Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Articles

How to Find Articles

Keyboard Help

So you have a research topic but you don't know where to start?  Check out the following links to get familiar with searching for articles.  Once you are familiar with the general search options available, check out the Electronic Resources Page to find a specific database. I've listed some recommended databases that are accessible by clicking on Recommended Databases page under the Articles tab.

 

If you find that the article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Not everything is available electronically.  With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog.  Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy.  If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.

Searching for Articles

Where's My Database?

Recommended Databases

Hands typing

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

LISTA (operated by EBSCOhost) indexes and abstracts periodicals (600+), books, research reports and proceedings, with coverage extending back to the mid-1960s. Subjects include librarianship, cataloging and classification, library management, and information technology. LISTA supercedes Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA).  Users can browse the thesaurus if they require help finding appropriate search terms. We have created a useful handout for this database, which can be accessed here.

 

Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA)

LISA is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Many full-text documents are available through article and e-journal links. Subjects included are library and information technology, management, use, and, users. Coverage begins with 1969 and is provided through CSA Internet Database Service.  LISA enables users to browse by author name, journal title, and publication type.

 

Library Literature and Info Science Full Text

This database is offered through the WilsonWeb interface.  It indexes articles and book reviews from more than 234 library and information science journals.  It also indexes books, chapters in conference proceedings, library school theses, and more. Full text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997.  Users can browse by subject and journal name and search the thesaurus. We have created a useful handout for this database, which can be accessed here.

 

ECO

Electronic Collections Online provides over 600 full text journals spanning many academic disciplines. In the area of information and library science, it includes access to 92 journals.  The database can be searched by author, affiliation, publisher, and title.  Users can perform basic, advanced, and expert searches and browse a list of journal titles.  


Educational Media Reviews (EMRO)

EMRO contains more than 2000 reviews of educational videos, DVDs, and CD-ROMs, written by librarians and teaching faculty from the United States and Canada. The University at Buffalo-SUNY sponsors the database, which focuses on adult media, but also contains reviews for grades K-12 media.

 

Emerald Fulltext

Emerald publishes the world's widest range of management and library & information services journals. Our portfolio is made up of over 100 leading management and library and information services titles and form part of the Emerald Fulltext database, which can be accessed electronically alongside a hard copy print subscription.  Users can browse books and journals by title and subject. We have created a useful handout for this database, which can be accessed here.

 

eBooks on Ebscohost

UNT has access to 50,479 eBooks through Amigos Library Services, Texas State Library, and by direct purchase. There are records in the online catalog for all the titles to which UNT has access. To search the entire collection, users must edit their preferences in the "my account" section.

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Cindy Batman

Contact Info

Discovery Park Library
3940 North Elm Street
Room B112
Denton, TX 76207

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook