Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Linguistics Reference Sources Reference Sources
Document Actions

Linguistics

Reference Sources

Print Resources

Current Trends in Linguistics Assesses the current state of linguistic activity in all fields and all countries" (Vol. 1, p. v). The fundamental organizing principle was geopolitical, i.e., orientation towards a particular area, except for volumes 3 and 11-13 which have a theoretical orientation instead. Willis Library 3rd floor P25 .S4  v. 1-13

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics The most comprehensive and up-to-date encyclopedia in linguistics and related subject areas, containing more than 2000 articles by more than 1000 contributing editors. Broad in scope, so that interdisciplinary aspects of linguistics and language studies are covered as well as various areas of linguistics. Global communication and writing systems are included, as well as extensive biographies/bibliographies of linguists. Willis 1st floor GenRef P29 .E48 2001

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics Comprehensive source of up-to-date information on all branches of linguistics, aimed primarily at an audience of students and professional scholars in linguistics and adjacent fields. Willis 3rd floor P29 .I58 1992 v. 1-10

Oxford Companion to the English Language  A survey of the historical background and recent progress of a language that "has become a global resource." (p.xvii) Scholars have written accessible entries that discuss its varieties (Australian, Canadian, American, British, Yiddish, etc.), its precursors (French, Anglo-Saxon, Old English, etc.), its development, and its use. An excellent source of background information on the English language. Willis 1st floor GenRef  PE31 .O84 1992 

Electronic Resources

Dictionary of Old English Corpus The Dictionary of Old English electronic corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. There are 3037 texts in the corpus.

Middle English Compendium The Middle English Compendium is a compilation of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies,and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

Oxford English Dictionary Online Oxford English Dictionary Online is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. The online resource contains all the printed materials that appear in the complete 23 volumes.

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Sunday, June 05, 2011. 05:31 PM Created by Chad Lucas Alvey 2009

UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook