Reference Sources
Electronic Bus. & Trade Directories
- American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through Business and Company Resource Center
Hint: find your company using Company Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu. - Brands and their companies [UNT Libraries' subscription] This is a guide to product trade names, brands, and products names. Available through the UNT Libraries' subscription to the electronic resource, Business & Company Resource Center (find your company; then click on Products). Location: T223.V4 A25, EAGLE COMMONS LIBRARY
- Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' subscription] Company and industry information for over 300,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, products, brands, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, locations.
The Business & Company Resource Center contains the latest information drawn from the following databases:
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual, 2000 through Present
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
International Directory of Company Histories
Market Share Reporter
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Publishers Directory
Telecommunications Directory
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
World Market Share Reporter
- Business Rankings Annual [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your industry using Industry Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu.
- Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory [UNT Libraries' subscription]
Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your organization using Company Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu. - Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database [UNT Libraries' subscription] Coverage: 305,000 U.S. businesses. Information includes industry information, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives, subsidiaries, corporate family tree.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through
Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your industry using Industry Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu. - Encyclopedia of Associations [UNT Libraries' subscription]: National Organizations of the U.S.; Regional, State, and Local Organizations; Available through Business and Company Resource Center.
This product is also available separately as Associations Unlimited. - Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through
Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your industry using Industry Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu. - Encyclopedia of Global Industries [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your industry using Industry Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu.
- Hoover's Online [UNT Libraries' subscription]
Provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies with additional information on nearly 13 million companies. Use to create target lists. - International Directory of Company Histories [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through the electronic resource, Business & Company Resource Center (Hint: find your company; then click on Histories). Alternate hardcopy edition: HD2721 .I63, Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference. Hint: Use the index in the last volume to look up your company.
- Market Share Reporter [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your industry using Industry Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu.
- Morningstar Document Research [UNT Libraries' subscription] Former name: 10-K Wizard. This database includes all electronically filed forms with the SEC. It includes EDGAR Archives through 1994. It contains pre-Edgar listing of all SEC filings to 1966. It also includes the full text of ADR filings for foreign companies.
- NetAdvantage [Standard and Poor's] [UNT Libraries' subscription] This provides electronic access to Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives, Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports, Industry Surveys.
-
Notable Corporate Chronologies [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your company using Company Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu.
-
Plunkett Research Online [UNT Libraries' subscription] Provides in depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary.
-
Reference USA [UNT Libraries' subscription]
This database provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses. Quick Search: search by company name, city, and state. Custom Search: search by company name, yellow page heading, SIC number, location. -
Regional Economic Accounts [UNT Libraries' subscription] This site includes estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for metropolitan areas and counties; personal income by major source; labor and proprietors' earnings by industry; employment; and transfer payments by major program.
-
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (available through Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage) [UNT Libraries' subscription] Covers over fifty (50) of the largest North American and global industries. Each report includes: Current Environment, Industry Trends, How the Industry Operates, Key Industry Ratios and Statistics, and Comparative Company Financial Analysis.
Hint: Once in NetAdvanatage, go to the right-hand margin and click on "Industry Surveys." This enables you to browse all industries. Formats are either html viewable or pdf. -
Telecommunications Directory [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your company using Company Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu.
-
Ward's Business Directory [UNT Libraries' subscription] Covers U.S. private and public companies. Also covers private and public companies in Canda and Mexico. Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your company using Company Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu.
-
World Market Share Reporter [UNT Libraries' subscription] Available through Business and Company Resource Center Hint: find your industry using Industry Search, then click appropriate tab on the pulldown menu.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
This resource contains the latest information drawn from the following databases:
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual, 2000 through Present
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
International Directory of Company Histories
Market Share Reporter
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Publishers Directory
Telecommunications Directory
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
World Market Share Reporter - Credo Reference [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
A great starting point for reference, supplying basic definitions and articles. Contains thousands of ebooks. - Dictionary of Marketing Terms (Answers.com)
Concise definitions in the areas of advertising, media analysis, e-commerce and sales. - Dictionary of Marketing Terms (Answers.com)
Concise definitions in the areas of advertising, media analysis, e-commerce and sales. - Dictionary of Marketing Terms (Answers.com)
Concise definitions in the areas of advertising, media analysis, e-commerce and sales. - Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Furnishes profiles of 500 of the most notable advertising and marketing initiatives of the Twentieth Century. HF5837.E53 [location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference. - Gale Virtual Reference Library [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Hints:
Expand +Business, then click on any of the following ebooks:
Brand Immortality: How Brands Can Live Long and Prosper
Bridging the Culture Gap: A Practical Guide to International Business
Communication
Business Information Handbook
Company Profiles for Students
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Manufacturing & Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies
Strategic Planning: How to Deliver Maximum Value through Effective Business Strategy
Working Abroad: The Complete Guide to Overseas Employment
.
Expand +Social Science, then click on any of the following ebooks:
Who's Buying Alcoholic and Nonalcoholic Beverages
Who's Buying Apparel
Who's Buying at Restaurants and Carry-Outs
Who's Buying by Age
Who's Buying by Race and Hispanic Origin
Who's Buying Entertainment
Who's Buying Executive Summary of Household Spending
Who's Buying for Pets
Who's Buying for Travel
Who's Buying Groceries
Who's Buying Health Care
Who's Buying Household Furnishings, Services, and Supplies
Who's Buying Information Products and Services
Who's Buying Transportation - Internet Marketing Dictionary
Browse alphabetically or by category. - Marketing Dictionaries in the UNT Libraries
Publishers include Blackwell Publishers, Wiley, NTC Business Books, Barron's, Kogan Page. - Referenceforbusiness.com
Contents: Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Management, Company Histories, Leading American Businesses.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Print Marketing Resources
-
Advertising red books (Agencies)
Furnishes agency specialization, names of accounts, officers, account executives, approximate annual billings, and percent by media.
Location: call number: HF5805.S72 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Adweek Directory
This is a directory of U.S. advertising agencies, public relations firms, media buying services and specialized marketing companies.
Location: call number: HF5805.A395 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
American incomes : demographics of who has money
Based on Census data. Covers household income, men's income, women's income, discretionary income, wealth, and poverty.
Location: call number: HC110.I5A447 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Americans and Their Homes: demographics of homeownership
Based on Census data. Covers demographics, homeowners by region, owners of new homes, owners who have moved, affluent homeowners, spending on housing.
Location: call number: HD7287.82.U6R87 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
American Salaries and Wages Survey
Statistical data derived from more than 300 government, business, and news sources. Covers wages in 3,000 occupations in the USA by metropolitan area.
Location: call number: HD4973.A67 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Best customers : demographics of consumer demand
Examines spending patterns by these demographic characteristics: age of householder, household income, household type, region of residence, and educational attainment.
Location: call number: HC79.C6R87 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Brands and their companies
This is a guide to product trade names, brands, and products names, with addresses of their manufacturers and distributors.
Available through the UNT Libraries' subscription to the electronic resource, Business & Company Resource Center (find your company; then click on Products).
Location: call number: T223.V4 A25, EAGLE COMMONS LIBRARY -
Broadcasting & cable yearbook
Includes broadcast group ownership, television, cable stations, radio stations, satellites, programming, services, law and regulation. Provides TV and cable marketplace statistics for Nielsen's DMAs.
Location: call number: HE8689.B775 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Burrelle's media directory. Texas
Directory of contact information for radio and television stations, newspapers, and magazines.
Location: call number: P88.8.B867 [Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference] -
Companies and their brands
This is a cross reference directory of companies and brand names.
Location: call number: T223.V4 A253, EAGLE COMMONS LIBRARY REFERENCE -
Editor & Publisher International Year Book
Provides listings for U.S., Canadian, and foreign daily newspapers, including contact information, circulation, and advertising rates.
Location: call number: PN4709.E3 [Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference] -
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Furnishes profiles of 500 of the most notable advertising and marketing initiatives of the Twentieth Century. Call number: HF5837.E53 location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference -
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Includes broadcast news and advertising sources for trade, business, labor, and professionals.
Location: call number: Z6951.A972 [Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference] -
Household spending : who spends how much on what
Based on Bureau of Labor Statistics data. Covers household spending, per capita indexes, aggregate spending, and market shares.
Location: call number: HC110.C6H68 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
International Directory of Company Histories
Available through the UNT Libraries' subscription to the electronic resource, Business & Company Resource Center (find your company; then click on Histories).
Alternate hardcopy edition: call number: HD2721 .I63, Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference.
Provides historical profiles for over 3,700 (mostly large) companies. Use the index in the last volume to look up your company. -
Lifestyle Market Analyst (SRDS): The Essential Source for Demographic
Provides extensive data covering DMA Market Profiles, lifestyle profiles, and demographic segment profiles.
Location: call number: HF5415.33.U6L54 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference]
2008 edition is the latest in book format. -
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) manual
Replaces the older SIC code. Provides a listing of NAICS codes with explanations. Call number: HF1042.N67 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference]. -
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide
Provides detailed state & metro area maps. Offers information on transportation services, manufacturing and retail sales and population on the county and city level.
Location: call number: G1019.R22 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Sheldon's major stores & chains & resident buying offices
Includes department store chains, home furnishing chains, women's specialty stores, women's specialty store chains, resident buying offices.
Location: call number: HF5429.3.S51 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (available through Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage)
Provides the Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports. Includes biographies of thousands of corporate executives and directors. -
Standard Directory of Advertisers
Covers over 25,000 U. S. companies that advertise nationally. Furnishes company directories including sales, number of employees, SIC code, advertising agency, advertising appropriations, and media used.
Location: call number: HF5805.S7 [Willis Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents / Business Reference] -
Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) Provides a brief description of the publication, including circulation figures, rates for advertising, specifications, and contact information.
Locations: all volumes located in Government Documents / Business Reference
Business Publication Advertising Source HF5905.S7231
Newspaper Advertising Source HF5905.S731
Radio Advertising Source HF5905.S741
SRDS Consumer Magazine & Advertising Source HF5905.S7252
SRDS Interactive Advertising Source HF5905.S727
TV & Cable Source HF5905.S7452 -
Survey of Buying Power
Extensive demographic statistics categorized by factors such as age, gender, and ethnicity.
Location: ON RESERVE HF5415 .S9 [Willis Library, Current Periodicals/Reserves] Note that the 2005 edition is the last hardcopy issue.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Publishing Directories
Contents:
- Bowker's Books in Print with Reviews
- Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
- Literary Market Place LMP
- Serials Directory
- SRDS Standard Rate & Data Service publications
- Ulrichsweb.com Periodicals Directory
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Bowker's Books in Print with Reviews [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Bowker's booksinprint.com™ covers more than 7.5 million U.S. book, e-book, audio book, and video titles.
Additional features:
-
Information about forthcoming books.
-
Lists of bestsellers and awards.
-
Biographical information on more than 11,000 authors.
-
Directory of over 200,000 publishers, distributors, agents, and wholesalers.
.
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides the topics of articles, manuscript guidelines, acceptance rate, type of reader, and the review process. The UNT Libraries subscribe to the following Cabell's online directories:
-
Accounting (alternate hardcopy edition in Government Documents / Business Reference, call number H91 .C23)
- Economics & Finance (alternate hardcopy edition in Government Documents / Business Reference, call number H91 .C24)
- Management (alternate hardcopy edition in Government Documents / Business Reference, call number HD28 .C14)
- Marketing (alternate hardcopy edition in Government Documents / Business Reference, call number HF5410 .C23)
- Educational Curriculum & Methods
- Educational Psychology & Administration (alternate hardcopy edition in Willis Library / General Reference, call number Z286.E3 C324)
- Educational Technology & Library Science (alternate hardcopy edition in Willis Library / General Reference, call number Z286.E3 C325)
- Psychology & Psychiatry
- Click to search all UNT Libraries' records on Cabell's Directories
.
Gale directory of publications and broadcast media
Arrangement is geographic with a thumbnail description of each local market.
Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number Z6951 .A972.
- Contains more than 57,000 listings for radio and television stations, cable companies and print media publishers.
- Includes publications or networks carried, ad rates, circulation statistics, and local programming information.
.
Literary Market Place LMP
Location: Willis Library, 1st floor, General Reference, call number PN161.L511.
Click the following link for the online edition .
- Covers 11,500 entries including Canadian houses, small presses, service providers and suppliers, book manufacturing, advertising and publicity.
.
Serials Directory [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Covers nearly 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including popular magazines, journals, newspapers, and other periodicals. An Ebscohost database.
.
Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS)
Covers the publication, circulation figures, rates for advertising, specifications, and contact information for all classes of media.
Locations: all volumes located in Government Documents / Business Reference
- Business Publication Advertising Source HF5905.S7231
- Newspaper Advertising Source HF5905.S731
- Radio Advertising Source HF5905.S741
- SRDS Consumer Magazine & Advertising Source HF5905.S7252
- SRDS Interactive Advertising Source HF5905.S727
- TV & Cable Source HF5905.S7452
.
Ulrichsweb.com [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Covers academic journals, consumer magazines, trade publications, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, conference proceedings, e-zines, and other serials.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!