensive mathematical resource. Includes, but is not limited to, topics covering Algebra, Calculus, History and Terminology, and Probability and Statistics.

URL: http://mathworld.wolfram.com/

Mathmistakes.info

Contains common mathematical mistakes for Algebra, Trigonometry, and Calculus. Also provides fact cards for the three levels.

URL: http://mathmistakes.info/

The Most Common Errors in Undergraduate Mathematics

Provides a description, causes, and remedies of the most common errors in mathematics that undergraduate students make.

URL: http://www.math.vanderbilt.edu/~schectex/commerrs/

 

Faculty Resources

 

MathSciNet

maintained by the American Mathematical Society, provides information on articles on mathematics, including signed reviews.

Zentralblatt MATH

provides abstracts and reviews on research articles in mathematics. The database, developed and maintained in Europe and updated monthly, covers both pure and applied mathematics from 1931 to present and also includes applications in computer science, mechanics, physics, and more.

Associations/Foundations

Argonne National Laboratory: Mathematics and Computer Science Division

Mission is to increase scientific productivity through world class science and by using world-class computing facilities.

URL: http://www.mcs.anl.gov/index.php

The Mathematical Association of America

Membership is geared toward a wide range of people: students, teachers, mathematicians, and fans of mathematics. Hosts special interest groups, provides journals and geographic sectional events.

URL: http://www.maa.org/

Mathematics on the Web

Provides a list of societies, associations and organizations.

URL: http://www.ams.org/mathweb/mi-sao.html

Mathematical Sciences Research Institute

Objective is to further mathematics and mathematical sciences at all levels. 

URL: http://www.msri.org/

National Science Foundation: Mathematics and Physical Sciences (MPS)

URL: http://www.nsf.gov/dir/index.jsp?org=MPS

U.S. National Committee for Mathematics

Hosted by The National Academies: Advisers to the nation on Science, Engineering and Medicine.

URL: http://www7.nationalacademies.org/usnc-math/

Employment

American Mathematical Society Career Services

Provides resources for Ph.D. mathematicians, mathematics careers, early preparation and programs for students.

URL: http://www.ams.org/employment

Mathematical Association of America: MAA Math Classifieds

Provides various resources for both job seekers and employers/recruiters.

URL: http://www.mathclassifieds.org/home/index.cfm?site_id=1925

Math Jobs. Com

Provides a listing of mathematical jobs worldwide.

URL: http://www.math-jobs.com/

News

Alltop Math News

Provides headlines from the best sites and blogs.

URL: http://math.alltop.com/

Science Daily

Provides the most recent research news.

URL: http://www.sciencedaily.com/news/computers_math/

Miscellaneous

TI Graphing Calculator Tutorials

Provides interactive multimedia tutorials for TI Graphing Calculators.

URL: http://education.ti.com/studentzone/getahead/tutorials.html

United States of America Mathematical Olympiad (USAMO)

The USAMO is an examination. It is part of a worldwide system of mathematics competitions and is designed to identify the talent of next generation's leaders.

URL: http://www.unl.edu/amc/e-exams/e8-usamo/usamo.shtml

Fun Stuff

Cut the Knot

Interactive Mathematics Miscellany and Puzzles. Provides a variety of activities for students and teachers. Applicable for basic arithmetic, algebra, geometry, probability, calculus and more. The activities are interactive and many of them use java applets.

URL: http://www.cut-the-knot.org/

Cool Math Sites

Contains web sites and links for games, puzzles, brain teasers, testing and calculator sites for pre-algebra through calculus.

URL: http://cte.jhu.edu/techacademy/web/2000/heal/mathsites.htm

Math Puzzle

Contains a variety of math puzzles either available online for instant playing or for download.

URL: http://www.mathpuzzle.com/

Shodar: Interactivate

Contains interactive activities for beginning mathematics including geometry, algebra, probability and statistics.

URL: http://www.shodor.org/interactivate/activities/

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Randy Wallace

Contact Info

Eagle Commons Library
Rm. 107

Email me!

Follow me on twitter

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook