Articles
Recommended Journal Titles
What follows is a list of recommended journal titles in the field of Learning Technologies. By clicking on the link for each journal, you will be taken to the UNT Library Catalog's record for that journal. The record will list the databases that provide access to the specific journal title and also which years of publication each database covers. You can then link to the database of your choice.
Career & Technical Education
The Business Teacher Education Journal (NABTE)
Career & Technical Education Research (formerly Journal of Vocational Education Research)
Career Development for Exceptional Individuals
Career Planning and Adult Development Journal
International Journal of Vocational and Technical Education
Journal of Career and Technical Education (formerly Journal of Vocational and Technical Education)
Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences Education
Journal of Industrial Teacher Education
Journal of Technology Education
National Business Education Quarterly
Journal of Education for Business
(also available in print from 1985-current)
Advances in Developing Human Resources
(also available in print from 1999-2005)
(also available in print from 1937-current)
Human Resource Development International
(also available in print from 1998-2002)
Human Resource Development Quarterly
(also available in print from 1997-2002)
Human Resource Development Review
International Journal of Adult and Youth Education
International Journal of Vocational and Technical Education
International Journal of Training and Development
(also available in print from 1998-2003)
Performance Improvement Quarterly
(also available in print 1990 - 2009)
Adult Basic Education and Literacy Journal
New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education
Australasian Journal of Educational Technology
British Journal of Educational Technology
(also available in print from 2000-2007)
(also available in print from 1982-1999)
(also available in print from 1969-1981??)
Education and Information Technologies
(this title is ONLY available in print - 1991-2006)
Educational Technology and Society
Educational Technology Research and Development
(also available in print from 1989-current)
International Journal of Technology and Design Education
(also available in print from 1996-2004)
Journal of Educational Computing Research 
(also available in print from 1986-current)
Journal of Educational Technology Systems
(also available in print from 1991-current)
Journal of Instruction Delivery Systems
(also available in print from 1993-2004)
Journal of Research on Technology in Education
(also available in print from 2001-current)
Journal of Technology and Teacher Education
(also available in print from 1993-current)
Journal of Technology Education
(also available in print from 1990-2005)
(also available in print from 1985-current)
Recommended Library Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global: 04/01/1995 to 12/31/2002
- Blackwell Humanities & Social Sciences Collection: 1997 to present
- Business & Company Resource Center: 01/01/2000 to present
- Electronic Collections Online: 1999 to 2003
- Emerald Journals: 1989 to present
- Ethnic NewsWatch: 05/01/2000 to 05/01/2001
- Health Reference Center Academic: 03/01/1999 to present
- InformaWorld: 1997 to present
- Project MUSE - Standard Collection: 01/01/2003 to present
- F ProQuest Research Library: 01/01/2004 to 12/31/2007
- SAGE Complete A-Z List: 1999 to present
- SAGE Premier 2007: 2000 to present
- Vocational & Career Collection: 07/01/1996 to 09/30/2006
_____________________________________________________________________________
EBSCOhost Databases
- Academic Search Complete: 06/01/1996 to present
- Business Source Complete: 03/01/1990 to 1 year ago
- Education Research Complete: 06/01/1996 to present
- Legal Collection: 03/01/1999 to 18 months ago
- MasterFILE Premier: 06/01/1996 to present
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection: 06/01/1996 to present
Academic Search Complete
Click here to Enter Academic Search Complete.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. It offers full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, with coverage dating back to 1975. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.
Academic Search Complete offers:
-
abstracts
-
reviews
-
full text for some articles.
In Academic Search Complete, you can search by keyword, title, author, publication, or subject. Once discovered, articles can be downloaded, emailed or printed and can be accessed from any computer at anytime, 24 hours a day.
For additional help or for database instruction, contact Cindy Batman at cindy.batman@unt.edu. If unavailable, don't forget to Ask Us using virtual reference chat, email, phone, or visit a reference desk to learn more about Academic Search Complete.
Education Research Complete
Click here to Enter Education Research Complete.
Education Research Complete is an online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Education Research Complete offers:
-
abstracts
-
reviews
-
full text for some articles (primarily available in PDF).
In Education Research Complete, you can search by keyword, title, author, publication, or subject. Once discovered, articles can be downloaded, emailed, or printed and can be accessed from any computer at anytime, 24 hours a day.
For additional help or for database instruction, contact Cindy Batman at cindy.batman@unt.edu. If unavailable, don't forget to Ask Us using virtual reference chat, email, phone, or visit a reference desk to learn more about Education Research Complete.
ERIC via FirstSearch
Click here to Enter ERIC via FirstSearch.
(FirstSearch version) Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 600 periodicals since 1966.
ERIC via FirstSearch offers access to the following materials:
-
books
-
journal articles (including full text for some)
-
reference resources.
In ERIC via FirstSearch, you can search by keyword, title, author, publication, affiliation, or subject. The database allows you to complete basic, advanced, and expert searches.
For additional help or for database instruction, contact Cindy Batman at cindy.batman@unt.edu. If unavailable, don't forget to Ask Us using virtual reference chat, email, phone, or visit a reference desk to learn more about ERIC via FirstSearch.
JSTOR
Click here to Enter JSTOR.
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. Journal text is provided for each title beginning with Volume 1. Recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and the publishers. Some titles may be from 2 to 5 years behind current publishing. Journals may be browsed or searched. JSTOR allows you to search for citations and images and offers access to articles, editorials, pamphlets, and reviews.
For additional help or for database instruction, contact Cindy Batman at cindy.batman@unt.edu. If unavailable, don't forget to Ask Us using virtual reference chat, email, phone, or visit a reference desk to learn more about JSTOR.
ProQuest
Click here to Enter ProQuest.
ProQuest Online provides searching for ABI/INFORM Global, PA Research II, and ProQuest Newpapers. ProQuest maintains the most comprehensive digital archive of newspaper articles in the world and offers access to journals and dissertations on topics ranging from the arts and humanities to business and technology.
In ProQuest, you can search by keyword, title, author, publication, and subject. ProQuest maintains easy-to-access lists of publications and subjects that you can browse or search. Articles can be downloaded, emailed or printed and can be accessed from any computer at anytime, 24 hours a day.
Note: If you have problems going beyond the first page of results, click Tools--Internet Options--Delete Files and then click Settings to make sure "Automatically" is checked.
For additional help or for database instruction, contact Cindy Batman at cindy.batman@unt.edu. If unavailable, don't forget to Ask Us using virtual reference chat, email, phone, or visit a reference desk to learn more about ProQuest.
Web of Science
Click here to Enter Web of Science.
Web of Science covers many subjects, including arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. It offers access to 10,000 high impact journals across disciplines and 120,000 conference proceedings. The journals are covered from 1995 to current. The database also offers access to journal citation reports where the user can find citation statistics and determine the impact of a specific journal.
In Web of Science, you can search by topic, title, author, and publication. Once discovered, articles can be downloaded, emailed or printed and can be accessed from any computer at anytime, 24 hours a day.
For additional help or for database instruction, contact Cindy Batman at cindy.batman@unt.edu. If unavailable, don't forget to Ask Us using virtual reference chat, email, phone, or visit a reference desk to learn more about Web of Science.

