Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Library and Information Sciences Websites Professional Development
Document Actions

Library and Information Sciences

Professional Development


Stockholm Public Library

100+ Job Resources for Librarians

Sponsored by College @ Home, this website provides access to over 100 job listings posted by national and international professional associations, listservs, and agencies. The listings include general library and specialized library positions, permanent and temporary positions, and internships. See also the links for resume help, most frequently asked interview questions, and more.


A Simple Book Repair Manual

You can view an electronic version of the manual online.  The book offers basic advice about how to set up a work area, what tools to use, and simple repair instructions for torn pages and damaged hinges and corners.

 

Collections 2.0

Steven Harris, a library director at the University of New Mexico, blogs about collection management in a Library 2.0 world.  His frank approach to discussing new technology and its application in librarianship is enlightening and entertaining.   

 

Copyright, Intellectual Property Rights, and Licensing Issues

This website is maintained by the Berkeley Digital Library staff.  The page links to a variety of websites that discuss fair use, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and patents.

 

Digital Projects Guide

This website is maintained by the Harvard University Library and provides guidelines and instructions on how best to prepare for and implement a digitization project.  Be sure to click on the arrow next to each topic in order to view the content.

Financial Assistance

This is an annual directory of awards from state library agencies, national and state library associations, local libraries, academic institutions, and foundations who give some from of financial assistance for undergraduate and/or graduate education programs in library and information studies.

LibGig Jobs

LibGig Jobs allows you to set up customized job alerts depending on your career interests.  You will be emailed when a new job meeting your criteria is posted. 


Library Juice

Library Juice is a blog that contains postings about the relationship between ethics, culture, politics, and libraries.

 

Library Research Service

This website, maintained by the Colorado State Library and the Colorado Department of Education, provides national statistics and reports on a variety of library topics, including technology access, user satisfaction, and interlibrary loan use.

 

Library Success: A Best Practices Wiki

This wiki was created by a librarian for fellow librarians who are interested in learning more about best practices in librarianship.  The topics discussed are quite diverse, and users can find information on branding, how to lead a book group, and tips for weeding collections.

 

LibraryThing

LibraryThing allows members to search for books and catalog them on a virtual bookshelf.  You can tag books, write quick reviews, and view lists of books by other members. 


LISNews

This website offers a new digest on the most current issues in the area of library and information science.

 

LISZEN

LISZEN is a search engine operated by Google Co-Op.  It allows users to search more than 700 blogs specific to library and information science.

 

Public Library Association Blog

Members of the PLA blog about regional and national library events and the latest trends in technology.

 

Tame the Web

This blog is maintained by Michael Stephens, an assistant professor from Illinois.  He has published extensively (online and in academic journals) about how libraries can make better use of emerging technology.  His blog contains a number of postings with recommendations and discussion about the latest innovations, and librarians can post their questions regarding the same on Stephens' blog.  

 

Understanding MARC

The Library of Congress maintains this website to help people better understand MARC (machine-readable cataloging record) and the advantages of using the MARC format.

 

Writing for the Web - A Primer for Librarians

This website is designed to help librarians who are beginning to learn about website creation and maintenance.  It works as a brief introduction to HTML, XML, and Java.  The site also links to other resources and tutorials.

 

 

This page is maintained by Cindy Batman last modified Tuesday, January 03, 2012. 12:59 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Cindy Batman

Contact Info

Discovery Park Library
3940 North Elm Street
Room B112
Denton, TX 76207

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook