Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Mathematics Quick Guide to Finding Mathematics Information
Document Actions

Mathematics

Quick Guide to Finding Mathematics Information

Finding Mathematics Information Quickly and Easily

  • Books – use the UNT Library Catalog. Search by keyword but keep it broad. Can use “author and title” search when you know a title word or two and the author. Searches books, names of journals, and media (music, DVDs, etc.) but not journal articles
  • Journal Articles. Why the UNT Library Catalog? Because it is more than 95% accurate in telling you what we have available. The database are maybe 60% accurate, the E-journal options on the Electronic Resources page maybe 75% accurate, so the catalog is best. Use the “Journal Title” search tab and type in the complete name of the journal – abbreviations are usually not searchable.
  • Electronic Resources (a way of lumping all journal article databases and other online things together). Using the “browse by category”, you can search for e-newspapers, e-encyclopedias (and there are several good mathematical ones) and more. Searching is also available by subject.
  • MathSci Net – Journal article database to use to find articles that are on mathematical  information. Contains reviews, indexes, and abstracts from approximately 1800 journals. Besides journal articles, it also contains conference proceedings and chapters/books. Coverage is from 1940 to present.
  • Web of Science. Covers significantly fewer journals but includes those that are supposed to be “the best of the best”. Also use for citation searching – when you have an article you want to follow and see who has cited it (included it in their bibliography) or you have an author that you want to see all papers they’ve published (remember that this is a pretty exclusive database though so you’ve missing a lot of the literature). If you create an account with Web of Science, you can set up search alerts (e-mails of articles matching your search terms), table of contents alerts, and citation alerts (when papers you select are cited, you will be notified)
  • American Mathematical Society (AMS) Journals. Provides full-text access to 9 AMS journals. Journals are Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, Journal of the American Mathematical Society, Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society, Transactions of the American Mathematical Society, Notices of the American Mathematical Society, Electronic Research Announcements, Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Mathematics of Computation, and Representation Theory. Also included are the Journal of Algebraic Geometry and Moscow Mathematical Journal.
This page is maintained by Randy Wallace last modified Monday, February 13, 2012. 11:36 AM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Randy Wallace

Contact Info

Eagle Commons Library
Rm. 107

Email me!

Follow me on twitter

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook