Articles
Mathematics Databases
American Mathematical Society (AMS) Journals
Provides full text access to 9 AMS journals: Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, Journal of the American Mathematical Society, Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society, Transactions of the American Mathematical Society, Notices of the American Mathematical Society, Electronic Research Announcements, Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Mathematics of Computation, and Representation Theory. Through the link on this page to AMS Distributed Journals, users can also retrieve Journal of Algebraic Geometry and Moscow Mathematical Journal.
SIAM Journals Online provides full text access to all 13 SIAM titles. Coverage is from 1997 (or vol 1, if the journal started more recently) to current for SIAM Journal on Applied Dynamical Systems, SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics, SIAM Journal on Computing, SIAM Journal On Control and Optimization, SIAM Journal on Discrete Mathematics, SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis, SIAM Journal On Matrix Analysis and Applications, SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis, SIAM Journal on Optimization, SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing, SIAM Review, Theory of Probability and Its Applications, and Multiscale Modeling & Simulation.
ScienceDirect provides full text access to over 1800 journals from Elsevier and Academic Press, representing all areas of science, medicine, and technology, as well as inter-disciplinary titles. Coverage is from 1995 to current, but some titles in physics, chemistry, and mathematics begin with volume 1, regardless of the year.
LINK provides access to all Springer-Verlag journal titles in full text. Access is from 1999. Articles are mainly in PDF format but some may be in html.
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. The full-text of journals is provided for each title beginning with Volume 1. Recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and the publishers. Some titles may be from 2 to 5 years behind current publishing. Journals may be browsed or searched.
Searching for Journal Articles
The absolute best way to search for journal articles is to use a journal article database. These are huge databases of journal articles in various disciplines. MathSciNet and Zentralblatt are the premier journal article databases for mathematics and statistics literature. Journal article databases may also contain information on conference proceedings, patents, book chapters, and book reviews.
Use the Databases link to learn more about specific databases that are useful to you. Some databases have tutorials available. The most difficult part is finding the right database and getting the right keywords. If you don't find something in 15 minutes, switch to another database. Better yet, contact me! I can provide quick tips for searching and save you time!
General Tips for Searching
- Use synonyms for words and alternate names for compounds
- Use truncation (finds alternate endings of words). Usually a *. Example butterfl* will find butterfly or butterflies
- Most databases do not search "natural language" so break the search into concepts. SciFinder will take natural language e.g. antibiotic residues in meat. Other databases will need to be searched using "antibiotic residues" (use the " " to search terms as a phrase) and meat.
- Most databases now provide ways of automatically refining your search. ISI products (Web of Science, Biosis Previews) have search suggestions and limits on the left hand side of the screen, while Inspec and Compendex list these on the right side of the screen. Often very useful!
Getting the Article
- Most databases have links to items that are available in full text (the complete article is available online). However, these are not always accurate nor are they complete.
- If you don't see a link to the full text or the link takes you to a site that asks for a credit card, go the the UNT Library Catalog (first link on the Libraries home page) and use the Journal Title search (far right tab) to search for the name/title of the journal (not the title of the actual article) to see if the Libraries has the journal in electronic or print form.
- Journal title records can be difficult to read. Look first for any results that say "electronic resource" as this is the online format. These will have holdings information (what volumes and issues you can access) in the middle of the screen. I recommend trying the links anyway as sometimes they are incorrect. If there are a variety of options, select the one that looks like the publisher of the journal - sometimes it will say "from publisher" or you'll recognize that the link looks different from the others.
- Records for items that we have in print will have a "library has" statement just under the name of the name of journal. This tells you which volumes and issues we have in our collection. Be sure to note which library the journals are located in.
- If you have searched the UNT Library Catalog by Journal Title, then Title, then Keyword, and can't find the item you need, use our interlibrary loan system. The interlibrary loan process will look for the item in another library and bring it to you (usually via e-mail for journal articles). Access the interlibrary loan system at Create an ILLiad Account as a new user you will need to create an account, then request your item. This service is free!