Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Reference Sources

Bibliographies

Virtual Reference Bibliography

This bibliography is designed to be used by virtual reference (VR) practitioners, researchers, students, and others. The Rutgers' team has verified all of the bibliographic citations so we are striving for a reliable resource for those interested in the print and electronic literature on VR services (aka Digital Reference or Electronic Reference). Entries include citations to journal articles, websites, and other works on all aspects of VR (live chat, e-mail, IM, and other electronic reference modes). Links to full-text articles are provided if available on the open web. This search interface enables you to search by author, title, or keyword.

Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography

The Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography (SEPB) presents selected English-language articles, books, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet. Most sources have been published between 1990 and the present; however, a limited number of key sources published prior to 1990 are also included. Where possible, links are provided to works that are freely available on the Internet, including e-prints in disciplinary archives and institutional repositories. Note that e-prints and published articles may not be identical. In cases where the publisher frequently changes journal URLs with providing public notification or URL redirection, included URLs are to the publisher's domain, not to individual articles. SEPB versions are cumulative.

Biographies

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Biography and Genealogy Master Index is a GaleGroup database that provides indexing for current and historical reference sources that cover individuals, both living and deceased, in every field of activity and from all areas of the world. BGMI indexes over 13.6 million biographical sketches. Search by name or in extended mode.

Biography Index via FirstSearch

Biography Index via FirstSearch (Biography Index via First Search) contains biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes. Indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Coverage begins with 1984.

Cataloging Tools

Classification Web Old card catalog system

Full-text schedule display of all Library of Congress classification schedules. Links are provided between the LC classification numbers and LC subject headings. Updated weekly. Useful for information and library science students taking cataloging courses.

 

MARC Standards

"The MARC formats are standards for the representation and communication of bibliographic and related information in machine-readable form" (Library of Congress website).

 

OCLC Bibliographic Formats and Standards

Bibliographic Formats and Standards is an extensive guide which outlines input standards for bibliographic information contained in WorldCat records, subdivided by fields. "It provides tagging conventions, input standards and guidelines for entering information into WorldCat" (OCLC Bibliographic Formats and Standards Website).





Children's Literature

Children's books 

Children's International Digital Library

A full text library of over 600 titles in more than 35 languages. CIDL is a good resource for finding international award-winning and multicultural books. The library is a project of the University of Maryland.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

The CLCD provides over 200,000 reviews of children's books, videos and audio books from 24 reputable sources. Includes entries for book awards, honors, prizes, and all state reading lists. A green dot on the search result page indicates that full-text reviews exist for a title. Materials covered range from early baby board books to nonfiction for young adults. More than 1500 reviews are added monthly. Coverage date: MARC records from 1965-current.

TeachingBooks.net

TeachingBooks is a resource center that seeks to generate enthusiasm for books in educators and youth by providing access to authors and illustrators. The resource provides video and audio files of authors and illustrators, links to their websites, guides to 1000s of titles for children and young adults, and more. There is even a collection of audio files in which authors and illustrators pronounce their own names.

Dictionaries

Concise Dictionary of Library and Information Science

This dictionary includes more than 4000 words, including terms regarding new technology.  The authors are Stella Keenan and Colin Johnston, and it was published by Reed Business Information Limited.  It can be found in the Discovery Park Reference Collection, room B112, by the call number Z1006.K39. 


Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book
This resource provides the user with more than 10,000 terms, acronyms, and organizations regarding library and information sciences.  The tenth edition was compiled by Ray Prytherch and published by Ashgate Publishing Limited.  It can be found in the Discovery Park Reference Collection, room B112, by the call number Z1006.H32.

 

ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science

This resource contains ~4200 terms and is updated frequently. The author is Joan M. Reitz, and the publisher is Libraries Unlimited.

 

Directories

Serials Directory

Serials Directory provides current bibliographic and pricing information for over 182,000 U.S. and international journals and other periodicals and historical information on over 20,000 titles. This database is updated quarterly on EBSCOhost.

Ulrichsweb.com

Ulrichsweb provides information on serials publications from throughout the world, including journals, magazines, newsletters, newspapers, and electronic publications. It includes a description of the product, frequency of publication, publisher contact information, availability in other editions or formats, indexing coverage, whether referred and/or if a full-text review is linked to the record. Ulrichsweb is updated weekly.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science

A Marcel Dekker encyclopedia with searching capabilities.

Idea Group Publications

The Idea Group Publications consist of 8 encyclopedias and handbooks about knowledge and research in the areas of information science and information technologies. The titles are: Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management, Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications, Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology, Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology, Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction, Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management, Handbook of Research on Electronic Surveys and Measurements, and Handbook of Research on Informatics in Healthcare and Biomedicine.

International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science

This encyclopedia contains twelve articles on topics that underlie the foundation of information and library science, including informatics, information policy, and knowledge management.  There are also a variety of smaller articles.  This resource can be found in the Discovery Park Reference Collection, room B112, by the call number Z1006.I57.  

TechWeb Technology Encyclopedia

Provides more than 20,000 definitions of computer terms and concepts.

ODLIS

ODLIS Image CoverODLIS is designed as a hypertext reference resource for library and information science professionals, university students and faculty, and users of all types of libraries. The primary criterion for including a term is whether a librarian or other information professional might reasonably be expected to know its meaning in the course of his or her work. A newly coined term is added when, in the author's judgment, it is likely to become a permanent addition to the lexicon of library and information science. The dictionary reflects North American practice; however, because ODLIS was first developed as an online resource available worldwide, with an e-mail contact address for feedback, users from many countries have contributed to its growth, often suggesting additional terms and commenting on existing definitions. Expansion of the dictionary is an ongoing process.

Broad in scope, ODLIS includes not only the terminology of the various specializations within library science and information studies but also the vocabulary of publishing, printing, binding, the book trade, graphic arts, book history, literature, bibliography, telecommunications, and computer science when, in the author's judgment, a definition might prove helpful to librarians and information specialists in their work. Entries are descriptive, with examples provided when appropriate.

Research Handouts

These are quick guides on how to use some of the best research tools UNT Libraries have to offer.

Research Guides

Introduction to Research - A guide on the basics of research.

Finding E-Books - UNT Libraries has e-books that you can access from the internet anywhere, anytime.

Google Scholar - A guide on how to search using Google Scholar.

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals - A guide on how to identify scholarly versus popular periodicals.

RefWorks 2.0 - A guide on how to use the bibliographic software RefWorks, which organizes, stores and helps you cite your research in your preferred writing style.

Online Library Workshops - Join us online for live or archived workshops, such as APA 6th Citation Style.

Database Guides

LISTA - Library and Information Science Technology Abstracts is a great database to use for library and information science research. This handout covers how to create an account, how to save articles and how to export citations.

LLIS - Library, Literature and Information Science database is another great resource for library and information science research. This handout outlines how to create an account, how to email articles and how to save your search history.

Emerald - Emerald is another great database for library and information science research. This handout explains how to create marked lists, how to export marked lists to RefWorks and how to create search alerts.

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Cindy Batman

Contact Info

Discovery Park Library
3940 North Elm Street
Room B112
Denton, TX 76207

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook